A Post About My Posts

in #psychology6 years ago

Contained within this post is a secret about many of my posts regarding psychology and philosophy

image.png


I write a lot about philosophy and psychology on Steemit. I gravitate towards these topics because it is something that is consistently on my mind and I have the urge to make sense of my ideas in a form that is coherent to others.

As a former mental health worker, I'm still drawn towards the field of self-help and continue to have a desire to help others along the path and impart the knowledge that I've gained along my own personal journey. Any time I receive even a single reply informing me that a particular topic or idea was useful or helpful, I am motivated to continue writing about such topics.

But there is something you should know about the advice I'm providing, something that may give you insight into many of the topics I touch on.

I'm also giving advice to...myself

image.png


This will probably not come as a shock to many of you, but in composing many of my pieces on psychology and philosophy, specifically those that provide some degree of guidance or advice, I'm also writing it to reinforce these ideas with myself. Topics about productivity and focus are not composed purely to share what I've learned with others; they also serve as a helpful reminder not to give in to procrastination and straying from the new path I'm attempting to forge.

In the process of learning, teaching is a fundamental component of the process. Once we've researched, understood, and digested a particular piece of information, the last piece of the process is to share this knowledge with another person. This is done not only for the other person but also serves the individual imparting the knowledge as well, since it requires a certain amount of organization, reflection, and adequate communication to teach whatever it is that is being shared.

By teaching another person something, we cement these facts more solidly in our own mind. Ideally, we become more accountable to our words, as we don't want to appear to be hypocritical or merely someone that preaches instead of practices.

A degree of self-interest

image.png


I'll be the first to admit my flaws, as I am aware that, although I've made a large amount of progress in my life, I still have a long path towards actualizing my potential. Though, to be fair, I don't believe there is ever a point where you are fully actualized, as you can always make improvements to yourself.

I write this article in the interest of full-disclosure and to be honest with my audience about where I'm coming from. I never want to represent myself as someone who has it all figured out or is perfect in all of the things I discuss. Like every human on earth, I have moments where I stray from where I need to be.

Humility is an important component to making progress as an individual, both as a student and teacher. The learning process is synced up with the teaching process. I'm still learning my way through life, even when I'm giving advice to others.


All uncredited pictures from pixabay.com or my personal account

If you received value from this post, I would gratefully appreciate your upvote


My Latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

Once we've researched, understood, and digested a particular piece of information, the last piece of the process is to share this knowledge with another person

You are spot on @colinhoward! I do exactly the same when researching for my articles. Being able to explain a subject to other people is the ultimate prove we have a proper understanding about said subject.

But accepting we don't know it all is also important, in fact the last article I published is kind of related to this idea.

Cheers mate!

Life is an journey towards infinity. No one can claim that he knows everything because knowledge is infinite and life is too short to even take a glimpse of it. It is a continuing process of learning; learning at every step, learning from everything and everywhere. I learnt a lot from your posts and even added my views in comments there. Your knowledge is vast and full of diversity from which I can enhance my knowledge immensely. Keep writing and spreading knowledge in your posts.

Life is a learning process in itself, you are correct in your assessment. Thank you for the kind words, I appreciate your feedback.

Thanks for sharing this post about insight into your posts... Found it insightful (: I love how open people on Steemit are, and how it’s not a pretend-perfect-utopia and instead a 100% real community of a whole bunch of people just acting real with eachother... This community will all be friends on the moon one day 😄

Haha, I sure hope so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85