Learning not to jump the gun

I am sure there are many keen gardeners that feel like I do when it comes to planting seeds.

As soon as there are a few sunny days in a row, I start thinking about my spring and summer veggie seeds and want to start planting them.
Then common sense prevails and I realize that despite the sunny days here in the Cape, winter is still with us and there will be a lot more rain and cold ahead.

So, I must console myself with planting a few more cold crops such as radishes and cilantro in between my spinach and beetroot plants.
I did not plant the curly kale this winter as I got fed up with the aphids which just love this type of kale and so now have three different types of spinach instead which are all looking great.

Sort:  

Eh, the urge of doing something when it looks right, we all got that before...

oh, I don't even try with seeds.. i always think they have died and forget to water them lol!

aphids have killed my sweet potatoes this year.. grrr

Sorry to hear that - aphids are a real pest!

I often give in and start my garen indoors. It wouldn't be the first time I already have tomatoes or peppers growing by the time I can plant them in the garden;0)

Yes starting seeds inside can be the answer if you have the ideal spot

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I so want to start putting in seeds for the summer too! It won't do any good, so I should focus on the winter jobs.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

*follow: @homesteaderscoop

Yes, we have to learn patience

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.827 which ranks you at #12892 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 58 places in the last three days (old rank 12834).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @free-reign.

What a wise and seasoned gardener you are ((:

Seeds have all the potential for beauty & growth

What a lovely thing to say - thank you.

This is such a beautiful flower! I can't say anymore beyond that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87