WRAPPING IT UP (No. 3) - My life this week, on and off the blockchain

in #powerhousecreatives4 years ago (edited)

wrapping it up 1.png

It was "back to school" week, which is always approached with enormous loathing lol, but on the upside - we kicked it off on Wednesday with a short week and the finish line is in sight which is enough to motivate me to get up at ungodly hours of the morning for the next two months. December 4th school breaks up for almost 7 weeks and THAT is inspiration all on it's own hahahaha!!! I am not sure who is looking forward to it more, Jude or mom, but either way... it is going to be awesome!

If I was to pick out a highlight in this last week (or perhaps just over a week) it was definitely NOT the back to school day lol - but rather the little road trip we took up to my dads place. It has been a while since we were up there and it was great to break routine. It was also Posh Pups first long distance road trip and he loved every minute! Essentially, we did a whole lot of nothing and to me, that was the best part about it, because let's be honest, we all need "down time". I am often resistant to go away because sometimes you come back feeling even more exhausted than you were when you left lol - but this was not one of those occasions. We came back with two days of holiday left to enjoy, so there was time to get back into our own zone - and that is how I like to roll! I shared a few snippets of our little road-trip weekend in the below two posts...

text16.png

Roadtripping... CHEERS to the WEEKEND!

There are few things that make a Friday more than knowing that you will be hitting the road out of town - it is like the ultimate weekend kickoff! lol - and today was one of those Fridays! Up early, packing bags and getting "road ready". This officially being our first weekend away with posh pup too lol - and we were armed well with towels because he has not adapted very well to the "smooth Mercedes ride" - like clock work, 40 minutes in and all the breakfast biscuits are re-invented haha!

image.png

❤❤❤

Lazy Days...

“There's never enough time to do all the nothing you want.” - Bill Watterson

Now aint that the truth! Today was exactly one of those days where achieving a whole lot of nothing was VERY high on the agenda. I woke up, looked out the window - saw that the weather had taken a turn for the worse and decided to climb back under the blankets, roll over in the other direction and sleep some more.

image.png

text16.png

As for the rest of the weeks detail, it was pretty chilled really - homework and all the other crappy stuff only starts again next week. (You would swear that I was the one going to school with the amount I moan and groan about it) hehehe! I had a lot more time to focus on posts which was great. I am really excited about all the AMAZING feedback I received on my Discord Server post (link below), because from all the info gathered I am now going to sit and compile an elaborate post doing my best to take all the info offered and put it into a comprehensive list of Steem related discord servers with a downloadable version so people can keep it "on them" for the "if and when" they may need it - so I must just say a REALLY BIG thank you to all of you that took the time to contribute to this with info, links as well as general support and feedback! And please excuse me while I (@) personally offer thanks...

@viking-ventures, @thekittygirl, @traciyork, @brittandjosie, @simplymike, @wwwiebe, @fitinfun, @shadowspub, @the01crow, @wesphilbin, @cheese4ead, @veryspider, @abitcoinskeptic, @chrismadcboy2016, @rem-steem, @goldendawne, @joanstewart, @freedomtowrite, @fmbs25, @steemitqa, @papilloncharity, @jonnyla08, @paintingangels, @fionasfavourites, @thedarkhorse, @tryskele

Oh, and if you missed this post and would like to add your own ten cents - PLEASE DO! I will wait a little while before I put together "said" list, to allow time for trickling contributions. Here is the post...

Which #STEEM Discord communities are you a part of and why?

I am hoping that via the comment response thread - this post will not only feed my curiosity but will also afford those newer to the platform some insight and direction as to which servers are best suited for them, because we all know that if you are on Steem but not on discord then you are essentially missing both arms and legs.

image.png

text16.png

As for the rest of my week on the blockchain, the post closest to my heart was without question my little "happy birthday" tribute to my now 10 year old son @judethedude and aside from that, I was on a little bit of an "introspective trip" (clearly) lol as I contemplated and shared a lot of the chitter chatter which goes on in my head haha! Well, here it is...use it, don't use it :D

RESPECT: CONFLICT is inevitable - COMBAT is optional!

The world would be an incredibly boring place if we were all identical in every way. Dressed the same, thought the same, sounded the same, had precisely the same opinions, interests and talents… What a terribly stagnant place it would be! It is through our differences that we learn and grow… so I wonder then, why it is, that so many people seem to have an inability to accept the differences in others.

image.png

❤❤❤

Listen & Learn

“When people talk, listen completely. Most people never listen.”― Ernest Hemingway. It is amusing how as kids we ALL generally have some level of aversion towards “rules” and being dictated to. Some handle it better than others…lol - Me? I, was "that" child - and I DIDN'T handle it very well at all! I absolutely HATED people telling me what to do and if I am honest… I don’t think much has changed. At the age of 39, I can still quite adamantly say that having to surrender to somebody else’s will when I don’t agree with it, REALLY doesn’t sit well with me and is unlikely to happen.

image.png

❤❤❤

A DECADE OF JOY & BLESSINGS! - Happy 10th Birthday my precious little soul!

Ten years ago today, my life changed forever! At approx. 6.45 pm, after 19 grueling hours of labour I was blessed with a gift of the greatest magnitude! I had absolutely NO idea just how much my little baby boy would impact my life.

image.png

❤❤❤

Movers, Shakers & Hustlers!

I was arrested at the age of 16 - accused of dealing heroine and whilst this was not true, I was no angel lol, but my friendly association with said individual who WAS in fact guilty of the accusation had me take the fall for it. I was so oblivious and naive that I had not even noticed the cops approaching us... but he did and whilst I was still talking to him - he had already vanished. The arrest went through anyway because they had found weed on me and a knife with a blade longer than the legally permitted length.

image.png

❤❤❤

Pork Banger Meatball Tagliatelle

One of the things I love most about cooking is the unlimited artistic license you have and whilst I am no chef – the beauty of creative endeavors is that it is all about personal taste. There are few rights nor wrongs, barring select fundamentals… and that is why nobody should put themselves down when exploring creative passions. I love watching creatives at work and lately I have been watching a lot of Neill anthony.

image.png

❤❤❤

Don't sweat the small stuff!

Some years ago I got my hands on a little book with a very big message – perhaps you have heard of it yourself… it is called ”Don’t sweat the small stuff... and it's all small stuff” and I was reminded of the fact that it still stands on my bookshelf the other day when I shared a photo taken some years back of my son Jude holding the book on his happy birthday post, so I went to grab it and started reading it again.

image.png

❤❤❤

BRAAI TIME FUN - with DIY pork kebabs, brown onion tatoes & lime and coriander corn

The weather was super on Tuesday and we all know what that means in South Africa... yip, BRAAI TIME - but I wanted to do something a little bit different for the meat this time around, so I gave my hand at recreating something which we had bought some time back as a "ready to braai" product - and I really enjoyed! It seemed a relatively simple concept.

image.png

❤❤❤

JUST DAB IT! - Because life's too short not to "roley" in you underpants :)

I know that every generation has its fads and trends, and to a certain degree, the adults of the era will never truly understand or relate to the crazes, because, well... they are old! Except of course for the fads, trends and crazes of the 90's teens - those will forever remain legendary - and that's because, we were the most EPIC GENERATION EVER!!!! hahha!!!

image.png

text16.png

I did not get as much time as I would have liked to sit and read content this week but I did stumble across some gems and my "wrap up" post would be direly incomplete without sharing some love to other awesome Steemians making an effort around here! I sincerely hope that you guys take a gander and show a little appreciation for the time, effort, passion and love that went into each and every one of them...

Cucumber's Fairy Tale...

By: @tatjanastan

Cucumer is Green & it's not satisfied because it's too Thin, It doesn't know whether She will be Tasty, And Meal might become Hasty...

image.png

❤❤❤

Monomad Photographic Contest: Macro

By: @bluemoon

Macro must be something big. Which initially may have been small but closer to us the impression is large, in detail. Special lenses can turn trivial insects into real SF movie monsters. I have no special photography lenses for macro photography. I'm not even a big fan. I'm trying to zoom in ... to get as close as I can.

image.png

❤❤❤

Two Birds in Paradise on Tigertail Beach!

By: @birdsinparadise

Late one afternoon we felt the pull of the beach! Grabbing our hats, water and of course sunscreen we jumped into the car, anxious to arrive before the sun bid farewell for the evening!

image.png

❤❤❤

How To Cope with a Life that Seems Unfair... Case and Point My Brother

By: @robertandrew

My brother is 8 years older than me. About 3 years ago he suffered a catastrophic stroke. And we actually thought he was dead at the time.

image.png

text16.png

And so, Friday has arrived... on the agenda for me this weekend is a "Forty & Flawless" party tomorrow night (my turn next year) eeeeek!. The theme is "Black & White with a touch of Red" and considering that I don't go to a 40th every day (although this is likely to start haha) I decided to have a little fun with it. As I told @nickyhavey (and others stalking our general room lol) last night, I obtained a gangster hat, from an actual Mauritian gangster a few years ago in a club whilst in Johannesburg on a media conference - long story and yes, I am considering it post worthy - but despite all the drama, I kept the white hat and I will be going there LIKE A BOSS hahahahaha!!! BLACK - top to bottom, white gangster hat and a touch of red heels. Jude is also ready to rock 'n roll gangster style with flashing lights on his hat too hehehehe - can't wait!

20191004_190627.jpg

20191004_191822.jpg

I had SUCH a good laugh right now as I took this pic of Jude in the hat... when I said we are going to the party as gangsters, he immediately said he needs to pull his pants below his waist... WAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!! I had to explain to him that REAL gangsters wear suits and ties - to which he added... and GUNS mommy! hahahahha!!! Oh this is going to be fun! - Will be sure to share after the fact!


THANKS GIPHY

Have a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious weekend peeps!

Oh, and before I exit... #trackoftheday

Catch you all again on Monday... or maybeeee Sunday lol

...and since we are on the topic of Sunday - perhaps you might be interested in checking out and/or making use of #showcase-sunday to re-post some of your awesomesauce content which you don't really feel got the exposure it deserved.

Ok... I am done.... :)

Ciao!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES

lifestyle & inspirations.png

www.rockyourworld.co.za

text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

A community of individuals who are dedicated to producing quality content
which adds value to the Steem network and beyond.

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED