BRAAI TIME FUN - with DIY pork kebabs, brown onion tatoes & lime and coriander corn

BRAAI TIME FUN 1.png

The weather was super on Tuesday and we all know what that means in South Africa... yip, BRAAI TIME - but I wanted to do something a little bit different for the meat this time around, so I gave my hand at recreating something which we had bought some time back as a "ready to braai" product - and I really enjoyed! It seemed a relatively simple concept.

I bought a few packs of pork chops and cut the rind off with a little bit of the meat attached. Then I carefully removed the tough outer rind with a blade and only left the soft juicy fat which lies just under the skin. I then cut those into cubes and rolled them into a basting which consisted of a sticky soy marinade, sweet chilli jam and some honey. Then I shoved them onto skewer sticks with a spicy peppadew inbetween every single piece of meat.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

I am not normally a fan of kebabs because the meat is always so dry and uninteresting. What appealed to me most about these was the fattiness of the pork meat - and I do have to say, the end result was absolutely YUMMY!!!! I will definitely make those again - and the best part is that the rest of the chops which I sliced off, along with the rind... I have now frozen and is enough for another meal entirely.

6.jpg

I had a serious craving for some tatoes so I decided to make my brown onion and garlic jacket potatoes which are ALWAYS a winner! You will need pack of baby jacket potatoes, a pack of dry brown onion soup powder, some freshly chopped garlic, butter and some freshly chopped parsley. Boil the potatoes until they are just tender but firm (do not over cook them until they are all splitting open, otherwise you will just have one big sloppy mess.)

8.jpg

Once the potatoes are cooked, drain them and then add all the other ingredients. So the full packet of soup powder, the garlic, a nice dollop of butter and about handful of chopped parsley. do not toss them yet. Pop the lid on and let the butter melt. You can go back to it after about 10 minutes. I actually forgot to buy parsley lol and my garden batch has just been cut back so, I skipped the parsley this time around. While you are sitting out the ten minutes for the butter to melt, turn the oven on to grill and place the tray at a medium to low level.

9.jpg

10.jpg

Once the butter has melted, and the grill has heated nicely... take the pot of potatoes - with the lid tightly secured (with a dishcloth in hand, as some pots do leak a little.) give the potatoes a couple of shakes and swirls and then turn it upside down for a second or two... allowing the butter and other ingredients to coat everything nicely.

11.jpg

12.jpg

Then throw them into an oven friendly dish and scrape the last of the goodies from the pot over the potatoes. Pop them under the grill and keep a keen eye on them for about ten minutes, giving them a toss with a wooden spoon about every three minutes until they are beautifully golden roasted. They are without question, one of my favourite sides and if you do decide to give them a try I do not think you will be disappointed!

Jude and I both love mielies so I decided to add them as the last side. I have made them like this countless times before because they are just that tasty! The uniqueness of the coriander, lime and pepper is what sets it apart from the average piece of corn! I actually forgot to take a photo of these - I will blame the wine lol, so I have stolen two pics from the previous time I shared these so you can at least SEE what they look like, because they are real eye candy! And the great thing is that the butter is so simple to make - it comprises of a dollop or two of butter, some freshly ground salt and black pepper, the juice and rind of one lime and about a handful of freshly chopped coriander (dhanya / cilantro).

17.jpg

18.jpg

Last but definitely not least, I made one of my favourite salads - in my opinion it beats a traditional green salad hands down every time... and that is a salsa style salad, which consisted of diced cucumber, spring onions, tomato and then a sprinkling of coriander, rocket and other micro herbs. Normally I would add other things like diced sweet bell peppers, radish etc. but well, I was being lazy haha!

67.jpg

The weather cooperated for the remainder of the afternoon, the wine was good and considering Jude went back to school the following day, it was a super way to end off the holidays!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES

lifestyle & inspirations.png

www.rockyourworld.co.za

text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

A community of individuals who are dedicated to producing quality content
which adds value to the Steem network and beyond.

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

What a wonderful meal, with enough for a second feast. The potatoes look absolutely delicious. All in on the salsa salad, hands down better than a traditional salad.
I'm sure you spent some quality time with your son while he was on break from school.
After reading this post and looking at all of the perfect pictures of this meal, I need to fix me some food.
Thanks for sharing!

hehe yip it was indeed and thanks for the positive input @thebigsweed :) As for the potatoes... oh man you just GOT to try them... they are life changing! HAHA!

Hope you fixed yourself some GOOOD food ;)

I do have lots of potatoes now, will be trying your recipe. @jaynie

Awesome! Glad to hear it! Let me know how it turns out :)

Oh, boy. Mouth watering. And I had to see this post at lunch time!

hahaha my apologies @hlezama - hope you had a good lunch though :)

You really got the magic !

What an awesome compliment, thank you @cityslicker :)

Sooo... Wow! I really liked the sound of the pork kebobs! I am not a huge fan of them for the same reason, and there is nothing amazing about dried meat, but, some days I make them for the family for something different.

This brings it to another whole level.

I must admit that those potatoes look absolutely yummy and this looks like a feast for a king or possibly a queen, but, certainly a family for sure. Thanks for always sending out great recipes and ideas for what to do for dinner. :)

It is always appreciated!

!tip .20

Yeah, you will love those ones then - super juicy just from the fat content alone, but the peppadews add even more moisture... they really were great! - I hear you on the "something different"... I think as moms meal creation can become tedious if we don't become creative!

As for the potatoes... you will LOVE them!!!! So simple, but OH SO TASTY!

I am quite passionate about cooking (I just mispelled that as coking) wahahahahahaha... and I love sharing my recipes - it is made even more enjoyable when people (like yourself) really do take something away from them, so thank you too! xxx

🎁 Hi @jaynie! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: On Being Important, Or Not Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you @tipU and @dswigle xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82