Ulog 92: Everywhere I Look... More Homesteading Projects Are Demanding My Attention

To say the last couple of months have been out of the norm for me and my homestead is an understatement. Between my recovery from the auto collision to my husband's heart attack and surgery to getting things changed over from winter to summer gardening and my son's wedding coming up this weekend, life on the Golden D Homestead has been a whirlwind of activity and fluttering of interruptions.

As you can see the mint plant I had in my indoor winter garden, which I have propagated twice over the last few months, is outgrowing its pot. So I need to separate it again and transplant.

I fear it may not wait for me, and Mother Nature's rampage of rain and severe weather to stop, before it grows even more; or gosh forbid, starts to die off.

And this is an easy chore for me to do. The others down the list get more and more detailed and time consuming.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

In our ventures out-and-about, we were able to score these two windows that someone had tossed out for garbage pickup. While they aren't the exact size I need to make a cold frame that has been on my homesteading to-do list for three years now, I know I can use some ingenuity and make them work for this small garden bed box. Granted I wish they were wood framed instead of the vinyl, but I can make-do.

I'll be researching more about how to do this build and am hoping to get some useful tips from this page on the Morning Chores website page

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Mr Golden D brought these home from work a few weeks prior to his heart attack and they sit in the same position that we put them the day he brought them home. I was originally going to make a good, and solid, table for next to my BBQ grill (and also my new smoker), but we were able to find a decent one to do the job at another garage sale a few weeks back. So now I need another idea.

These pallets aren't your every run of the mill pallets either. They are solid with 1/4-inch plywood for the base and un-splintered 2x4's. They are heavy duty!

So now I am thinking they may be good to use towards making a gardening potting table. All I need is two or three more like this and I can whip it up!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Just a couple of days ago I wrote a post about a new homesteading skill I am taking refuge in to learn. And upon some of my travels to thrift stores and garage sales I've been adding to my collection to start this new skill.

I've been collecting candle making supplies for the last six or so months, just waiting until I had enough gathered up so I can start making my own candles. I've seen a few different ways (thanks YT channels) that people make them. I even watched some people who make real fancy and scented candles.

That's all fine and good, but I want utilitarian candles, not ones that take weeks to make and you don't want to burn them because they are just too beautiful to waste. I want them around for power outages and other possible things.

Sure once I get the hang of making candles, I will make some to give to my children and to others as gifts, but right now it is a skill I'll be working on and honing in on.

So once this weekend is over and my son marries his beautiful bride... my homestead should go back to normal - whatever that is.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

¡Chevere, saludos!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.915 which ranks you at #1215 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1214).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 180 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I never see mint with the flowers. Looks great plant

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85