Seven leaves of falling later

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago

Songs that were penalising vodka drinkers were going on all night long as the lift went up and down; and the lift operator, who’d been in the lift since seven that morning, going up and down all day long, was beginning to yawn out loud.

elevator-2540026_1280.jpg
Image by Robert Allmann from Pixabay

It’s a long way to the top isn’t it, said one of the other passengers in the box going up and down, looking at the lift operator as if he was a god given gift all of a sudden.

It surely is said the lift operator holding very still while going up and down all day long.

Do you actually work here said the same passenger moving a little closer.

Yes I do, said the lift operator, wishing he could take the rest of the day off to go in another direction of his choosing.

Must be an awfully boring job just going up and down all day long, said the passenger, moving even closer again.

It has its moments said the lift operator wishing time wasn’t standing still all of a sudden.

Such as, said the passenger very near to his face.

Pushing his finger out, the lift operator jabbed it into the number seven button and the lift stopped.

This is your floor, said the lift operator to the passenger standing in front of him and staring into his face like it was god’s face or something.

Calm down now madam, it is time to depart this space.

And you really do go up and down in here all day long, said the passenger who was far from a madam by any standards of fair play or foul inside of where she was coming from.

Come to my room when you get off and I’ll have a present for you said the passenger, and exited the box.

Going up, said the lift man, and pressed the button for the next floor.

elevator-926058_1280.jpg
Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

An unspecified time later and approximately at half past three, or thereabouts, I began to see my own death growing bigger by the afternoon and passing by the minute and I found myself all agog at it as if it was some picture show and I was the hero of my life and stuck in a box going up and down all day long.

construction-1796307_1280.jpg
Image by 3282700 from Pixabay

They’re raising the heating bill down at the dark end lately, and pulling smoking mirrors around the rolling tumbling that’s happening. Must be a thing they’re doing.

Seems like there’s a lot of things going on these days in all the happenings out there where bridges are being raised and children are going deaf with it all. And so many people soul destroyed.

No, it’s not my thing, not really, and I’ll even go so far as to say: as I go up and down in this lift all day long I will always long for my freedom but never kill anyone dead with my first smile, just in case. But the second time I smile it’s time to grove.

But whatever, I can say this, that whatever happens, I have to be at work every day sharp at the latest, or I may lose my position.

button-1280240_1280.jpg
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Love is a funny thing, it sends you in circles most of the time, and the rest of the time you find yourself trying to find your way back to your dream reality where you know what is happening and love is but a dream. And swimming that way you are the pain-bird full of love and needing friends.

clock-306207_1280.png
Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

One half of me wanted to go one way, and the other half was too tired, so I looked at my watch and found I was off, seeing as it was after midnight and my shift was over.

As I loosened my tie and pushed the button to take me home I became immune to the place I was in and was almost ready to whistle when one more passenger got in and said: wherever you’re going I’m going too.

You’re grooving I see.

Yes, it's a thing, to groove.

I’ve seen you here before haven’t I?

Yes you have, and whenever I come close to you I just can't help myself, you get me all over again and again until I come close to you.

Lay that heavy thing down: it's time to dance…

face-3773061_640.png
Image by prettysleepy1 from Pixabay

There are no maps in this place

Just surrender

And let your heart do the talking

night-1851685_1280.png
Image by M. Maggs from Pixabay

There are days I know my onions, and there are days I don’t, and in between these two absolutes there are passengers who come on late, and fluttering their eyelashes they become instant groupies in the rush, and want to be with me all night long.

End of story.

Images from Pixabay

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Sort:  

Cheers! Awesome title melody!

Thanks, glad you liked it...

If there could someone to say that he/she is going where we are going without asking, life would be good.
Nice story.

:)

Thanks, just going up and down

Hello @wales, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75