Gaslighting is ABUSE, You NEED to Understand it!! + UPDATE on my Recent Health Crisis

in #psychology5 years ago

20181031_000456.jpg
This post will serve a dual purpose to educate you all on a very important issue that law enforcement currently does not do ANYTHING about.

Secondarily, I wish to update you all on my recent and ongoing health crisis, as referenced in this post:
https://steemit.com/help/@chelsea88/steemit-i-really-need-your-help-i-am-facing-some-dire-situations
ALSO, THANK YOU SO MUCH STEEMIT. THE GENEROSITY BLOWS ME AWAY, I HAVE NEVER GOTTEN THIS KIND OF SUPPORT!!!!! I am rarely speechless, but I am now....!

I'll talk about gaslighting first which is usually a silent form of abuse, which works well for the abuser. It's actually worse than physical abuse in my opinion and I have been on the receiving end of BOTH. As I have said, law enforcement doesn't care. If you don't have a black eye, they don't give a flying f*ck. They just tell you go get a protection order which could take two weeks to obtain.

I'd know as I've consulted an officer twice over the phone. Gaslighting is a severe form of emotional, mental, controlling, manipulative, and verbal abuse. My first picture is what I came home today of a birthday card I gave my ex that he left all ripped up like that just to be nasty. Very triggering considering.......

My Dad was the same way but also physically abusive. He would slip suicide notes under my door at night. He'd write with red lipstick on the bathroom mirror that my Mom killed him. It was so bad as a pre teen & teen I almost called the cops but was too scared they wouldn't listen and me, my siblings, and Mom would get beaten or get to watch Dad rip the house apart.

Oftentimes, the VERY negative aspects of relationships with gaslighters sneak up on you. They can be extremely charming and charismatic. Slowly you'll start getting nasty snippets from them. These individuals often have mental or personality disorders such as borderline personality disorder, narcissistic personality disorder, or bipolar disorder. Unfortunately, as nothing is their fault (one of the signs of a gaslighter), they usually don't seek help for their problems and blame you for them instead. That's what my Dad did and my now ex does. For reference, I myself have cPTSD, MDD, & GAD, doesn't mean I get to treat people like shit.

It starts off seeming "normal." You'll think, oh they must've just had a really bad day and blow it off. Once the abuser knows they can get away with the small stuff, it's just going to get worse......
20181031_000603.jpg
Yep that's right, he broke the chain lock, claims I purposefully locked him out when we had made a previous agreement to text each other when we were leaving so THAT THIS WOULDN'T HAPPEN.

Had he approached this situation logically he could've called the after hours maintenance or caretaker for assist as I sleep with earplugs and couldn't hear him knocking. These phone numbers are posted above the mail boxes about 10 feet from our apartment door. Think much??

I fixed the lock & went to work. He removed it while I was at work, without telling me. He did send a nasty email stating:
"The chain does not relate to safety. I was able to render it useless and I am not strong."
This apartment complex has issues with theft and lock picking so, yeah............ use your brain much, "buddy"??

We have been BROKEN UP, but still cohabiting until I can leave on the Nov 29th. Why the 29th? Because my job requires 30 days professional notice. I'll get back to that in the second part of this post about my health.

HERE'S THE WARNING SIGNS YOU'VE GOT A GASLIGHTER ON YOUR HANDS.

  1. Frequently plays dumb & pretends not to understand or refuses to listen. Ex. “I don’t want to hear this again,” or “i don't understand"

  2. Causes you to question your own sanity. by questioning the victim’s memory of events, even when the victim remembers them accurately. Ex. “you're a liar", "it's all been lies"

  3. Frequent changing of subject particularly when presented with FACT. If you're a cardiac surgeon, they'll question your knowledge on the heart. Ex: " i've never heard that study" , "i don't believe in placebo double blind studies" etc etc

  4. Trivializing - they attempt to make your thoughts or feelings insignificant or "not important enough"

  5. This is a BIG one. Frequent and "convenient" "forgetting" or flat out denial of ACTUAL EVENTS. Ex. “I don’t know what you’re talking about,” or " that doesn't relate to the conversation" ( when it does), “You’re just making stuff up.”

  6. Can cause you to constantly second-guess yourself.

  7. You often feel confused and even crazy.

  8. You find your partner blames you for everything so you have to be the "sorry one".

  9. You aren't happy!

  10. You find yourself making excuses for your partner’s behavior to friends and family.

  11. You find yourself withholding information from friends and family so you don’t have to explain or make excuses...... which means you'll continually to silently suffer. So be like me, DON'T!

I REFUSE TO BE CONTROLLED BY SOMEONE WHO WANTS ME AS MISERABLE AS THEY ARE

  1. You know something is terribly wrong, but find it very difficult to vocalize
  2. You often try to make yourself believe things are better than they actually are
  3. You have trouble making simple decisions. Work becomes much more difficult. Health conditions worsen.
  4. You know that you used to be a very different person – more confident, more fun-loving, more relaxed.
  5. You feel as though you can’t do anything right and worthless.

So there's the fairly comprehensive list that you can expect to receive from the narcissistic gaslighter.
For additional info visit:
https://www.thehotline.org/what-is-gaslighting/
There's even a support line I may end up calling. You know it's REALLY bad when you have to sleep with a barricaded door (there's also boxes there.)
20181030_235603.jpg
Or when you get highly coincidental security alerts from the IP of the computer in your room:
20181030_194831.jpg
Hmmmmmmmm.

So I did the right thing and have called the property caregiver, property manager, and police about the removal of the lock. They will be addressing it tomorrow.

Adults can be civil and COMMUNICATE even if things are going "their way." Boohoo. Go grab a pacifier.

I just keep reminding myself it will get better. He doesn't control me.
20180601_010925.jpg

As for my health, I informed the Steemit community I was in desperate need of financial assistance in the above mentioned post from five days ago. The INCREDIBLE outpouring from the community has brought me to tears!! I'm not used to being treated so kindly. In my 30 years, I've come to expect the worst from people, as that's mostly all I've received, thanks for proving me wrong Steemit!

I wore a cardiac monitor for 24 hrs last Monday and visited my PCP this Monday for f/u. The results were mostly okay. There were some abnormalities particularly at 2 am it wasn't a flat line but for two minutes it was something like this:
20181031_011200.png
Means the heart slowed WAYYYYY down for no reason for two minutes. Very rough and non scientific drawing, don't judge, lol.

I was put on a work restriction.
20181031_011516.jpg
Blood tests up next then MRI. Luckily 30 hrs and up is considered full time in my company in order to maintain my benefit status. I'm hourly, not salary so I will miss the income.

I had started a go fund me a few days back, any spare pennies are APPRECIATED!
https://www.gofundme.com/dire-need-for-assist-to-relocate
I actually went around the common areas of the apartment and my car and collected all the spare pennies, dimes, nickles I could find and got $14.90 from that.

I'm very fortunate to have already located a home to rent in Columbus, Georgia via my awesome Mom's connections.

Your generosity is helping me get into this home and afford all the gas for the 18 hr drive, food for me and my cats, reinstating my GA physical therapy license, deposit fees, a washer & dryer for the rental home, etc etc etc.
20181031_012648.jpg

Fortunately, the landlord seems to have a lot of respect for my Mother and is accepting the deposit & giving me keys on the 9th when I visit Columbus, Georgia. My company has an opening 5 minutes from the home. I've been interviewed and as I'd be an internal transfer and as I have nearly 6 years of experience, they are bringing me on and I will do another informal interview on the 9th as well.

Thanks for being there for me Steemit!! And for reading this!! Would love to hear from you in the comments, any thoughts or advice welcome and appreciated BIG time!
20180404_010059.png
20180831_204546.jpg
https://discord.gg/rEV3mF

Sort:  

Ugh, this is horrible, please extract yourself ASAP if not sooner? ;-)

Thanks can't move to my permanent location sooner than the 29th due to 30b days professional notice needed. Restraint order in place

Well. That is awful. Better to be alone than with psychos. Stay strong. And I hope your moving will settle most of your problems. If only we had a steem block where people could go and live in a blockchain community

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, yeah I don't plan another relationship ever or for a very long time. It's sad i'm a caring romantic at heart . Oh well. All men have v just mistreated me and ket me down. But many other things in my life are going well and improving so i have to be thankful for v the small victories

I do hope that a fine man shall find his way to you. It is very important.

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps one day i'll find my knight in shining armor. Lol
It can wait though!

Hang tough kid. Not long now. :-)

Glad I was in a position to offer some help, small though it was.

I'm sure once you get back to your hometown things will all start to look better and your health will improve.

Everything is connected. Some connections need to be cut for the rest to flourish. The connects to keep are those that make you well and happy.

You are an awesome person. Never settle for second best, because you deserve the best ;-)

You're absolutely right! And thank you. I do believe it's all connected and stress can make you physically unwell. I'm done settling!

@chelsea88 please don't miss the comment linked below. It slipped in as a reply to my reply.

https://steempeak.com/psychology/@jacey.boldart/re-marillaanne-re-chelsea88-gaslighting-is-abuse-you-need-to-understand-it-update-on-my-recent-health-crisis-20181031t202754073z

I do totally agree with @dswigle and @jacey.boldart! Like Jacey, I absolutely expect him to escalate. Absolutely.

Normal men can hardly stand to have a woman leave the trophy shelf without a last attempt to draw her back with sweets. This one will destroy the trophy before letting her go from his shelf. Hell. He'll destroy the trophy, the shelf, and burn the house down.

Also, do look at shipping prices. You might be able to ship a great deal of your possessions. We moved twice largely via FedEx. We did have a discount and we did go substantially minimalist. It was worth it. You have an entire month to send packages a few everyday. So, I really encourage to check your options.

I suspect it's only going to be worth it if you have towing abilities and can get down to a very small trailer. Unless you can talk yourself into letting go of the big stuff.

Our last move we had to go back across 5 or 6 states to pick up a second load so don't think I'm thinking you must let go of stuff.

If you have a business up and running that involves shipping, there may be ways to save on usps shipping but that's just a light rumor I heard years ago. Go talk to the people at the post office.

I'm off to sleep. I hope you're doing okay.

Thanks yes a couple pepple have mentioned fed ex and it's probz what i'll be doing. I have a restraint order in the works and the backing of friends here to crash with

Ha! Well they all learned how to do that from us. ;-) everybody who found out we moved like that back then was just so shocked. Sigh now it's just average mundane I guess.

I appreciate the suggestion though. I wouldn't have thought of it if others hadn't previously mentioned it. Lol

I am still super concerned about you driving in this much stress. I wish you would add "flying in a family member or friend to keep me company for the drive." On several occasions we've done this for friends and family. It makes a huge difference. I'd volunteer but I can't at this point.

Get the restraining order! See if you can have him removed from the apartment. A month is a hellish long time!

And I personally hereby give you permission (a thinly disguised command) to call that hotline already! I'm sure they know stuffs the rest of us don't. Maybe more than the locals know.

I'm glad to see the MRI on the list. Now I'm going to be more meddlesome and ask if they have mentioned a sleep study test. Sleep apnea (for example) can play havoc with the heart. There's some other sleep dysfunctions that also exist but that's all I know about them.

(I'm married to one of these characters. It's so bad for him they don't even let him finish a test without the cpap.)

Adding safety to my prayer list.

Thanks for the update!

smhrt

What Denise has said is true. As it comes closer to the time of the separation, he may escalate when he sees you really mean to go through with it. It is not a good idea to stay.

I am sorry for your situation.

I'm leaving soon. A restraint order is placed. I have friends allowing me to crash with them. I'm currently safe. Thanks for the support!!

@marillaanne
Restraint orders in the works. I'm currently safe.
That's a good idea about flying someone in to drive with me. Thanks for that, I would've never thought of it!

So glad. So so so glad. ell your friends there thank you from all your friends here !

Will do 😊❤

Thanks for sharing this update. Glad to hear that additional tests should identify the root cause, hopefully.

The waiting game sucks. Survive. Let us all know if you need anything.

Thanks for the support buddy

I'm glad to hear things are improving.

Another thing abusers do is try to keep their victim around. I guess it's less effort than finding a new one? Fuck that guy. Figuratively, not literally. You're moving on with your life, and good for you. I might suggest, once you're moved, to change your phone number as well.

The changing of number is definitely a thought. but he'll be permanently blocked from all avenues of contact

I've been in relationships before where gaslighting has been an issue. And, I've used gaslighting before as well at a time in my life when I was unhealthy and desperately unhappy. That was many years ago and it seems like a different life. I can also tell you, I did not recognize my behaviors until much later.
I'm not suggesting you try to help this person. You should get the heck out as soon as you can. Some people who gaslight are purposefully manipulative. It's sick and horribly sad.
Gaslighting is crappy crappy behavior. It's common in people who have personality disorders, but anyone, even "normal" people can exhibit gaslighting behaviors. It's a pattern of coping with their own stress and triggers so they don't have to feel the pain.
But, I do not pity the gas lighter. Compassion yes, for lacking the self awareness to make a change in their own behaviors. But not pity. They need to understand their own behaviors and work on themselves first and foremost, otherwise their lives will never change.
People who have been victims of gaslighting behaviors are also more likely to exhibit the behaviors in the future, so I hope with much compassion (as its so destructive, as you know) that you firstly care for yourself and find compassionate love for you, and continue on your own journey toward self awareness. I can see that you are courageous as well as full of self love, which are the first two ingredients of transformation in life. 😍 All the love to you, I know it isn't easy!!
It seems that gaslighting isn't his only tactic, so please, stay safe. Stay with a friend or at a shelter if need be. Better safe! Take care.
Xx ToL

Yes I have friends willing to help. Thanks for the support , sharing your story and encouragement

You are still living there? Crazy woman. Two adults can cohabitate, but, he may be one chronologically, but, he is a sick puppy and I wouldn't stay there.

I would consider a shelter or that hotline before I stayed there. Seriously.

You know I wish you well and only want to see this nightmare over for you. I think about you and your situation and hope your new start will be a magically new life for you. And please don't post any more pictures of where you will live or give that man a forwarding address. Stay safe and practice being safe. XOXO

More $$ to come and I hope you get all you need. Much love from this corner.

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

I can post pictures without him knowing where i live. =)
My job requires a 30 days professional notice even though i'm internally transferring. You seem to infer i'm staying here for some silly reason. No offense as i have the most respect for you.

The job and finances have to be in order. I can't stay in a shelter that's probably actually more dangerous than where i am.

He neglects animals, i can't take them to a shelter.

A restraint order is in the works. He knows it and has akready backed off. Things are improving.

I may be going through an extraordinarily hard time but i'm one tough cookie and have been through worse.

If you only knew..... i'm always one step ahead of him anyway. The landlord and management are NOT happy WITH HIM, they are very appreciative of me and got my back. I've got law enforcement backing me and two friends i can go for a temp reprieve.

I am moving on the 29th! I hope you don't take my wording personally but people often underestimate me.

However, i certainly do value your opinion. I'm untouchable i've revamped room security. This "man" if you want to call him that is inside a big fat coward.

We should talk privately on dcord so i can give you a better idea. I've actually been doing everything to stay and be safe. And i won't leave my cats in his hands whilst at a shelter. He neglects his own cat and i have to take care of her so in addition to my own. I also have self defense training and there are no GUNS here

PS i didn't post a pic of where i live you can't tell a street name or anything, it's literally just a house picture :)

Hi @chelsea88! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73