Aversion

in #procrastination5 years ago (edited)

I have a confession to make. I recently have had the craziest busiest week of my life. I was so busy that I didn't have time to post any content on Steemit for one whole week! But.. to be honest.. I could have..

Aversion.png
src

It's true.. I'll admit it.. I'm guilty of Aversion and I'm ashamed..

I mean, it's not the first time.. and I'm sure I'm not the only one...

Yes, this week I had to move and sell almost all of my possessions in the process.. it was insane and I didn't have a moment's respite..
However, as this week as wound down, the dust has began to settle.. and, while I'm still pretty busy during the day,.. there have been many opportunities for me to pick back up the mantle of work over the last few days..

I just haven't.. I've made excuses.. like.. "I'm still moving".. "I'm still busy".. "I worked hard this week, I should reward myself".. "I'm just going to relax tonight.".. "My family needs me"...... or the ubiquitous: "I'll start tomorrow!"


src

Tomorrow was yesterday's yesterday, followed by yesterday and today..

It's nothing but an Aversion to work.. .. it prevents me from starting.. it happens on a small scale every day.. the dragging of feet, and sighing.. followed by distractions on youtube or facebook..

But that scale is ramped up in an equivalent proportion the longer I avoid work.. if it's a couple days off then it might take me a day to get back into the grind.. any longer break than that and it becomes two or three days of humming, hawing and lollygagging ... if I've ever been away for a month or more.. it could be a week's time before I get back to any semblance of a fixed work routine..

Like a caged bird given a taste of freedom.. it's hard to get back into the cage.

The thing is.. I want this..

I mean Steemit,.. I want to be an everyday active part of this community.. It's just, I tend to be averse to work no matter the choice or consequence. I find myself biting my nails and conjuring up thoughts like.. I don't know what to write.. or Nobody cares what I have to say..

This Aversion to industry is nothing new to me.. But I am getting better at understanding how to beat it... usually it means taking a deep breath and just diving back in headlong..

dive.png
src

So, that's what I'm going to do..

Enough is enough.. the hiatus is over.

I'm back! I'm going to be posting regularly again..

unless that voice creeps up again... just one more day off can't hurt..

Sort:  

I think steemit is addictive. The same happens to me. I have wandered through several pages of the network, but I always return to steemit, and although most of the time my posts are not rated as I would like, I like to do it. I take care of it, and that means we're doing the right thing. Expressing our thoughts is a way of telling the world that we are here, that we are not alien to it and that we care about what we write. Greetings and welcome again.

Thanks @marynet for the acknowledgement and warm reception back! :)

Yes, Steemit is addictive, I agree. I think it's important to have an avenue to express our thoughts, feelings, and whimsy. Moreso, I think it's the people, the users on steemit, that make it so compelling. We are all looking for approval and validation, and Steemit is a great place to get feedback to that end.

Keep chugging away @marynet and don't worry about the ratings.. just make quality content and the rest will fall in place 😉

So is! thanks for the advice. Regards!

Congratulations @striderpunk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22