Water series #2 — why the sound of the ocean is healing

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

This is the second in the “Water Series".

We leave behind the disturbing sound of a dripping faucet to enter the soothing sound of ocean waves.

h0zjeidou8.jpg

source

In this post, I am revealing how the sound of the ocean brought both my husband and myself out of trauma after our home burned down, at least to the point we were able to sleep at night. After all, it is a long journey once you experience devastation.

A little background because my focus of this post is the sound of the ocean I will keep it short for you. In November 2011 we experienced a total loss from a house fire in the home we were renting without renters insurance, a town that thought of us as outsiders, and no funds to bring in a fire investigator we had to move on.

The fire raged from around 1:00 a.m. until daylight when nothing was left to burn in most of the house. We found we could not sleep from there on out and if we happen to drift off that dreaded hour of 1:00 a.m. always awoke us.

Anyone of you suffering from post-traumatic syndrome knows it is a part of the human condition which takes time to heal.

Three days after the fire we check out of motel room 111 still unable to sleep.

We travel from Kansas to Florida stopping in at La Quinta Hotels along the way. The hotel is reasonably priced and comfortable.

The first night we discover the television has a loop screen saver of the ocean with full moon, tide coming and out. The sound of the ocean is so soothing we finally sleep.

This video has the sound and looks of the water from the screen saver. I looked for a photograph but did not find one yet.

In this 2nd of the Series on the sound of water there are some questions.

Like why is the sound of the ocean soothing?
You may have read our hearts and brains are nearly 75% water, however, let's take it up an octave. Here is where I may lose a few of you.

I believe the ocean especially the sound of the ocean gives us a feeling of connectedness. Then I began to think about meditation because it definitely puts many in a meditative mood. It is so calming.

If you listen to the sound of OM also written as AUM, which represents the omnipresence of God to many, you can almost hear the ocean. We are all drops in that one universal ocean. Remember as children how we would hold a shell up to our ears and hear the ocean. This is the sound I am referring to.

Some teachers give techniques to hear the Om sound during meditation.

Even without the sound visualizing walking alongside the ocean creates a sense of relaxation in your body.

Next time you are feeling tense think of the ocean or listen to the link to youtube I listed and let me know what you think.

The NOAA studies the sounds of the ocean through the use of a hydrophone.

A wave travels through the sea. Sound waves radiate in all directions away from the source like ripples on the surface of a pond. source

A digital seashell of wave sound is being launched for Mental Health Awareness week (14 –20 May), to remind doctors, teachers and mental health professionals of the ocean's restorative power and encourage them to include time by, or listening to, the ocean in their list of self-care recommendations. source

Read more at https://phys.org/news/2018-05-evidence-ocean-stress-calm.html#jCp

In case you missed it here is the link to the first in this “Water Series”, titled, “ — why dripping faucets are so annoying”. I actually started this series because my bathroom shower faucet is dripping. ☺

Next in our “Water Series” we explore the sound of rain. I grew up where it floods and hurricanes and tornadoes were always a threat.

Later we visit the Rain Forest in South America hiking through the jungle in a torrential downpour. Rain is soothing, and I love to sleep to the sound of it.

Original thoughts for original people
Brought to you by @rebeccabe

Stay strong and Steem on!

9vzbb3gd9i.png

xjoc77sdn4.png
lwg0ltrl5j.png

vtd8b8vnma.jpg

Sort:  

The ocean is indeed the most soothing of sounds. We are made up mostly of water, so of course, our bodies resonate with the sounds of the water flowing over the rocks or rippling in and out of the beach. It is nature sharing it's love with us, soothing and relaxing that which needs to be released. So beautiful that it helped you and your husband to heal.

Isn't it beautiful to think of? I agree with you. Thanks for your comment and yes it was quite by accident we discovered that screen saver it helped a lot. :)

First so sorry to hea rof the fire and the loss of wall your possessions that must have been devastating and no wonder you could not sleep

I love the sound of the ocean and find it so soothing I am lucky and generally do not have trouble sleeping, but I did have ( and I wonder what I did with it maybe its in one of our boxes we never got to when we moved) a night sounds box where one of the sounds was the ocean and I used it often just as background noise while working on the PC and found it so relaxing

I just put a blimp of the fire story. We woke up every night at 1 a.m. because that is when we were awakened. The fire began in the ceiling hours later people and firemen were shouting from the front door to get out. They did not come in to get us. The ceiling could fall in on them.
@tattodjay added: They were shouting to tell us to get out at 1 a.m.

Sound slike you were so lucky to get out and truly understandable that it affects your sleep, I do have some memories that I wont go into here, but if they surface near bedtime, I know that nothing will be able to let me sleep even the night sounds clock thing I mentioned, Some thoughts once they get in your head like the fire are impossible to let go, take care my friend

Awesome post! I always find the sound of the ocean soothing and healing. I go to the beach whenever I need to recharge my energy.

We are landlocked where we live. It would be nice to be able to ear the waves in person.
Thanks for taking time to comment.

I am so blown away by your whole experience! I had no idea. The ocean is probably one of the most soothing sounds I know of. I used to play the rhythmic sounds to put my fussy baby to sleep. Oh, yes. The ebb and flow relax ever fiber of me.

I am so glad this was able to help you and your husband. God bless the both of you.

!tip xoxo

You are the sweetest person on here. Your ❤️ heart is Big! So happy I know you.
!tip

Awww! What a nice thing to say. 💖 Thank you... I think it takes one to know one.

Just sayin.

Thank you so much @rebeccabe!

Love the sea. Spent my childhood by the sea and couldn't keep away

I'm glad you two found that source of solace in the form of the ocean after that horrible experience! It's true...everything about the ocean feeds our spirits. I never feel as healthy as I do in St. Thomas after breathing the salt air and swimming in the ocean every day.

Sounds so fun. My husband knows a guy that just got back from a week in the Carribean somewhere. I will be glad when crypto pays for everyone in steemit to travel. Not just a few.

@rebeccabe That's so inspirational (': Thank you for sharing your story, and how there was this calm in the eye of life's storms!

thanks @joeylim so happy you found it inspirational. Yes, finally being able to sleep helped a lot.

Such a terrible thing... and certainly hate to hear of your situation. Life is trying enough without "extra" baggage...

You know (besides not getting help) being an outsider isn't a bad thing. Expressing our uniqueness is wonderful

The sounds of the ocean, let alone this #watersoundseries is a wonderful idea! Like being in the womb, or I'm reminded of the movie "Altered States"... the think tanks... anyway...

It takes time to heal from any tragedy, and PTSD is indeed a real thing. Not just an acronym made to get money (prior VET, it's a real thing)...

Looking forward to seeing your next post my friend!!

Yes it is and many people do not understand it. Thanks or your great comment.

You got a 6.92% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @rebeccabe! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Such a wonderful 'by chance' ? discovery Rebecca. What a dramatic time in your life it must have been for you and your husband.

I lived by the ocean at a time in my life that was quite traumatic, although I had no sense of it being all that a 'dramatic' at the time. But it was when I first left my parental home, and secure 'job' and friends ~ In an effort to live outside the 'box' that I sensed we were all being molded to fit into. And the sound of the ocean at night was truly like a balm to my soul. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

yes, I am so happy to discover there is always the ocean for healing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79