What's With That Tongue? - A Power House Creatives Contest

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

20130617_1906451.jpg

Meet Bear Bear. He was dumped off on the side of the road when he was about 6-8 weeks old. My friend who found him couldn't keep him because his cat kept attacking poor Bear. He ended up with a nice scar between his eyes. He came home November 21, 2014 (the day after Thanksgiving). I am truly thankful for this gift. Even as I write this I am still overwhelmed by immense feelings. The reason for this is because he passed November 4, 2016. I quite literally stumbled over him walking in the door. I thought he had been knocked over by our other dog while I was trying to get in the door. I wish that had been the case. My husband picked me up from work and usually brought the dogs with him. This particular night he didn't. Which is why he was at the front door, since that is the door my husband went through. In the 30 minutes from my husband picking me up and the ride back home, is the time frame this occurred in. My beautiful gentle soul with ice blue eyes last image in my mind with his tongue hanging out and his eyes that weren't his, they were green. The vet said he had an aneurysm. It was the only way to explain the color change of his eyes, it was the blood pooling behind them.

This charismatic, mellow goofball came when I actually needed him the most in my life. I had just gotten my PTSD diagnosis along with the depression and anxiety was out of control. He was my comfort. I miss him greatly. I still bawl like a baby remembering him.

We always wonder what breed he was. He had a curled tail like a Husky. He was only about 50 lbs. He was just slightly larger than our Heeler yet a lean build. His coat was black and white and he had ice blue eyes. The first picture you can't even see the color Our vet at first, when he was little, thought he was an Akita. As you can see that is not the case. He had the most amazing disposition. He was just a mellow guy. When I would sit at my desk, he would climb in my chair wedge himself between me and the back of my chair. Yes it was a tight fit, but he was content. He would wrap himself around me then stick his head under my left arm and rest it on the arm rest. He just wanted to be close.

If you came into the house he would wait for you to sit down then climb up on the couch and sit right next to you almost on you. He would end up laying his head down and look up at you as though he was looking at you upside down. Yes that was the 'You are going to pet me now command'. As you can see his collar, we had to get a reflective one since at night you could not see him outside. He was a chatty one, if wanted something, he would let you know. His bark, I thought was pretty deep. He scared a few people that walked by, since they could hear him, but not see him.

Now my baby is waiting for us at the rainbow bridge.

112512130648.jpg

20130720_164317.jpg

20140325_071123.jpg

20130909_083802.jpg

20130202_071247.jpg

I tried to get a couple of videos up, but no luck. Sorry, for the unbecoming photo of me, I just wanted to show you guys part of his silliness. It was very common for him to come up and lay on me like that.
All of the pictures are mine. Funny you can see that I got a new phone when my pictures get better.

I guess I'm in time for #dogsofsteemit



Pay It Forward Contests

PHC-Footer-05.gif



IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral



Thank you for your continued support!
Love,

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear that you lost your Bear. I'm sure that he is thinking of you in heaven :) It sounds like he was a cute little guy. I love dogs that like to cuddle. They are so sweet! He left you too soon but you have fond memories of him and this is the most important :)

I wish you a lovely weekend!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Ok i am innnn. Loveeeee with BB bear bear is so cute and i see the same sillyness as with our two dogs

Thanks @brittandjosie. He was such a sweetheart and just a silly.

Awww. Big hugs from me as well. What a lovely dog. I can see he was such a big part of you - even though he was only with you for two years.

Thanks. Had to share him. He's still here in a sense. 2 yrs was way too short.

What a precious bear bear, I am so sorry for your loss. I am always amazed with the eyes. Dogs say so much with the way they look at you, so ready to please :) He was so lucky to find you and live his final days with those who loved him and were ready for all of the love he had to share! Thanks for introducing us @tryskele, such a sweet blessing

He really was. I am so thankful for every minute I had with him. I've had plenty of animals throughout the years and sadly seen some other die right before me. His has been the one that affected me the most. I think it's just because he was my calm. I couldn't be angry or stressed when he was around.
Thank you so much for the kind words @birdsinparadise, I really appreciate it.

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3750 replies. Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I cried...😭😭😭 I'm sorry about bear-bear.. he's only 2 years old when he walked across to heaven. He's so cute... I thought that only cat that love to stay around the stranger who visit home☺..

Thanks Cici. It's funny our cat doesn't like strangers the dogs on the other hand. Bear just loved to cuddle and be touched.

I so understand your emotions and the bond between you and Bear Bear. I posted earlier this year about my constant.
She was the most amazing cat:
she didn't pur. She sang. https://steemit.com/life/@fionasfavourites/fionasfavourites-1550205045219-remembering-a-constant

I'm sure your Bear is watching over you.

I remember that post. I couldn't say anything because I understood and yeah I cried. I wish everyone could experience that type of connection with a pet. I think my hardest is yet to come. My old man. I plan on posting about him soon. He's 13 yrs old and I know cats can live even longer, but we are hitting the age range. Between the 2 boys they have filled me with such joy and grounding LOL.
I know he is. It's funny in the puppy (well she's 2) she has some of his mannerisms, so I know he's still here. Especially since they never met.

I look forward to that post. I will be the same with Princess Pearli. She's only 5, though and very connected to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah! So sad to lose your loving companion! There is nothing like that unconditional love of a companion dog to get you through some difficult times and it seems Bear Bear was perfect for this with his crazy cuddles!

He most definitely was. He was crazy with his cuddles. The funny part is Tatum which is the puppy we got after he passed, she sit on people the same way, in the same manner. I already plan on a post about Tabby. He's the kitty in the photo. I think I should just do the whole family 😊

Oh yes! Do the whole family - they sound so cute and cuddly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25