🌽 🥘 🍗Prepper Cook-Off Challenge #2 - Winners Announcement and Feedback😅 🤢 🤮

thumb

Sorry to keep you all waiting with baited breath for the results of this Prepper Cook-Off Challenge. I thought I was impressed with the quality of entries last time but this rounds contestants took things to a whole new level! There was more than one entry with multiple recipes and the story telling was great too!

Part of homesteading is the ability to maximize your available resources and, even though this challenge was for fun, the winning entries are all excellent examples of how to make tasty food with limited ingredients. The creativity used to come up with these meals would even be well served in anyone's day-to-day cooking. Many of these recipes, with a few tweaks, would be perfectly acceptable meals even before the apocalypse.

Results

Once again, I have decided to up the rewards slightly due to the quality of the entries. I found judging the entries to be very difficult and some were only out of the running for top 3 by a point or two.

Prizes

  • 1st Prize - 10 STEEM + 15 SBI
  • 2nd Prize - 5 STEEM + 10 SBI
  • 3rd Prize - 3 STEEM + 5 SBI
  • Most Gag Worthy - 2 STEEM + 3 SBI
  • Most Creative - 2 STEEM + 3 SBI
  • All other qualified entries - 3 SBI

What is @steembasicincome (SBI)? It is a program where you sponsor people by buying them shares. Both the sponsor and the sponsored get a share which provides continued upvotes to member content.

Learn more about Steem Basic Income.

First Place

@riverflows - https://steemit.com/preppercookoff/@riverflows/making-something-out-of-nothing-cooking-post-apocalypse

cakes

What can I say other than wow! This post features an amazing story well worth the read and four recipes made from one of the blandest ingredient combinations; Oats and Potatoes. It really is worth the read and I highly recommend that you go check it out!

Second Place

** Warning contains some explicit language **

@revisesociology - https://steemit.com/dlive/@revisesociology/4926eb10-759e-11e8-827c-49f76fdbeab3

Thumbnail

I did not expect to receive any videos in this contest so this was a pleasant surprise. I found the video to be highly entertaining and @revisesociology did a good job of of staying in character by cooking the meal with camping gear and eating it in a bush-crafted shelter. Also, I am giving him a Steemit quote of the year award for this little gem spoken while grating a carrot into a hat in the woods by himself....

If anyone walks along here they are going to think I'm a fucking lunatic..... I could just say welcome to Steemit, we're a bunch of fucking lunatics!

Third Place

@senorcoconut - https://steemit.com/food/@senorcoconut/a-prepper-cook-off-challenge-i-m-making-smoked-oysters-in-rice-with-seet-potato

20180622_144817.jpg

This entry featured more good Prepper Cook-Off story building as well as being cooked and prepared in an off-the-grid fashion. I think @senorcoconut has a bit of an unfair advantage since he lives this way already! He also rolled a fairly hard ingredient combination with rice and sweet potato and then added oysters that were a year past their best before date! Seems like an almost gag worthy combination but he claims it tasted good and the final presentation was also well done.

Most Gag Worthy

@girthbomb - https://steemit.com/preppercookoff/@girthbomb/acorn-squash-rice-and-spam-preppercookoff-2-entry

gag

This little gem appears to be some sort of rice, spam, and acorn squash slurry. His kids were not impressed!

Most Creative

@el-nailul - https://steemit.com/esteem/@el-nailul/preppercookoff-challenge-delicious-survival-food-billingual-b4ba2f2af7c9e

This Entry Features three different treats that use the same base dough but are then cooked in entirely different ways. I thought it really showed what could be done with just a few basic ingredients and you can tell a lot of effort went into this post. There is a good chance it would have made the top three if there had been more story building and survival/prepping elements.

Honorable Mention

@webbie - https://steemit.com/preppercookoff/@webbie/prepper-cook-off-challenge-entry-oats-and-appples

apple

This early entry very well could have cracked the top three in the first Prepper Cook-Off Challenge. Unfortunately, due to the relatively easy ingredients and extremely stiff competition it didn't qualify for a specific prize. @webbie does a good job of staying in character and delivering a simple but tasty looking dish.

Conclusion and Feedback

While I had hoped for a few more entries I am really happy with level of competition this time. It is very hard to judge the challenge when the entries are so creative and of such high quality.

For Prepper Cook-Off Challenge #3 I will be doing a foraging based theme with slightly different rules. I will probably only allow one added ingredient of your choice, plus what can be foraged and of course some spices and whatnot. There would be no random dice roll. Instead, it would be up to nature and your resourcefulness to decide what ingredients you could use.

I would like to ask for your feedback and ideas on how I could improve this challenge or if you like it the way it's currently set up. There will be more rolled item challenges in the future after the foraging edition. Also, if you have any ideas for the foraging edition they are welcome also.

Thanks for participating and reading. I hope everyone had fun.


logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Congratulations to all the winners... I'll take second! Maybe by next time I'll have learnt a bit more about how to edit videos.

I just realised I should've also used the steempromo tag, given that I was (sort of) promoting steemit, or maybe potentially. We are all a bunch of lunatics.

Anyway, I enjoyed myself, cheers for putting the competition together.

That squash dish does look particularly not very nice. Not a big fan of squash, other than butternut I must say.

I don't know if it was intended but I found your video to be pretty funny. Good job putting that together and cooking with limited equipment.

only 'pretty' funny. Personally I found it hilarious!

And look out for next @steemhunt post where I'll be reviewing an amazing new and exciting piece of tech that I'm calling the 'grater'.

I found it hilarious too..especially the spaghetti eating..

Your balance is below $0.1. This is your 2nd notification that your account is running low and should be replenished.

Prizes have been paid out. It may take a few days for your SBI to become active.

payment

Thanks for the honorable mention. The contest is fun and pushes me into areas I don’t normally venture.
Foraging will take more effort (and for me, more research), but I’ll give it a try.

Thanks for participating. To be honest you did quite well considering how early your entry was and since you had nothing to compare to. Looking forward to seeing you in the next one!

No way. Thankyou!!! I have to say I had @senorcoconut and @revisesociology picked for sure so I'm humbled and excited to win! Thankyou!! It really was AWESOME fun and I wouldn't change a thing really, except of course to vary the conditions for a new contest to keep it exciting. The foraging one sounds great. Sadly it's winter in Australia and I'm on holiday in Bali, but I would definitely do this challenge again. Thanks a ton and congrats to the other entrants and winners, truly loved reading your responses! 💚💚💚

Congratulations on your win. Creative writing, cooking and photography.

💚💚💚🙏

Thank you, I had you picked as winner riverflows... though the only other entry I had read was @canadianrenegade's (sorry everyone🙄). Enjoy your winnings in Bali!

Already spent on Bintang 😂

Haha already spent, excellent. What's Bintang?

Congrats, the story you added was very well written I really enjoyed it!

💚💚💚💚🙏🙏

I am also happy and congratulate the winner who is very creative and of course to you @canadianrenegade, because all is your idea ,, :))

Thank you! The next one is a foraging one are you going to take a try at it?

Third place is very exciting!!!! Thank you so much @canadianrenegade 😁

I've said it before but this was truly the nost fun contest I've entered on Streemit. I learned a ton, got rid of an old can of food and just had fun continuing the story you had layed out.

Congrats to everyone else who entered, I hope you had as much fun!

Thank you, thank you, thank you⚘

I think the randomness provides a unique challenge to every contestant and that makes it exciting.

Randomness is always good I think.

Such ingenuity! I'm sorry that I wasn't able to enter this round. What a lovely and diverse group of entries. Congrats to the winners!!

I understand that everyone gets busy. I have been run off my feet lately. Maybe you can take a crack at the next round?

Definitely going to give it a go. I was barely online the past two weeks. My baby has 4 teeth coming through and as he was recovering the entire family got sick. So bad as we never get sick and I battled because there's so little a breastfeeding mama can take (apart from high Vit C and olive leaf plus some homeopathic remedies)

Congrats to the main winners. Their creativity and presentation is superb and the wins well deserved! Presentation is an area I need to improve in. :-) I am looking forward to the foraging round.

oh wow! Such awesome entries. I'll be going back to read through them all. Cool contest - congrats to everyone! :)

Thanks for checking the contest out. Very high level of competition this time. Will probably be doing #3 In a few weeks if you want to have a try at it.

Congratulations to all the winners (you did all a great cooking and very creative) and congratulations also to Aimee @canadianrenegade for the success of the the round 2 #preppercookoff challenge. My apology for not making it this round being a mother having my son as beginner at school and me for assisting his need makes me a bit busy. God bless you always.

That's all right. We all get busy. You can always try the next one!

Uhhggg...thank you veryy muchhhh....@canadianrenegade, and congratulation for all winners!!! Bravo #preppercookoff. What i can promise is, I will be back to check all the entry. Meanwhile, I need to go for 2000 guests cooking things....wish me luck my friends

Congratulations.
2000 people?! I can’t imagine. Good luck.

Good luck!!! That will be exhausting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01