How Did We Get Here - A Powerhousecreatives Contest.

Time for another Power House Creatives Contest. They are weekly LOL. This week's exercise is to write a story that is at least 350 words using at least 3 of the items on the list of words/phrases given to us. Let's see where this week takes us. I haven't thought about what to do. I am such a procrastinator always waiting for the last moment.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

PHC contest.jpg

Opening the door to my apartment, my keys jangled a bit and you could hear the faint meow from my cat. It had been a long day at work. Come to think, of it every day is a long day when you have an annoying boss on the planet. You know the type self-absorbed, egotistical narcissist. He's the only one that can do anything right. Everyone does everything wrong and then blames his mistakes on everyone but himself. That's a story for another time. I just wanted to take a hot shower and watch a movie.

The moment I entered my apartment, something seemed off. Someone had been there, correction ..someone is in here!. I saw the light on in my room. I glanced around for some sort of weapon, like that would do anything. I resorted to taking off my shoe to use it. Walking in to my room I could see someone rummaging for* something under the bed*. Odd, there wasn't anything under there to look for. I threw my shoe at the figure under my bed who came scrambling out yelling. 'What the hell!!!, Why did you throw your shoe at me?' The figure was backing out, stood up and turned around. Oh yay! My ex-boyfriend. 'Oh sorry if I knew it were you, I would have grabbed a pair of scissors." "Why on earth are you in my apartment? Especially without asking and when I am not here? We broke up REMEMBER??" He looked down at his shoes and could not look me in the eyes. Why would he do that? What guy that suddenly moves out of your apartment doesn't speak to you for 6 months, then only to tell you after all of that time makes up some lame reason 'I needed some alone time.' You got it buddy, and you're still alone. 'Erik you left your keys, I had the locks changed, how did you get in here? Better yet, WHY are you here?' Sheepishly he looked up at me "I, um left something behind that I need." "I know you're angry with me. I thought I could just get it leave and you wouldn't know I was here." "Erik, all you had to do was call and ask me. You aren't my favorite person, but if you left something all you had to do was ask. I am not completely unreasonable." "I know Liz. You've been far too nice for me and to me despite everything. It's just that I didn't want you to know. It's part of the reason why I left the way I did." I put up my hand "Erik, I told you all you had to do what just tell me you needed a break or you didn't like me a hundred reasons, to take off and not say a word for 6 MONTHS! That's insane." 'It's not like you were in prison or something." He got a sullen look on his face turned to me "This isn't the time right now. I do want to talk to you and explain everything. If you happen to find something that doesn't belong to you, could you give me a call. Here is my new number." He held out a business card, but I refused to take it. He set it on the table next to my keys. Scratched Oscar Kitty behind the ears and left.

The nerve of him to break in my apartment or to be in my apartment as though he had every right to be there. Granted it's the same apartment we had lived together in for five years. I wasn't going to move, it's mine. My grandparents had bought it for me when I left for school. The didn't want me to have to struggle for rent money so they found a cute and 'safe' place not far from campus. I had gotten a job here in town soon after graduation and just didn't want to move. My grandparents have since died and this is really my only connection to them. I feel safe and loved, plus the money I save is such a blessing.

I took a few moments, in memory and in trying to clear my head from what had just happened. To the shower I went. I just let the water run over me washing away all the aches and pains. Not just cleaning my body, but my mind. I felt like I was in there for hours. I got out and was drying off, Oscar comes romping in just chatting up a storm. Either he was telling me he was hungry or he was telling me about his day's adventures. I'm sure he felt just as abandoned by Erik as I had. Erik had found him on the street as a kitten and brought him with when he moved in. I picked up Oscar 'I know, he left you too. Let's get us something to eat and watch a movie.'

The next morning when I got up, I was walking by the table and saw the business card Erik left. 'Business cards now, wow I guess he moved up in the world.' I picked it up looking at it, the phone number was completely different than his old one. The card simply had his name Erik Lykken and the phone number. I turned the card over and noticed something written on it. 'Liz, please call me.' I thought back, he didn't write anything on the card, he pulled it out of his wallet. I tossed the card back on the table and went about my day. Thankfully it was the weekend so I didn't have much to do and I could just be lazy. I called up my friend Cici asked her if she wanted to meet up for lunch and maybe some shopping. She didn't have much time but lunch it was.

We met up at the eatery we visited a lot during college. Even though it had only been a couple of weeks it was very nice to meet up with her. I guess the events of last night really had me bothered. Cici gave me a huge hug looked up at me and asked what was up? 'You're the mindreader, you tell me?' "Erik showed up." She stated matter of factly. "You're going to have to tell me how you do that? How on earth did you figure that one out Cici?" "My extra special skills? or the fact he called me and said he made a huge mistake?" "Cici? What aren't you telling me? " Cici looked away kind of sheepishly "Honey, he called me a month ago and then again last night after the fiasco." I could feel the rage building inside of me "He called you last month? He called you last night? He can't bother to say hello or so much as text me to say he's alive. He can't bother to give me some sort of explanation as to why he left, but he can call you." "Liz, you're over-reacting just a little. There are some reasonable explanations." "I am over-reacting, I don't know what's going on. He left, no contact for 6 months until he broke into my apartment last night." Looking away sheepishly again, Cici very quietly confessed to giving him the key to my apartment. "You gave him the key to my apartment? WHY?" "Liz,honey I promised I wouldn't say anything." "Last I check Cici, you're my friend, why haven't you said a word to me about any of this?" "Well, because you're still upset. I mean it's been 6 months and you are still ready for blood.' I huffed grabbed my tea and just sat there for a few. Yes I was upset that my best friend knows what is going on and I don't. She hasn't even told me what is going on. I turned to Cici, 'He isn't planning on trying to win me back is he?" "Honey, I don't know what he has planned he didn't go in to any detail, he did explain to me why he left the way he did and asked me not to tell you." "Cici I don't want to talk about this. I guess I am still hurt. I honestly thought this was long term and possibly getting married. Everything seemed great. Then I come home, all his stuff is gone, except Oscar and no note of any kind.' I tried calling and got the message his number had been disconnected. I think that's pretty clear on how he felt." "Liz, did he leave you a card?" "Yes, why?" "Please call him. He's been trying to leave you the card apparently for a couple of months now, but has chickened out." "Honestly, Cici, what am I going to do with you?" We changed the subject and had a very nice lunch.

On the drive home so many things went racing through my mind. He had been trying to give me the card for months? He has my phone number. I didn't change it. He could have just called. Yes I am still mad, who just leaves like that? Then to find out he's been talking to my best friend, but can't call me? Whatever, I hadn't given him much thought for a while now. Why should I start again?

When I arrived home, guess who is sitting there waiting for me? "Erik, why are you here?" "Liz, I have a lot of explaining to do. I owe it to you." I paused and looked around nothing looked different or out of the ordinary. "Erik, how did you get here? I don't see a bike or another vehicle." "I took a taxi. I am not sure if I am staying so I didn't get a new vehicle and I sold all of my stuff when I left." "So why are you waiting out here? Cici told me she gave you her key." "I didn't want to startle you like last night. Honestly, I want to talk and explain things. Could we do that?" "Erik why should I? You left. No word. No note and you left Oscar." "Oscar was ours not mine. It was better for both of you for me to leave him. Can we please go inside and talk?" Completely irritated, "Why can't we just sit and talk here? You seem very keen to be in my apartment." "If it make you feel better Liz, I am ok with that."

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png



Pay It Forward Contests

PHC-Footer-05.gif



IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral



Thank you for your continued support!
Love,

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

Oh man, you left me hanging like that? What happens next, what is Erik not saying....you have to tell me! lol Nice write @tryskele :)

Thanks @birdsinparadise. I guess I am going to have to work on this one too. 😊

Oh no.. this is not fair @tryskele!
You didn't put a "to be continued" thing at the end of the story ...

Gosh.. you really put Mr Beef on the table 😊 😍😍😍 Luv..luv..luv

I am working on a Mr. Beef story just for you! I thought you'd get a kick out of this one. I like my cliffhangers. If people like it then I'll go back. I guess I'm spinning my web LOL 💜💜💜

You are such a smart author 😊 I like the way you made the reader curious about the story.. the way you repeating the "emotion" of the characters have raised the "why, what happens" in my head 😂😂..

Aww. I guess all my reading pays off LOL. Since Steemit I'm down to about 4 books a year :( I was reading about 8-10 a year .


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜 Thank you @steemitbloggers

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.704 which ranks you at #5116 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 915 places in the last three days (old rank 6031).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #94.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09