Maybe your an owl type personality in the workplace or social group?

in #psychology6 years ago

A wise old owl sat in an oak.

The more she saw the less she spoke.

The less she spoke the more she heard.

Why can't you be like that wise old bird?

[source unknown]

I made this owl a girl because girls are wiser! I know it is a glib crack - it is my post!

Why are owls seen as wise?
My google reading tells me that the goddess Athena was often portrayed with an owl. But this idea that owls are wise is not a world agreed one. Owls are viewed as wise in the West but in India they are regarded as foolish. So it depends on your culture and what part of the world one lives in.

They are nocturnal birds - awake at night and sleeping during the day. They obviously prefer a quiet solitude life. Perhaps the assigned wise label is due to the fact that owls tend to look like they are thinking and analysing the situation.

In the workplace, organisation or social group a person with an owl type of personality would be the solitary deep analytical thinking sort. I have had the pleasure of such a co-worker. I will call him Jay. Jay was very much an owl make-up, always mulling over a point, concept or issue. He would take a long time before he was ready to discuss his viewpoint. Jay's thoughts were most sensible and worthwhile. He was considered a clever guy in the office. But, Jay was not a social communicator. His conversations were usually one way presenting his information.

Are you a bit of an owl at work, in groups or organisations. Maybe you are a mixture of an owl, an eagle and a dove? Or perhaps you know of someone who fits this description?

Cheers
Have a happy day.


Enjoy reading and please comment.


Sort:  

Oh, very creative. I've enjoyed reading this nice text. Thanks, have my vote.

Thank you, it was a fun post to write.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

howdy @angiemitchell! I have aspects of each bird, I don't know if that is good or bad but those photos are hilarious! most of us can relate!

They are funny aren't they @janton? Having aspects of all birds is a good thing --- I think!

And thank you for your upvote @janton.

yes Ma'am you're very welcome, it pains me not to be able to upvote all of your posts but I'm doing one each day, when I get my sp and strength to my vote power then I'll be able to vote for everything. This is one slow moving platform!

howdy today @angiemitchell ...well I'm glad that having aspects of all birds is good because I can't figure out what I am!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77