I'm over run with green. A good year for the garden??

in #prepping5 years ago

IMG_20190711_093527.jpg

Weve had a very gentle introduction in to summer so far this year. We had a spell of semi-warm weather but with plenty of rain and my vegetable patches are now thanking me for it.

Ive become over run with many different varieties of "cut and come again" lettuce, so I'm doing my bit and giving some away. This has a two-fold effect 1; I'm the nice guy that gives away good, homegrown produce 2; and this is the important one, it gets other people interested in gardening/growing stuff....

So I have 5 trays and 3 pots of mixed leaf lettuce to give away to work colleagues today and some even went out yesterday to get materials to start growing their own.

IMG_20190711_095240.jpg

My rhubarb has also seen some good early growth and I've brought some of that in to give away too.

It's a bit early for most of my rhubarb and I'll be keeping the majority of it to make some lovely rhubarb, apple and blackberry crumble later on in the season when the other fruits are ripe.

IMG_20190707_132116.jpg

The apples are a few weeks off being ready and I haven't even started to forage for blackberries yet. We'll they haven't even started flowering yet, they are an end of season treat.

IMG_20190707_132131.jpg

The raspberries are in full swing and me and 1/2pint spend hours munching our way through bushes. It's a great way to pass on some knowledge and spend quality time with my son.

IMG_20190707_132058.jpg

For the first time in a few years, the pear tree looks to have a bumper crop. Last year was a little disappointing and what few there were didn't fully ripe..... Fingers crossed it all goes well for the rest of the summer and they get the sunlight they need to soften-up.

IMG_20190707_131714.jpg

Ive also never had a crop of red onions like I have this year. Every single seed germinated and every single one has grown in to a giant. I'm still having to thin them out and replant them in random corners of the garden.

IMG_20190707_131724.jpg

The same can be said for the beetroot. I've been thining them out for weeks and still they keep growing. I planted a few mixed lettuce amongst them and they'll have to be pulled soon to give the beetroot space to grow.

4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q91c5jNxF9rntrC8fjLxDFDgbN5Sj3UCs3owHairNvTCfoxoiL1o1RoZWEgDK6c1CZfP19LdZZ5Ewx.png

You can see 1/2pint and my old man in the photos, so that's 3 generations of Welshstacker sharing knowledge and spending the afternoon together. You don't have to be spending a fortune on making memories to enjoy the smaller things in life.

I highly recommend getting all the family evolved. It will keep the old active and will introduce the young to new foods and an appreciation for where things come from.

download.png

Sort:  

giphy (16).gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

giphy (16).gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

That's awesome man, I'm planning to start gardening next year now that I have my own yard and space for it! Totally agree, it's an inexpensive way to spend time together with family and friends and a great skill to pass on and share with others.

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 64% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 71% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Looking great Welshie!! Gardening is fun and so useful! Pass as much knowledge and lettuce as you can brother!! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Brilliant, I'm overrun with lettuce too! We're eating it with everything 😂 and we'll be giving it away soon (plus saves buying those horrible plastic bags of the stuff...)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75