A Mixed Pot

I am a firm believer in mixing my veggies up when planting - not only does it look nicer, but in many cases, certain plants can benefit others - and in some cases, you can harvest one crop while you are waiting for another to develop.

In this photo, I have planted garlic, radishes and corriander.
The garlic will be in the soil for some months - (last season I harvested my garlic too soon so I shall not make that mistake again) the radishes will develop quite fast and so I can harvest some of the leaves and also radishes and the corriander which has a shallow rooting system is a crop that can be cut for use and more leaves will grow in a short time.

So you can see that I shall be able to get maximum benefit from just this one container which is marvelous when one is short of space.

Everyone can grow some veggies by using containers - the correct soil mix is put in together with organic fertilizer, the position necessary can be organized as can the watering.
This way, you can also keep an eye open for any nasty little critters and deal with them before they devour your plants.

Back to the radishes - not many people are aware that the leaves can be eaten as well and are very nutritious - chopped into salads or cooked like spinach - both are good.

Sort:  

I remember planting some onions in a small pot...never knew that I can squeeze more stuff in them! Like a mini greenhouse, or a mini forest, I guess :)

Give it a try and you will see how great it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72