Had I Known, Had I Not - PowerHouseCreatives Contest

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

I wasn't looking, but somehow he found me.

Our eyes met, and he had the sweetest smile that no one can ever forget.

I mean, geez, I remember thinking, was he the mindreader I always dreamed about? Just like those cheesy romantic movies on Netflix, where you are a nobody, day dreaming of a handsome prince charming, and you would bump to THE one, at the corner of a Tim Hortons somewhere downtown Toronto, spilling your ice coffee (no syrup, but 3 Splenda, please) - what an embarrassing moment. Such a clumsy girl. You look up, and holy cow, what a gorgeous guy. Then you would think, oh my gawd, my first crush. You keep saying sorry, sorry, sorry, while trying to clean his very soft cashmere sweater (that you can never afford without working 8 days a week, 36 hours each). But of course that is a huge mistake, as you would just smear the wetness all over him even more. You are so silly, he is so charmy, and in the end, you both end up together, happily ever after.

Have you seen this movie yet? No? Me either. I mean. Tim Hortons? In a Hollywood movie? Unlikely.

But! Funny was. I was thinking of such movie.

I was thinking of a prince charming. Since there I was, at Tim Hortons, trying to finish an damn assignment my boss instructed me to do, on a bloody national holiday. Gosh. What an annoying boss I had. I took a breather for a second. Looked around, then our gaze met.

He had a sweet smile indeed. A little cheeky smirk, I noticed.

I cannot really describe it.

He walked toward my table. Then somehow a feeling creeped into me. Somehow I feel, he was a sinister stranger. I remember thinking, "What am I doing?". I chickened out, thinking gosh darn it, don't come here, don't come here. Why the F was I smiling at him. I seriously was not looking, I was just thinking, you know. Thinking of one of those chick flick movies. Maybe he really was a mindreader.

My heart fluttered, my gut bothered.

You ever get that feeling? Like something wrong is about to happen?

But scratch that. I was just being paranoia. No wonders I was such a loner.

He was a sweet guy after all.

We had a great chat and it was time for me to leave the coffee shop. He hailed me a taxi and we exchanged numbers.

Our first encounter was rather sweet. I mean, if you had seen his smile, the way he talked, you would think the same.

Today would have been our 3rd anniversary.

Had I known he would leave me this soon, I would have set the date the second he proposed me.
Had I known I would not get the chance to say goodbye, I would have stayed at home just as he asked me.
Had I known the call I got would make me cry, I would not have.....

I don't know. I don't know what to think.

I got the call.

Today 3 years ago, I got the call.

I was thinking, hey, it's our anniversary why do I feel uneasy.

My heart fluttered. My gut bothered.

You know that feeling. When you know something is about to happen.

He asked me to stay but I just couldn't. My damn annoying boss got me tangled, wrapped around his finger. I had to go in. I promised I would come home in a rush. 3 years ago today.

I got the call.

"Would you please come to see your fiance"
"Something has happened and it's very grave"
"We cannot save the gentleman's life".

Why?

You could have just stayed at home. It was your day off. Just stay at home. Wait for me. I promised I would come home in a rush.

I never said goodbye.

A drunk driver took my prince charming away.

Why?

Why didn't he stay at home.

I never got to learn why. I never got to say goodbye.

I wasn't looking, but somehow he found me.

3 years ago today, we could have stayed happy.

Had I known.

Had I not.




Hi Friends!

This is a creative writing contest hosted by @zord189 for PowerHouseCreatives members.

For this week's, we are given quite a few elements to use in our story and I chose the ones that you can see typed in bold, above, which are:

  • the mindreader
  • my first crush
  • an embarrassing moment
  • a huge mistake
  • a sinister stranger
  • an annoying boss\
  • a taxi

There are more elements provided, but since we are to choose at least 3, I think my story has enough :P

One of the requirements is to also include pictures (images/illustrations) to make our story better, hence, the (crappy lol) drawings.

Writing is haaaardddd, yo. No wonders I never really participated on any writing contest/challenge :P In fact, this is my first, I think, for story-telling.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed the story and the drawings that accompanied it :) - PS. I do not really like the layout. I wanted to put all pictures on the right side, as column, but then they would be smaller in sizes and the writing I have on the drawings won't be visible much. le sigh

See you tomorrow again!


Vote Witnesses!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses OR
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=thekitchenfairy&approve=1


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

Yeassssss what a great one and the drawings to go with it !! Grand!!! Congrats

Wow, this is good...you really had me going, happy and worried and sad all in the same writing! Love it @thekitchnfairy :)

thanks, lady! thats so sweet of you!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

This was such a good read
So now you have another talent I have discovered hahaha

I now gotta go check this challenge ...
I have been so out of things, I need to steam line :D

Did I already say that this was such a good read...<33

Thanks pretty lady, you are too kind ❤

Such a sad story 😢😢😢 I want know why too! And what happened! Hehe

Posted using Partiko iOS

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 my husband said the same

He wants it to be continued

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Yes pleaaaaaase 🙏🏻🙏🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good and sad 😔. It was very heartfelt and beautiful. Maybe I should draw my pictures for mine. Stick figures LOL.

I like stick figures, why didnt i think of that 😉

Thanks!

Wow, really good...

Oooh a guy! A comment from a guy! Yay! 😁

Thanks @wales

Awww shoot, this brought tears to my eyes...
This was very well written! ♥

Many thanks pretty lady ❤

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by whosthekitchenfairy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Deserving winner @thekitchenfairy. You really had me going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81