I guess I shall be eating lots of spinach

Now that most of my pots have been prepared for the next season, I spent this morning sowing spinach seeds.

So, all going according to plan, I shall be able to harvest swiss chard, new zealand spinach, plain spinach.
Last year I planted quite a bit of kale and although it did very well, it was a lot of work keeping on top of aphids and caterpillars, so this year I made the decision to plant more spinach - I might do a bit of kale when the weather has really cooled down.

The thing that I love about spinach, is the fact that as you harvest the leaves, more grow back and one can have it available almost all year round.
I cook it and use it in salads.

In addition to planting my spinach seeds, I also planted more beetroot seeds - I love beetroot and once again you can harvest the leaves as well and eat them raw or cooked or even juice them.

For now, I wait patiently for my seeds to germinate.

Sort:  

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.496 which ranks you at #17314 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #128.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice 🙂

I love spinach and used to grow a lot of it. There's some spare space in the garden of the place I recently moved to so I'm thinking of throwing down some spinach seed and seeing what happens 🌱

It sounds like your veg patch is really coming along 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you _ and yes, plant some spinach.

Good for you, I will be doing the same thing this week. I have my raised beds cleaned and ready for cold season seeds. So happy!

It is so great when all the preparation work has been done - we get excited at the thought of new plantings.

I am right there with you. Planting in the spring is like renewing life all over again. So exciting!

Hello, I do love Spinach, your daughter sent me over to check her mom out :)

Thanks for stopping by

Love spinach, been taking a lot of it since I started my WildFit program.

What is that?

You mean WildFit? It's a diet program that's helping me to improve my immune system by taking out sugar and carbs for 3 months but at the same time, eats plenty of green leaves. The greens kinda taste nice now compare to before. Plus others benefits like shades some weight and all...

Sugar is hard to avoid as it is in almost everything we eat but sounds like a good plan to be on - leafy greens are so important and organically grown are the best.

Yes, I try to get more organic greens nowadays.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19