The games a good diet can play

What is a balanced diet you ask?

xjc3xv4okj.jpg

I know you obviously know the answer but what if somebody comes and says 'Hey you should eat more of this, it has so and so benefits for your health' Would you just start doing it?

Most probably no?
You will first explore and educate yourself about the food item and then make your decision on whether to consume it or not to.

I have a real story regarding Red capsicum. So what happened is I started consuming red capsicum in January 2019 when I was dealing with severe heartburn and GERD issues. I did study alot about red capsicum on internet and I found out it contains high amounts of vitamin A and vitamin C. After knowing this, I did read alot about bell peppers in general, their various colours and nutritional values they offer.

That was it I ate a whole big box of salad everyday which mainly contained bell peppers. Then I reduced my salad to just one big red capsicum a day - so I was consuming 250gm to 300gm of red capsicum per day. I did it for months, 3-4 months continuously.

What happened?

Nothing bad. But until now when I am facing a weak bone issue in my body. The doctor said I have calcium deficiency and all my bones have become soft. I thought and thought for days on how can I possibly get my bone strength so worsened just by skipping milk? I was consuming milk in form of curd and I was drinking milk on weekends, I consumed shakes then how come.

Then it suddenly hit my mind maybe read capsicum did something to me?

Oh damn lord, I then read - excess of Vitamin A in body makes the bones weak. I felt weird, super weird and thought to myself - that is why they say YOUR DIET HAS TO BE BALANCED.

A Balanced Diet where nothing is consumed too much. I live out of home and in my lazyness at time to do things - I opt for quick fixes like 'Hey red capsicum fixed my gerd and now this is all I am gonna eat.'

This is so weird.

hmmmmm, just wanted to share with you all

Keep Calm and Steem On

The good times are back :)

Connect with me on Instragram


Communities I am part of

Sort:  

Oh damn lord, I then read - excess of Vitamin A in body makes the bones weak.

Could you provide any source which confirms that? :)

umm I have no source of it. Just read it on internet - here and there

The vegetables shouldn't be the reason for your problems ...
You may check my answer to @enginewitty.

But of course nutrition should be rich in variety.

Maybe?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypervitaminosis_A
have to see if that's what she means. Says something about the bones, interpret it how you will.

Maybe?

No, as your own source states: "High intake of provitamin carotenoids (such as beta-carotene) from vegetables and fruits does not cause hypervitaminosis A, as conversion from carotenoids to the active form of vitamin A is regulated by the body to maintain an optimum level of the vitamin. Carotenoids themselves cannot produce toxicity."

Maybe. Honestly couldn't find anything that was documented beyond 'bone pain'.

That's why I asked for a source. :)
Too many things are just claimed from anybody anywhere in the Internet.
I think it's important to verify things (as good as possible) not to spread (unintentionally) misleading information.

Apart from that, of course I agree with @vibesforlife that a healthy nutrition has to be rich in variety.

Hypervitaminosis A
Hypervitaminosis A refers to the toxic effects of ingesting too much preformed vitamin A. Symptoms arise as a result of altered bone metabolism and altered metabolism of other fat-soluble vitamins. Hypervitaminosis A is believed to have occurred in early humans, and the problem has persisted throughout human history.
Toxicity results from ingesting too much preformed vitamin A from foods (such as fish or animal liver), supplements, or prescription medications and can be prevented by ingesting no more than the recommended daily amount.
Diagnosis can be difficult, as serum retinol is not sensitive to toxic levels of vitamin A, but there are effective tests available.

Hi @vibesforlife, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @priyanarc!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

My diet is what I am trying to work on now. I find it hard to dedicate enough time to really figuring it out around my work schedule and my being too tired all the time (likely in part due to my unbalanced diet)

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah unbalanced diet can be the reason of tiredness- sounds like same things with me - too much work and unbalanced diet. Anything I find healthy - i kind of hook on it for a month until it leaves me with its side effects.

It's true, we can never overeat mainly on one type of food, there are good and bad about that.

yeah we can overeat one type of food particularly which we should not - I just educated myself with a real life lesson here

Oh Oh Oh Vibi.
Beware of internet sales talk is what my doctor told us.
Consider this, if all of their sales talk is the truth, then there should be no sick people???

You will find that every few months there would be a new "wonder" food on the internet with a lot of vibe. Blackberries, Blueberries, Mangoes, Alfalfa, Tofu, Peanut butter, I can go on and on. The companies pay to get them big healthy write ups to double their sales and many people fall for it.

I am so glad that you picked up on a BALANCED DIET, as it is so important for one's general health.
Blessings!

You are right - there is crazy marketing on good food and healthy stuff - people are selling anything with label healthy and since most of us wants to be healthy- in lieu of putting an effort for our bodies we fall prey to the marketing stuff. hmmmm Balance is a lesson I have learnt - something I will teach my children too

Looking forward to the time of your children Vibi.
That's why it's so important to get your health right now.
So that you can have healthy children.
All of our prayers for you!
Blessings!

Balance is everything!! Thats crazy that too much capsicum may have had an effect on your bone health..moderation is key.

Posted using Partiko Android

yeaah moderation is a lesson for me here.

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

I hear you when you hear about these superfoods are that something is particularly good for what if ailing you that it is easy to go overboard with it. That's a good thing to remeber to have a balanced diet and also everything in moderation!
Hope your bone weakness gets cleared up soon!

yeah everything in moderation is the key and something I am going to focus on for rest of my life.

Very true! Too much of a good thing becomes a bad thing (like ice cream, or beer). It can be very difficult to eat in a healthy manner, particularly with all the quick and easy options we have available to us. It's a challenge!

Yeah with all the quick options - its a challenge

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17