@Stemng/@steemstem Meetup: Traveling For The Meetup wasn't Smooth At All; I Pray I Don't Lose This Bag!

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys. I greet you all and do welcome you to my blog wholeheartedly. Honestly, I have not been in the right frame of mind, which was why I didn't update my blog yesterday.

Draft_31.png
[Source: @agbona's blog]

Anyone who knows me knew I am very passionate about Steemit and everything about steem. I have done very much in promotion of steemit in Nigeria. I had traveled far and wide to attend meetups; I had organized one myself, courtesy of @euronation. I had held myriads of online webinars and onboarded hundreds if not thousands. This is one of the ways we give back to steem.

It is in this light that I was excited when I learnt from @gentleshaid, a co-founder of @stemng which is a subcommunity of @steemstem, that there would be a meetup of @stemng subcommunity. I write STEM, and so I resolved to attend this meetup in order to meet with fellow STEM writers for a more effective networking, relationship building and sharing of ideas for continued growth of steem ecosystem and @stemng subcommunity.

It was a rough trip to Lagos

I base in Aba, Abia state which is very far from Lagos where the meetup has been scheduled to hold on Wednesday 11 July, 2018. So attending this meetup would mean that I leave Aba a day before the meetup date and lodge in a hotel at Lagos since I am not prepared to take a flight.

IMG_20180711_061844.jpg
My ticket

I got my ticket from Young Shall Grow Transport Ltd and had to wait for sometime for other passengers to complete. However, as the bus was being readied for the trip, I was told quite regrettably that my bag containing some stuff a got for my Sister's kids and the clothes I intend to wear to the meetup could not be loaded as there was not much space to contain it. They however advised me to waybill it separately, and go to their park at Jibowu and collect it once I get to Lagos. And of course I accepted without arguement.

However, the bus I was traveling with developed mechanical fault on the way to Lagos and needed to be fixed. I had the two options: find alternate means to Lagos or wait till the bus is repaired even if it would take days. I choose the former. And due to time wasted, I got to Lagos around 9 — 9.30pm by which time it was already dark. I went straight to Young Shall Grow Transport Office, Jibowu Lagos. Unfortunately, I was told they haven't seen my bag, and told me to check back tomorrow. And this is after spending extra N8, 000 from the spot the bus broke down!

IMG_20180710_160048.jpg

Side view of the bus

IMG_20180710_160022.jpg

Some of the stranded passengers discussing in group

IMG_20180710_192227.jpg

Got to Lagos very late. Ojota road

IMG_20180710_192304.jpg

BRT city bus

Can I still make it to @stemng meetup tomorrow? Your opinion is needed

From the story I just shared, it is quite evident the possibility of attending the meetup is slim because the clothes and shoes I intend to wear to the meetup are all in that bag. If I don't get it early enough, that may mean missing the meetup. This will be very unfortunate as that's the chief reason I am here in the first place.

I can still pull some buttons and be there live. This means I will just let the bag be and won't go for it until after the meetup. This would mean I won't look like a conference attendee. I will just put on the same cloth I wore to Lagos that's already very soiled. I am a neat guy and I like looking like one, and so will find it very difficult to go for this option...

What do you think?

By the way, you are invited to the meetup holding at:

Lekki Conservation Centre

19 Lekki-Epe Express,
Lekki Penninsula II, Lekki
11:00am prompt
09065460479

I will hustle my way to be there; I expect to be there! Thanks.

Yours truly,
@eurogee

Do You Blog About Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics? If Yes, Patiently Read The Below Info

For those writing STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) related posts, consider to be part of #steemSTEM community. The link to #steemSTEM community discord room is here. For STEM writers from Nigeria, include #stemng tag in your posts in addition to using normal #steemstem tag. You can check this blog by @stemng for more information. You can visit this post by @steemstem on how to become a member of STEM community. Visit this link for helpful guidelines on writing #steemstem targeted posts. In order not to violate copyright laws in your use of images, consider checking out this post by @steemstem team.

Join Euronation Community on Telegram and whatsapp through the below links to socialize with larger steemit community:

https://t.me/joinchat/HsUnkBJ083m0R6xIp4iA-A

https://chat.whatsapp.com/9VhuK6475477fD7fPIYJ6i

No Witnesses = No Steem Blockchain; If You Truly Love Here, Vote For Witnesses NOW!

Click This Link To Vote Now

follow_eurogee.gif

Sort:  

Blog yang bagus teman esteem @eurogee

Thanks for taking out time to be there.

Welcome boss

@eurogee, thanks for making the trip.
I'm also on the way there. We're now close to the venue.

Lol. It was great meeting you guys

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79