Being "The Voice of Reason" Just Annoys People!

in #psychology6 years ago

These days, it seems like "Getting Offended" is the newest worldwide pastime.

Maybe I'm being silly here, but it often seems like people wander around actively monitoring their surroundings for Things To Be Offended By.

Often these "things" seem to follow no particular pattern... and you're probably offended now because you've seen me write about this topic here, before. So I'll try to not offend you further my duplicating myself...

0014Table.jpg
Room for different perspectives at this table...

I'm not entirely sure why I ended up down this particular "rabbit hole," aside from the fact that I came to the realization — just this afternoon — that within our "extended circle" I have often been characterized as annoying and even "arrogant" because I tend to be the voice of reason and the person who strives to pull everyone back from their little "trips."

Why am I even writing about this?

As much as anything, because I have recently been exploring the many ways people get addicted to getting their "dopamine fixes."

0073Blossoms04.jpg
Here, have some spring blossoms...

"Addicted?" What the....???

I'm not going to write a long essay on dopamine. Very very short version: It's the neurotransmitter in our brains that gives us a "feel good" vibe for a moment; the little "shot of juice" we get when someone "likes" our content or we get a $5 upvote. It's what makes social media so addictive, for example.

But you can also be addicted to "negative attention."

And that's where "getting offended" comes in.

You can also get your small dopamine fixes from "that moment of self-righteousness" you experience as you point to someone else being "wrong," or "stupid," and you get offended by it.

0114Sunsetc.jpg
Sunset silhouette...

And the Voice of Reason...

... is annoying and unwelcome, because it threatens the "supply."

I become an "arrogant bastard" when I come onto the scene with logic and reason because my doing so might take away the momentary good feels that went with getting all worked up and offended.

The dynamic is not all that different from those couples I have met along the way who seemed almost "addicted" to having a big fight, a couple of times a day. As relationship dynamics go, toxic as hell, and yet it was where they would get their fuel.

Of course... this begs the further question of what my "fix" is, in this equation. Why persist in trying to be "the voice of reason?"

"Self-preservation," I suppose. The vain hope that early intervention will allow me to NOT have to deal with the potential fallout resulting from people being patronizingly offended and causing a shitstorm of conflict... particularly in situations where I don't necessarily have the option to just walk away.

How about YOU? Have you noticed more and more people in the world "looking for things" to be offended by? What do you think is causing this trend? Or is there no trend at all? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

xSteemitBloggers.jpg

Posted via @steempeak. Visit SteemPeak.com for more!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180914 00:56 PDT

Sort:  

easier to get offended by reading text by losing the true meaning...anyway i am offended you didnt mention me in this post :((

You again! - you just offended me 5 mins ago doing comments with women in bikinis.

And now this post - bloody Americans always offend me, because using the word offended offends me.

Whoops, oh bugger it...

damm it i forgot a bikini pic on this post :/
download (1).jpg

We are starting something exciting here

And I'm offended that you come here and the first thing you do is make a comment about being offended! It really is the new world hobby to become offended... by everything.

Meh... now I'm even offended by being offended!

Politically we've gone full throttle overboard.

In more related personal matters it's gets draining trying to be the voice of reason. I was actually going to add a touch of that to a "end of summer" post I've been more busy procrastinating about then being productive about. I actually walked out on our first family planned picnic this year, there were several things prior but the ultimate was from the backlash from asking wouldn't it be better to put the potato salad in the cooler then the Oreo's. (I mean for pete's sake who ever died from Oreo poisoning), needless to say the last big hooray for the summer never materialized either, I just didn't have it in me to be the voice of reason this year I guess.

So, does one go and sit on the fence, or jump right in for whatever it's worth...

Whaaaa, my front hole hurts. My shrink told me a long long time ago that, "sometimes being an asshole is a good thing if you're right, and that being antisocial isn't bad either if society has gone to hell in a hand basket."

I suppose I'd be offended if I cared. It's early in the morning and all I know is I'm hungry so I better get up and go work and ponder your post there. Have a great day. I'm going to.

Uhg! People get offended now-a-days like it's their job.

On a happy note - I really like the blossoms photo. :-)

Indeed, the dopamine supply is threatened by the voice of reason. The self-confirmation bubble the online search-algorithms create for us, help atomize society even further, after politicians and their media have released an emotionally loaded talking-point into the public discourse. Being calm and rational about this in a sea of emotionally motivated screamers is a losing proposition, is my experience. Even when trying to point out we actually have a common enemy in the plutocracy you get blown away by both sides, because they believe so much in the system that divided them in the first place...

This is more than annoying; this is sad, plain sad. Not your post though: that's of the quality I've come used to. Thanks @denmarkguy :-)

haha! sir denmarkguy! I don't know if people are getting more offended than before because I'm not out in the public like you are but it wouldn't surprise me, I've known people like that my whole life but I think it has to be substantially worse in society as compared to say 30 years ago.

I suppose it's the same way in Denmark?

I agree it is easy to offend others, especially with comments because they can not see you. Face to face with people is much easier.

Some people can no longer think for themselves so if questioned it is easiest to just take offense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87