Meet-Ups..How Things Come Together.

in #promo-steem6 years ago

Hello Steemians....
It's your favourite steemian in the house again!!
Am seriously getting used to calling myself that.

Well I will let you be the judge if I deserve the title, but I feel am not too far from the truth.

Well that been said.

You should know by now that the first few lines are always about me right? That I can't agree more.)

What do we have today?
well, again!!
Am going to talk a little about how to get a meet-up set up.

I think that should mean How to set up a meet-up
Is it me or that sounded like rhyme really?

I can say I am a bit of an authority on this one, how @chiama @jacobite @fatherfaith @anjiba and I of the @abuja-steem community successfully hosted the whole of Abuja-Nigeria for a day to talk about steemit. That was one of my projects this far.

I wrote a post sometime ago telling how you can actually promote Steemit and another why you even should, in the former I listed ways you can do that and if you'd recall meet-ups was one of the various ways I listed.

Am not sure I can even recall the rest myself.
Should I list them?
go find out....:)

Well let me talk about meet ups here, a lot of us got into Steemit from meetups and related adverts and all. So it should not take a rocket scientist to know what a steemit meet-up should be or look like.

Simply put, it is a gathering of steemians for the purpose of promoting the platform and also sharing ideas about Steem and its's blockchain.

What does it really take to set up a meet up?

Screen Shot 2018-06-09 at 19.23.53.png

###You:
There is not meet up without you a steemian either in the capacity of just attendance or the organizer, there has to be a you in the equation.
The next question I want to ask is,
What type of you do we need in a meet up?
I will say a you that is interested in the development and advancement of this platform and of course the you that is ready to tell someone about the platform, the you that has inept knowledge of block chain and crypto currencies.

Does that mean an enthusiast is not welcomed?

Hell no!!
The meet up is actually for you.

Team:

you need a team, yea!!
A collection of yous with common interest, in the program.
One person can handle Directions,
Another Refresments

Very important😋

Another can handle logistics
Publicity has to be covered also.
I seriously doubt if there can be anybody who has vast knowledge in all this and can handle them efficiently and on time without other department suffering for it.
Think hard on who the members of your team is or will be because to a large extent that will determine the success of the meetup.

We had a great team in @chiama,@jacobite and the entire @abuja-steem community and really we did wonders in Abuja.

Location:

This also as important as having you in the program. Where will they sit or stand when they come? Will you stand? Will they be comfortable?
And please very important is the lighting of the place you are to use.

You know we are about the pictures.

So getting a properly arranged and lighted venue is important.
Another area of concern is, how accessible is the venue? Note that some people who may have never been to the city will be around, and getting them to the venue unaccompanied should be a priority because you may be so occupied that you will not remember the venue yourself talk more of getting people there maybe over the phone or something.

Try using a venue that is on google map.

Photo Device:

Yea that too.
Added to the perfect venue for perfect pictures should be a perfect device.
It may be a smart phone or a Camera but let it be good.
Who knows someone may be on;
Dlive
Dtube
And even a good one for your post won't hurt because you really need that.

Screen Shot 2018-06-09 at 19.22.20.png

Resource Persons:

Some may argue that this is the most important but of all the needed stuffs.

I beg to be indifferent about this.

Well that already settled you need people who can talk about Steemit and blockchain convincinly without glancing at a material.

I will say someone who lives on steemit
Don't ask me more.

You don't want someone sounding like they lack any iota of confidence them telling someone about something new.
It can be you and seriously people that will make steemit look like what it is...

Fun....

Post:

The reason I brought this to the last is because I think all else should be in place before this,

Don't ever!!
Lemme take it again...
Don't ever make the mistake of writing and posting before you make every other arrangements.

Why because it is the post that tells everyone else about what's up and what you have done, the better and more convincing the post looks, the better for you. Don't even ask me why?

Well since you asked why?
Most people are going to know about steemit and the meet up from your post, the people that will come, the venue and the logistics involved. This is more than just a post it is the meet up.

The most awesome part of the post is that most people are going to support or snub your meet up from the way you arrange your post.
Don't just make it one post.
You can give a blow to blow account of the preparations, the steemians that have hit town, the ones that are ready, show us how the hall looks like and all that stuff.
And on that day, you can make a post containing only the directional guide to the venue and you can add numbers one can call for further directions.

Please make enough money from your post oh
because that maybe the only thing you will get from the show.
😷

Finally though

  1. Money: you thought I will forget that right? The reason I didn't want to make an issue out of it is simple.

They say a lazy man will always see the setting cloud as an excuse not to farm.

Am not implying anything
All am saying is that if we use money as the major factor then we will never get it done.
Make concrete analysis and study if these other needs then make this your last.
Meet the people that have the hall or cafe or ICT center you are going to use.
Meet the resource persons and know their cost...

It may be free
Don't say I told you

What will the refreshment cost?

With all these you now know the money you are looking for you can now call those you feel can sponsor.
The whales in you city or country.
The minnows that can help.
@promo-steem and the likes.

we all know those generous guys that can help.

If you can't reach them, reach those who can reach those who can reach them.

😂😁
And remember your post will give you some money too.

Well I can tell you enjoyed yourself reading this post...because I also enjoyed writing it.

That should be a guarantee that you will like it.

Don't just read, out this to heart and try organizing these meet ups because steemit can really use some more publicity right now.

It's your favourite boy signing out....

I did it again
😇

Thank You.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Really educating, you'll be a good team leader

He is a great team leader!

Permit me to re-title this post:
How To Organise A Steemit Meet-Up(The pros and Cons).

This post is a guideline for future steemit meet-ups planners.

In BTW: Abuja steemians are enjoying cool meet-ups. Now am wishing I can visit Abuja someday.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12