Ulog 95: Candlemaking- Just A Basic First Attempt

candle done.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Having fun making candles!

I know this isn't the way most people make candles; but I am not making these for gifts or to sell. These are for my own personal use around the homestead.

I don't particularly care what the scent is, what jar they go in or how fancy they look. All my DIYs around the Golden D Homestead are more for utilitarian use versus beauty and aesthetics.

And this is the first time I have EVER attempted to make candles; so just bear with me and my process.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

First, using a hot glue gun, I glued the wick base to the bottom of the container I will use for the candle.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

After the wick was secured to the bottom of the container, I wrapped the top of the wick around an old paint brush to keep it centered and in place while the wax melts liquified. I add the wax melt pieces to the jar; careful not to move the wick and placed the jar on the coffee mug warmer I had dug out of the closet.

I'll trim the wick down once the candle is done and has cooled and set.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

By cutting the candle up, it allows for easy removal of the wick. I just set these wicks in a baggie for future use of making my own candles.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Once the wax melts would start to cook down, I added some unscented white candles to the jar. I wanted to maintain the yellow coloring from the wax melts, so these small white candles were perfect.

I ended up using nine yellow (pineapple scented) wax melts, two tablespoons of beeswax pebbles and two of the unscented white candles for this new candle creation.

Now I have a general idea on how many wax melts, candles and supplies are needed to make a cancle fo this size. Maybe one day I'll invest more into this new skill as buy some soy candle wax; but for now I am completely happy with this way. I've already informed my mom, aunt and other relatives to save me their unwanted, half-burned and unused candles for this. Let's see how I do with gathering up more discarded candles.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

What a great idea, the mug warmer! And a way to use old candles too! Very cool!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.915 which ranks you at #1216 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1215).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17