Ulog 89: Don't Toss It! Preserve It! What An Exhausting Monday!

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Another week is upon me here on the homestead and I have been steadfast on getting back to my normal; whatever that may be. There has been a flurry of activity from the gardens to the greenhouse and from the homesteading room to the kitchen.

Yesterday I about collapsed in bed... before 8pm due to all the extra chores, tasks and my never-ending to-do list. Luckily for me, Mr Golden D didn't leave me out on the sofa (drooling at one point, or so he claims), when he trudged off to bed himself.

I ended up in the gardens and greenhouse for well over four hours, plus mowing the lawn, trimming up the edges, cleaning up the yard and transplanting some seedlings into the ground. (I'll have more on my crazy Monday in another post).

I harvested more lemon balm and oregano and trimmed up the parsley plant; which seemed to have tripled in size since late last week.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dehydrating Extra Celery

A couple of weeks ago I had purchased a stalk of celery for a few recipes and we are NOT big celery eaters in this house, so I washed, dried and put the celery in the refrigerator to store and keep it fresh. Then forgot about it.

When I was looking for something in there Sunday, I discovered the forgotten produce and decided it was probably a good idea to dehydrate for future use.

I smacked my head (pretty hard actually) and since the celery had been stored good it was still crisp and I set to work getting it ready for the dehydrator.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I re-washed the stalks and prepared them for blanching.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I blanched the celery for one minute then immediately immersed them into a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking process. Once they were cool, I cut them into one-inch half moon slices and patted them dry a little. I placed them in the dehydrator and let them go for just over 7 hours.

Once that was finished I jarred up the crunchy stalk pieces and now I won't have to buy a whole stalk of celery when I need it for one recipe. Waste not, want not... and all that. These will be perfect for the soups, stews and other recipes I usually make and only need one stalk of celery for.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I never thought about dehydrating celery, thank you for posting this!

Oh my. I have so much lemon balm growing everywhere. I planted it around our patio in an attempt to keep bugs at bay, but it didn't help. I do love the smell of it when you brush by but other than that, it's just there. What is your plan with yours?

I used to have busy days like that, about ten years ago. Now I do well to last for two hours out in the yard/garden, especially if it is a hot day. I try to get everything essential done before 10 a.m.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71