Taking steemit to the non-students of Gulu; The Outskirts of Gulu University get the best of my last day in Gulu District.

in #promo-steem6 years ago

Last night I got the privilege of answering the highest number of calls I've got in a single night all asking about the same thing steemit. More than 20 people called me asking me about the new platform people are talking about in Gulu University. And surprisingly most of these calls came from people who were not students. They had seen the flyers, and heard rumors about a platform that is paying for using it. I answered all these calls with so much enthusiasm, seeing the Acholis becoming part of the global blockchain social network transition. The interest in steemit from people outside the University is surely growing as the message is reaching them from the students. I decided to make a few more promos on the outskirts of Gulu University before I set off for Lira the next big district in the North after Gulu district.

IMG_20180510_153842.jpg

This area is called Pwonye, located just outside the University, it's a trading centre since it mostly offers services to the students and staff from the Univeristy. I reached out to the business people in this area and good enough most of them were offering computer services. Signing up on steemit immediately got underway as they already had the internet on the computers.

Getting income from steemit is indeed going to supplement on the pay they get from their businesses. Most of them have families and they struggle to financially care for their needs with money from their businesses alone. They confessed to me that Steemit has come as the answer to these struggles. These kinds of stories inspire me to spread steemit further. And it's unfortunate am cutting my visit short to cover the remaining areas in the North.

IMG_20180510_153724.jpg

I made it a point to pass by every shop, stationery, kiosk in this area, leaving steemit flyers behind after passing on my message to the people running the businesses. I also left some of the businesses with a number flyers for them to distribute to the people who'll be coming to access their services. These flyers have contacts of me and a few other selected steemians who'll guide the new people in this region on what to do incase they call asking for more attention on how to go about steemit.

IMG_20180511_150153.jpg

The people in Gulu have suffered from poverty for a long time because of unequal regional distribution of resources in the country. I believe those that are joining steemit are going to have a testimony to tell the world about the success story they got from steemit. We shall support them as the Uganda steemit community for them to grow faster on the platform. And have them join in in promoting steemit across the country.

I'll be joined by a steemian who I helped sign up when I get to Lira today. Together I feel we shall cover a wider area of this region while promoting steemit. I can't wait to experience promo-steemit in Lira district.

Thanks for supporting my promo-steemit journey.

Sort:  

Awesome work! Is it easy to convert to FIAT there?

We still use the Kenya system called bitpesa to convert. Which is relatively easy.

Walai...these gulu people are so lucky. You took to them the good news just like angel gabriel.
Thanks for the promo-steem in the nothern parts of uganda. It's miles until you get to that place man.
😊

Haha. Good news indeed. Abacholi nze mbagalizza. They will grow the steemit Ugandan community immensely.

Thanks for the great initiative, promoting steemit in Gulu, that's a great winner and great inspiration for the other members in the steemit community!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13