Water series #1 — why dripping faucets are so annoying

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

The inspiration for this post is the incessant dripping of my shower. Why is it so irritating?

After some web searching I found out a few things. Like what happens when the water hits to make that plink noise?

This is something science has explored for many years and when slow motion photography and sound were able to solve it, boom we now know why.

Like everything else there is a schematic and here is the link if you want more information it.

Schematic showing the parameters relevant to a typical drop impact.
2prc399ax7.jpg

Basically it all comes down to an entrapped water bubble. You got it the bubble of air trapped underneath the water bubble makes the noise that makes us crazy.

Indeed, in order to produce a sound that’s loud enough to drive us batty up at night, the trapped air bubble needs to be close to the bottom of the cavity. The bubble then vibrates against the surface like a piston, driving sounds waves into the air. And into your ear. source

When it hits the air bubble makes the irritating noise. Here is a photograph from pixabay of a beautiful water drop. I can hear our dripping faucet and it does not sound beautiful.
lb5st5kkpj.jpg

A post coming up soon will be about the sound of water that brought both my husband and myself out of trauma after our home burned down.

Original thoughts for original people
Brought to you by @rebeccabe

Stay strong and Steem on!

9vzbb3gd9i.png
xjoc77sdn4.png
lwg0ltrl5j.png
42lt0t8pla.jpg

Sort:  

Teach me @rebeccabe teach me! 😁

Every day is a school day on steemit.

Gaz

LOL, that is for sure. When something irritates me I first seek to understand why. ,

Neat! Science is pretty darn cool. Though I think the leaky faucet is nothing compared to a chirping smoke detector in the middle of the night, haha!

got me on that one.. I know how to take care of that one lol
hey, thanks for commenting :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You got a 6.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @rebeccabe! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

My hearing must not be as good as most in my house. The dripping water faucet, which we don't have (an never had!!) cannot hold a candle to that chirping fire detector !! @Plantstoplanks is sooo right!

I almost ripped mine right out of the wall.

Just saying. :) Hope it gets fixed soon!

!tip

Thank you for commenting... lol
Yes, she is right.. but that is a quick fix ..this one has to wait and in the meantime: drip, drip, drip haha!

Oh my God! Just saying it that way has just about pushed me over the edge!

:) I mean it.,

I was serious! I can remember my grandfather reliving his moments that included this incessant drip.. drip... drip... It was in an apartment in Boston when he and my grandmother first got married. Oh, my!!! He said it was like a herd of horses galloping through his head (I swear those are the words he used) and all I could think of was, it was only a drip.

Until it is pointed out that it never ends, like a toothache that continues on through the night, for the pain is always worse at night.

I do believe you. I just hadn't let my thoughts wander enough. Now I am sitting up and paying attention. OH, I had better, right??? #MarketFriday is tomorrow and I am hoping for some magic. I haven't a clue what I am doing! Yikes!!!!

Have a great night!

my all time favorite photos you did were of those horses. It was so unexpected... you were somewhere and in the middle of the post appear these magnificent creatures.. they were running .. then jumping or swimming the photography framing and capture was wonderful.

Oh, yes! That is the Chincoteague Pony Swim. They cull the herd every Summer with an auction of a percentage of the new babies. (they are actually three months old usually) The island where they roam free wouldn't be able to support an unlimited amount of horses, so they manage it this way and the money goes towards the upkeep of inoculations for them and for care that might be needed. Other than that, they roam free and are so fun to watch.

I go out and watch them a lot. Sometimes they come up to the beach and they need to be shooed away. :) They have a whole island of a beach, but, the people's beach seems more fun. LOL

I go every year, so I will probably go this year. It is the last week Thursday in July. :)

I would not mind having one of those photos. What would you charge? I know which one..

Sorry, the tip is higher than your deposit.
You can check your deposit by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: status
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD/STEEM)

This looked like a good science lecture, enjoyed.

I've always wondered about that

hey there :)

Oh, sorry to hear about the dripping shower! That is the single most annoying thing for me in the world!... but it's great that you learnt and found lots of new information!

Yep, it took me on a journey to be sure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82