Psychology Addict # 41 | Leaving the Past Behind

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

car-png.png

Everything that has left the present moment can basically remain exactly as it was, because the past will not change anyway

@erh.germany

As of late I have been approached by an increasing number of people who in their 30’s, 40’s and 50’s find themselves disturbed, for example, by the bulling they underwent in their school years, a divorce that happened 12 years-ago, or the pain caused by not being loved by their parents as much as a sibling. For some of these people, such past memories are distressing to the point that just the thought of them bring up tears as well as deep sadness, which makes me think that some wounds are resistant to the restorative agency of time.

On the other end of the scale, I have also seen individuals whose past were so filled with happiness and joy that they refuse to let it go. I once saw a man in his mid 40’s who on becoming so attached to his eventful, thrilling 20’s rejected any other form of living life. Existing out of that sphere was so unbearable for him that he constantly tried to emulate those exciting years by wearing the same hat, similar clothes, listening to the same songs and so forth. Sadly, when he realised that he was on his own in that endeavour - because everyone else had long moved on - he sought for refuge in drinking.

Why so Deterministic?

let-go-of-the-past.png

But, while learning to live with a hard-to-let-go past is an art that not everybody masters, I believe this is something that anyone can do. After all, what is the reason for adopting such a rigid deterministic approach to life?

Early behaviourist, B.F. Skinner believed that we are not in charge of our own choices. Through this view he suggested that environmental circumstances, and our personal history are the factors that drive us to behave the way we do, giving us the impression that we are acting under ‘our own free-will’ (this is what I mean by deterministic approach). Indeed, if you stop to think about the role the environment and the past play in influencing your choices and behaviour you might be surprised to realise the extent of it.

Nevertheless, we, human beings, are a little bit more complex than that. We are not just at the receiving end of what happens around us. Quite the contrary, humans actively shape the context in which they exist as a result of personal agency (with some thinkers going as far as to argue that even not making a choice is a choice). So, if you imagine that your life is a car, a sense of agency would be the driving seat ref..

Now, you tell me, who is going to be at the wheel: you or that/those past event(s)?

Put Your Abilities into Practice

Human beings have the capacity of strategizing, of imagining a future, and setting goals. Lots and lots of people decide to put this ability into practice not despite of what they went through in the past; but, because of it. They take a stance of seeing their past as a teacher, as an inspiration, not as a dictator. This is an empowering decision to make and the path for a rewarding future. As they take charge of the wheel as well as of the direction the car will take. As they come to understand that is it more fruitful to venture new destinations than to keep on revisiting the same old places that did nothing for them other than delay their journey forward.

It then, becomes a matter of understanding that while your past will never go away, it does not have to mute your sense of agency either. So, here you might ask me, if it is never going to go away how can I move on?

By, making the present moment better.

Who controls the present, controls the past

(George Orwell - 1984)

One of the aspects that get people ‘stuck’ is the powerlessness they feel towards the immutability of the past. But, while bygone events are unchangeable per se your views and feelings towards them are not. Hence, the more proactive you are about making the present a better time to be in, the less disturbed you will feel about those bad times. The longer you sustain this strategy the greater the number of good moments will be lined up in your memory lane, pushing those bad ones further and further away. Of course, the fact that those distressing events are now a far, hard-to-see sight doesn’t mean they are not there. One soon realises this when one encounters a trigger (a smell, a song, an image). I think of triggers as a fast-track ticket to those distance sights.

And this is why it is important to develop courage, because only courage will enable you to not be intimidated by that troubling bygone event. And I believe that this courage is directly proportional to one’s level of satisfaction with the present moment: the more content you are with your current life, the braver you will feel when confronting those memories. For example, if the divorced 50 year old woman is currently pleased with her present moment, and a song that reminds her of her ex-husband plays on the radio, she is more likely to just take a deep breath and get on with her day, than to start crying and have her morning ruined. In the same way that if the 40 year-old man had embraced the responsibilities required by adulthood and built a productive life upon it, the thought of his young-adult years would have become something to smile at, rather than a crippling longing.

How to Make the Present a Better Place to be In?

By having and executing a plan.

A plan motivates you to look ahead, it brings purpose to your existence, it reassures you of your ability of being in charge, and rescues you from the pleasures of self-pity. Personally, I believe in plans that aim at the development of potentials and character, because as they are achieved, everything else tends to falls in place. What is more, those very achievements help you to stand tall once again, providing you with a new mindset, as new behaviour yields a new rewired brain ref.. Then, those around you look and treat you more meaningfully, boosting your self-esteem and giving you confidence to face new challenges. A new cycle begins. One that leaves the torment of bygone days right where it belongs: behind you.

It is true that distress impedes clarity of thought. So, how to think of a plan?

Step-by-step.

A Letter from Your Improved-Self

letter.png

Five years ago I stumbled upon the works of psychologist Kelly McGonigal's, which seeks to boost people’s willpower in order to rid them of unhealthy habits that range from: overspending to smoking cigarettes. To strengthen willpower, among things such as exercise, good sleep and mindful meditation, McGonigal proposes that writing a letter to oneself from one’s future-self helps to wake people up to a possible gloomy future should they continue to nurture such habits. Her studies demonstrated this to be a real eye opener.

My own way of doing this is to first ask people to envision not only a future-self, but an improved-self. You know, a ‘turbo version’ of yourself. This is a useful way to shift attention from distressing past events, to the present and the future. Anything can be included in here, from ‘my improved-self has a beautiful vegetable garden’ to ‘my improved self doesn’t spend so much time watching bad TV’. Then I say; good, now that your improved-self has been personified, get it to write that letter to the present self.

What does the present-self needs to do to make the vegetable-garden real, or to watch less TV?

Some of these people feel compelled to share their letters with me, and while some of them just come back with a list of things to do, others come with a 2-page letter with the most insightful encouragement from themselves to themselves. It is beautiful. I have found that those who manage to get on with this ‘homework’ manage to overcome the dread they feel from troubling past memory sooner than those who don’t cooperate. And when I say cooperate, I don’t mean with me, I mean with themselves.

Why it Works

One of the reasons why this works for most people is because writing is a less abstract form of thinking as it translates emotions into language, it organizes feelings, structure rationalizations and relieves upsetting feelings. Research shows that putting distressing events down in words improves biological, psychological, social and behavioural measures. Consequently, giving rise to an improved physical and mental health ref.. Here, the ‘secret’ really is in not being afraid of revisiting those deep feelings and thoughts provoked by painful life events ref.. It is in having the courage of being expressive about them.

Personally, I see the action of taking this challenge in itself (writing the letter) a great sign of bravery. For me, those who are bold enough to scourer their difficult memories like this are already halfway there. Halfway through the journey which destination is an enjoyable, purposeful present moment, and a foreseeable, exciting future.


Reference List:

McGonigal, K. (2012) The Willpower Instinct: How self-control works, why it matters, and what you can do to get more of it, New York, Avery.

Moore J. W. (2016). What is the sense of agency and why does it matter. Front. Psychol. 7:1272. 10.3389/fpsyg.2016.01272

Orwell, G. (1949), 1984, London: Secker and Warburg,

Pennebaker & Chung (2007), Expressive Writing, Emotional Upheavals, and Health, In Handbook of Health Psychology, pp. 263-284.

Skinner, B. F. (1971). Beyond freedom and dignity. New York, NY, US: Knopf/Random House.

Image source: 1,2,3,4.


SteemSTEM Logo.gif
Red Line.png

Dear Reader,

Whether you are at total peace with your past or not, I believe in leading an existence that moves towards the fulfilment of one’s potentials. Have you ever had the opportunity to stop and think of your ‘future improved-self’? What is she/he like? Is the difference between she/he and your present-self big or small? 😊

I thank you once again for taking some of your time to read my writings.
Much love to you 🎔

Sort:  

Oh, what a surprise to see me quoted at the beginning of your article! Thank you very much for honoring the idea behind the statement.

The proposal to write ourselves a letter of the future "I" is extraordinarily creative and strengthens the narrative side that also constitutes us as human beings. You are right, it empowers you in another way and through the letter thoughts and intentions become concrete.

I liked your examples, they made the abstract plastic - listening to a song and thinking about the ex as well as the achievements and thinking about the younger self.

One of my teachers once asked me what my life film would look like if I were a film director and I found this question very inspiring. This question is especially helpful when you are plagued by the past as well as worried about the future.

Fear of the future is, so to speak, the evil sister of the obsession of the past :)

It's nice that writing a letter to yourself applies to both directions.

One could push the idea even further. Now, if the letter is dated August 11, 2025 and one would open it only then: How would that affect you? A really exciting question.

Hello Erika,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback! 😊

Your teacher's question is a fascinating one, for sure. It follows the whole concept of 'try to be the protagonist of your own life, rather than a secondary actor in someone else's'

Your observation about the fear of the future is a truthful one. This is something that indeed invades the mind of many, many people to the point of incapacitating them through extreme levels of anxiety.

Dating the letter is definitely the way to go, as it helps people to look further ad further ahead. To begin with a letter from your future-self in 2 weeks time. After all, the idea is in avoiding a far-fetched improved-future-self. The more concrete it becomes, the more distant the past feels; hence, less frightening :)

It is beautiful isn't' it?

Much love to you 😘

Indeed, it is beautiful.

😘

hello my friend @abigail-dantes good the truth if I have stopped to think about my improved future, one full of success keeping my super family but with a better venezuela and where obtaining a university degree will help me progress in a professional way, my future and I imagine that of my family very full of goals achieved. Greetings my friend and thanks for your publicacones.

@abigail-dantes Sorry, that was a warning to the guy who told you about the vote there. I just read the comment I'm sorry.

mythology.jpg

This is REALLY not nice to look at @mythologyupvote.

Let's hope none of your readers is an epileptic...!

There are two who are 😕
They are the only reason why I bothered to comment on this visual pollution!

I appreciate your apology very much. Thank you :)
Have a nice day.

Excellent @derekdamian.

You have described a beautiful future for you and your family. Now it is all about taking action to have this envisioned future materialized :)

Only posted 8 minutes ago , and I've read a full post of oyur! amazing! (normally it's a two day event).

The reason being, that I agree with everything you said. (or close to).

which makes me think that some wounds are resistant to the restorative agency of time.

I think past wounds are perceived as wounds by choice (conciously or otherwise.
Start to perceive your wounds as battle scars o flife, and show them proudly, is a much healthier way to see them..
...At the end of the day it's the past -and only about your perception.
Don't deny your wounds - is as equally important - accept them.
They are part of who you are, and never be apologetic for that - ever.

I see life as a train journey. We are in the carriage and the train is only going in one direction.

Whether you choose to take a seat looking where you've come from, or whether you choose to look forwards, is, ultimately - your choice.

One thing is for certain, the train only has one destination, and none of us know which platform we have to get off.

Might just as well enjoy the oncoming scenery, and the wind in yer face!

Do I get bonus points for first reply?
(whispers :good of you to make btw. I'm impressed! 😂😂)

You get a star for first reply : 🌟 + a heart 💛 for how beautiful your comment is! Your words are inspirational and truthful! Thank you for writing them down here :D

Now, what do I get for making it today? I would like to order one of those delicious loaves of bread you make, please!

Take care :*

Awww , I feel special now...(sorry for all the typos, even more than usual - I was all excited! lol)

I would send you one straight away, senhora - but unfortunately it's pointless - There are no preservatives or additives in my loaves..
If you were thinking of starting a penicillin farm, it could act as good starter culture, I suppose...

(I think 2 consecutive weeks is most commendable ...but it hardly merits a loaf delivery - penicillin riddled, or otherwise..
We will discuss it again in 10 posts, and 10 weeks, time..)
😂😂

What don't I do for a fresh loaf of bread!

Tis my weakness to.
When I was on my non carb diet - bread was the flirty tease that had me falling off my discipline wagon...every...single...time...
Not sweets, or pasta, or soft drinks...

Untitled.png
Luckily for me, I don't beat myself up for my weaknesses...

( I wonder If I could vacuum pack it, and send you a loaf....😂)

10 weeks in a row?? 😦 Ok, maybe that should be a goal my future-improved-self can write about in the letter 😏 What don't I do for a fresh loaf of bread!

The courage is all that matters in order to move ahead in whatever difficulty we meet. Sometimes the courage fails us at when we needed it most. I like that George Orwell's quote, that 1984 is a classic. After sitting in our shelves for close to 10 years, one day I got bored and decided to read it after reading Animal Farm and I was hooked :D

Interesting read, I would've asked you do this biweekly, but then I recall making interesting posts takes time :)
Thank you.

Green! 😊

1984 is definitely among my top 10 books. It is a magnificent masterpiece. Orwell's insights about memory, life, fear, hopelessness are stunning. Not to mention his views on social order and hierarchy! 😍

Ow Green, you are so very encouraging. Thank you for suggesting the biweekly posts :*

You take care and have a wonderful weekend!

I got to know the author through the more famous work of Animal Farm. He sure is a master of satire.

The weekend is over and I'm a bit sad that it finished in like a second :)
Here is wishing you an amazing week.

My dear, dear Green :)

How nice to receive a happy week message from you. Thank you so much!

Yes, my first Orwell book was Animal Farm too (another masterpiece).

I wish you a week filled with prosperity and peace :*

Much love to you from Portugal.

I read Animal Farm so many times that I think I can still recite the first sentence of the book even though I last read it like 8 or so years ago.

Mr Jones of the Manor Farm had just locked the hen houses. But was too drunk to remember to shut the popholes.

Or something of that nature as I just typed above from memory :)

The leopard sailed effortlessly, landing noiselessly as if teleguided by the omu nkwu advanced stealthily, eyes sparking in the pitch dark.

I have that crazy habit of somewhat memorising the first sentence of my favorite books. Above was from the opening sentence of a book from a Nigerian author, Chukwuemeka Ike from his book The Bottled Leopard

If you like a good African story with a touch of mystery, magic, culture, and the people's fight for the tradition which clashes with the missionary's religion. Then you'd probably like the book.

Ha! Thank you for the recommendation Green :)

A great quote by Erica!

some wounds are resistant to the restorative agency of time

That's because the restorative medicine called revenge (see all Shakespeare plays and Tarantino movies :D) has been denied them!

I enjoyed the point that it's not just Negative Nancies that don't let go of their past sometimes, but also Positive Paulies.

Something similar to the letter-writing technique was recommended by the author of Unf*ckology in that video: she said she found it useful to think of 'what would X do in this case?', X being a person she admires or wants to be like. I guess it's the equivalent of 'What would Jesus do?' In the letter-writing case, that idealized persona is embodied by our own future version of ourselves.

EDIT: I read some of the comments, and for some reason Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind came to mind when reading all those experiences and exhortations about moving on from our past. I guess that movie is something like a counterargument. Do you think there is something special about the past that we shouldn't let go of? What would your stance be if the technology from the movie became available in the future, and people deleted memories in order to live mentally healthier and less painful lives? (Note that scientists have already succeeded in deleting memories from mice! I googled and found an article that even mentions the movie!) I know your position is that the past is valuable but that we shouldn't cling excessively to it in a navel-gazing way, but still some people would rather run away from the past completely, and I think that could also denote a psychopathology of sorts.

I know your position is that the past is valuable but that we shouldn't cling excessively to it in a navel-gazing way

You are absolutely correct :)

I think that could also denote a psychopathology of sorts.

Please see Mnemophobia

Memories is one of my favourite topics in psychology! 😍 Thank you for the article. I have skimmed it, but will properly read it tomorrow at the hairdresser's 😅

I think that's the most constructive way of spending time at the hairdresser's that I ever heard!

@alexander.alexis: Leave it to you to make a comment that will stick and send me down paths of speculation. That mouse article raises horrifying possibilities....

Another righteous post from Abbey.

Just like what I normally tell people; no matter how we sulk over or dwell on the past, we can't change the past (Well, that's why it is called "past", because it has passed), but we can do something today that can change the future; and by that we would still be in control.

More often than not, our pasts don't define us if we don't allow it to. But one thing is certain; we are absolutely responsible for our tomorrow.

After all, the past that didn't kill us has just made us stronger.

I enjoyed this post Abbey. Thanks for sharing

Great comment Sammi :D

Yep, this is exactly it: the people who get stuck in the past, in general, think their entire lives will be defined by it. They loose perspective and forget they have the potential to change things from now on :)

Thank you for sharing your views here with us once again my dear :*
Much love to you.

I liked what you said, we have to be in leadership and do not let the past lead us.
Your words motivate me a lot and I will try to forget the past and control the present but sometimes the process will be difficult because sometimes the past attracts you strongly.
Thank you for this wonderful article @abigail-dantes :) wish you a nice day

I think it is ineviteble to be strongly pulled by the past as you put it here @benainouna :) This is why I believe it is important to build a solid, enjoyable present moment. One that prevents us from being disturbed by troubling memories, and also, that prevents us from spending too long reminiscing.

Thank you for your kind comment.
All the best to you :)

Hello miss Abi , sorry was late for the comment , since Friday we were really focused on our father's condition , but all is well wi/ him now and he's just recovering , that's why i also have just posted today again , 3 days none hehe.

in regards to your blog , i agree about how writing a letter or simply writing can help us , i was not into it before steemit , but it has definitely brought me changes , mentally , physically , psychologically and socially.

It is in having the courage of being expressive about them.

That is so true , courage really is the key to let go of the past , if you are open and happy to talk about it , definitely you are okay and done with it .

with your question , i can see my future self as still a fulltume-mom but! will be having my homebased work fulltime or business maybe? not really much difference but more of i can go out with my kids easily , maybe the change would be more of physically , since i feel ugly now hahaha , like since i am breastfeeding i think all my energy and nutrients are on my kids already haha, so physically improved in the future miss Abi 😀

Thanks again miss @abigail-dantes for your support and always remember that we love you always

take care po and Godbless you more and more and your family ❤️❤️❤️

So good to hear about your future self my dear: a beautiful future self that is still a dedicated, loving mum who is strong and physically healthy! Feeling ugly? Uhhh, when I feel like that a good night's sleep + a few days of eating healthy, nutritious foods really changes that! :D

I am sorry to hear about your father. It is great to hear he is already improving!! Please tell him I wish him lots of love and good health ❤️ :)

i think that's what i lack , good sleep or enough sleep miss Abi , hehe , kiddos are still little , have to wake up not sure if that's every hour while we sleep my 2 girls breastfeed, sometimes one after the other so i think im not sleeping at all, LOL, and that's so true more nutritious foods and lotsa water

Thanks for your well wishes for my papa , it meansa lot to me , i'll tell him tomorrow he's sleeping now for sure , hehe. you havea lovely day ahead miss @abigail-dantes , good night from PH
thank you very much , love you!!! 😘

This is why everyone advises that people focus on themselves and their own self-growth after a break-up! Because feeling good with the present makes one better at dealing with the past!

I've been there, trying to deal with past breakups, trying to deal with past hardships, and I always find strength in the present! Developing good eating habits, fitness, reading more, creating new things... makes me happy and better able to deal with the past!

Steemit actually helps me a lot with making myself feel better about the present, it makes me, not only create content but actually earn something for the things I create! These 2 facts make me feel better about the present me, makes me feel fulfilled!

I always appreciate and am grateful for the people who share their real life experiences and achievements here @teutonio. You have attested that focusing one’s energy on the present moment and on what is to come is an effective way to overcome painful past events and memories.

Using steemit as an example of what keeps you creative and productive is very pertinent in this discussion :)

It is nice seeing you around.
All the best.

I'm on holidays, finally some time to write, to think, to do my own thing!

Dwelling on the past makes on stop in time... The past serves as lessons for the present and future, we should always keep moving on, because to stop is to be dead, I see plenty of zombies moving around still dwelling on the past, living but not living at the same time...

It is nice seeing you too!
All the best too :D

Another amazing article from your part dear Abi!

I think this is the topic everyone can relate to, because there's no person in this world who didn't have a struggle with his/her own past.

Hence, the more proactive you are about making the present a better time to be in, the less disturbed you will feel about those bad times.

This is something I can personally relate to, because I use to cling on to my past for so long, to all the bad times and disappointments I've been through, allowing all that negative thoughts and feelings to influence my present and decisions I was making.

Once I decided to put focus on improving my present, and on the goals I have for the future, all of the sudden those events from the past started to fade away, being replaced with love towards others, myself and most importantly - love towards life.

@scienceangel 😃

Oh! Thank you SO much for taking the time to share your experience with shifting your attitude/views about the present; changing, in turn, the ways the past presented itself to you! This is an encouraging message for those who perhaps lack the motivation to adopt such approach :)

Lots of love to you from Portugal always.
You are very dear to me 🌹 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75