Why preppers need to be cautious of video blogging.

in #prepper6 years ago

Zakho_riots_2011.jpg

By definition preppers want to be prepared. They want to be ready for disasters, collapses, government tyranny and whatever else befalls us. A very reasonable viewpoint I would say.

So imagine what happens if something triggers a collapse. How many people would be very interested in knowing that a particular person has a lovely big supply of food, weapons, tools and other resources? Quite a few I suspect.

Now imagine that there are some people that watch prepper videos online not just for inspiration for their own preps but to locate preppers in order to take their stash if and when required. Much easier and cheaper than doing all the work for yourself.

Far fetched? Maybe, maybe not. Being prepared requires a certain paranoia and I suppose I am paranoid but that doesn’t mean someone isn’t out to get me.

Now I have, as an experiment, watched some assorted bloggers that live in my country and attempted to work out where they are. Many people show their house, car and local area with little thought for what they are giving away. Time and again they give clues to their location and if you know their name and what they look like how hard would it be to track them down? One guy even showed how he disguised his very large secret store and showed a picture of the outside of his home. He might as well take out an ad saying “Come and get me and all my stuff”.

Given how much information is online these days anybody that devotes a few hours can find an awful lot of information about almost anyone. There are facial recognition programmes that can compare screenshots from videos to any photo online. Many Facebook profiles freely give huge amounts of personal information for criminals to use.

I found one well known You Tuber and activists home address within minutes and had pictures of his house from several angles using nothing more than Google. If I were criminally inclined I could wait until he announces to the world that he is going away on holiday and rob his house.

This is not only an issue for preppers of course but if we are considering a large scale collapse of law and order then the gloves would be off and violence would come swiftly. A war situation in fact. In war you must be very careful about what you let your enemies know.

Tbilisi_riot_2007.jpg.

Also we must consider what government might do or be doing with this information. They are, after all, the biggest and most violent of all criminal organizations! A list of preppers might come in very handy when SHTF.

No doubt some people will disagree, some will call me names even. Well they are free to do so because I am not in an ethnic, gender or social group that is immune to criticism. Whatever, that is my viewpoint and why you will never see my face or hear my voice or find my name online. Any video I make will be carefully screened for information useful to the enemy.

Be careful guys, you are being watched by all sorts of people, not just nice ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23