Tomatoes saved

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

In a previous post, I mentioned that my heirloom tomatoes were showing "tomato end rot" and obviously I was upset about this, however, I seem to have eradicated this by feeding with an organic fertilizer with a high calcium content.

Tomatoes need calcium in order to develop in a healthy way and as mine are in containers, the calcium can be leached out when watering.
Some people add lime to the soil but too much lime can upset the balance in the soil if too much is added, so I prefer to go the organic route.
Crushed egg shells are another way of adding calcium to the soil, but as it takes a while to break down, it will only be available to the plants by the following season so is not a quick fix for tomato end rot.

By using an organic fertilizer that is a slow release one, the plant will not be denied the calcium that it needs and will then flourish.

Sort:  

No wonder our plants grow better when there are eggshells in the soil. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for reading my post

end rot or root rot can devastate an entire harvest. Thrilled you were able to save the plants!!

So am I - lesson learnt

We have also had blossom-end rot on our tomatoes this year. I am going to sent The Husband the link to this post. We put all our eggshells into the compost and I can't remember whether this bed was prepared with our compost or manure that we bought in. So glad your tomatoes have recovered, @lizziesworld

I grind my egg shells into powder to help the break down but as mine are in containers, I am now aware of nutrients being leached out of the soil with watering - all looking good so far.

Ooooh, I should start saving egg shells and tossing them in the garden! Should I rinse them first?

Just dry them in the sun and then crush them up.

Good tip! Now I just need some sunshine. :-) Cleveland tends to be pretty bleak this time of year.

Wish I could send you some.

That would be lovely! There's a lyric in a song that goes, "I got sunshine, in a bag." Wouldn't that be great if we could bag it up and save it for when we need it?

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.433 which ranks you at #17759 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 40 places in the last three days (old rank 17719).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #130.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23