Ulog 90: Preparing For My Next Learned Homesteading Skill

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

For a few weeks now I have been slowly accumulating some Goodwill and Salvation Army treasures for my next venture and skill to learn in my homesteading life.

Well the other day... I HIT THE JACKPOT of what I've been collecting!



I have been wanting to learn how to make my own candles; whether from purchasing bilk candle wax (WAY too expensive for me) or by being creative and watching various YouTube videos of how others have made their own candles.

So with dozens and dozens of videos and hours and hours of searching numerous thrift stores within a 20-mile radius of our homestead, I hit the mother lode!

I found 2 packages of candle wicks, a tin pot to pour the melted candle wax, some unscented candles and some blueberry scented wax melts. I've seen many YT channel personalities using these scented wax melts, as well as other candles (with the existing wicks, stickers, etc removed before melting).

I was elated!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I spent under $9 total for all that's pictured above; including the Pyrex serving bowl with lid; then I upped to the nearest dollar as part of their donation and fundraising efforts.

So now all I have to do is dig out my old coffee cup warmer from my days of an administrative assistant and I can get started with this new skill.

It's amazing that years ago I took for granted ALL the things in life. All the materialistic things.

You know what I'm referring to.

  • Need a candle? Buy a candle.
  • Need a bar of soap? Buy a bar of soap.
  • Need some chicken broth? Buy a can of chicken broth.

Now I make all these things on my own. No need to buy them pre-made and, at times, expensive!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

You will have such fun with this @goldendawne! I love making candles, they're awesome for christmas and birthday gifts. I love collecting shells and placing the candle wax in them, blueberry scent, heavenly! :)

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

It's so cool that you're becoming resourceful and making your own stuff. Thanks for sharing this with us and have a great day!

candle making is so much fun, and depending on the wax and ingredients used so much healthier. Great goodwill scores! :)

I remember collecting my beeswax supplies, and then my soapmaking supplies. It took time as I had to use BuyNothing and the few tag sales I went to. I think you did very well!!

Will be waiting to see your candles...

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

will the next stage of your progress be like, not 'dont buy', but 'dont need' ?..

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.915 which ranks you at #1215 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1216).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 194 contributions, your post is ranked at #78.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06