The Art of Quitting: Giving Something Your Best... and Getting NothingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology5 years ago

Growing up, many of us were taught to "do our best."

That was certainly true in our home, to the point where it was almost like a religious tenet. Somehow, it has stuck with me, and now in middle age I still feel that it's important that I do my best... when I care enough about something to become involved in it.

Sunset
Summer sunset

One of the cool things about life changes and "re-inventing yourself" is that there's usually an invitation to examine your patterns and see where/if you've become trapped by any type of psychological "repetition compulsion."

That's the thing, about "doing your best."

When you do your best, invest a lot of time, effort and energy and come away with nothing... I have tended to still "stick with it," and continue doing my best.

At Some Point, You Have to QUIT...

Eventually, you do end up reaching that point where you have to make some decisions, because your life starts feeling like you keep running head first into a brick wall... only to get up, dust yourself off, and then try again... with the same result. Lather, rinse, repeat.

So I start going through the options:

One option is that I simply suck at what I am trying to do. Others make "it" look easy, but I keep failing, therefore I suck.

Another option is that I am simply doing the wrong thing. If you're 6-foot-6, trying to become a horse racing jockey is probably the wrong thing. If you have shaky clumsy hands, trying to become a neurosurgeon is probably the wrong thing.

Of course, those are nice cut and dry examples.

I think what happens to most people is the quiet discovery that no matter what you're doing, "doing your best" will still leave you feeling like a weekend jogger trying to keep up with the elite runners in the Boston Marathon.

I've done a lot of quitting because I have discovered precisely some variation of that. I have kept trying my best at a number of things and each time ended up with absolutely nothing.

Damselfly
Damselfly at water's edge

Quitting is Hard...

Most people find quitting hard because it tends to hold true that our environmental conditioning has taught us that quitting is actually a form of failure. And most of us are pretty loath to fail.

Most good "quits" I have done have been more self-preservation than anything else... be it the realization that I am actually working for half of minimum wage or trying to keep a friendship that keeps on demonstrating a complete lack of reciprocity.

Our "best" may be great, but it's still not enough... and so, we have find the courage to quit.

And if you tend towards perfectionism? Then it becomes even harder. And yet? Quitting is essential to your ongoing mental health.

Thanks for reading!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190511 23:31 PST

1012

Sort:  

Nice thought. Life is an exam hall.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It is better sometimes to quit and spend your energy on what you really good for your time and value!

Quitting is hard to do. I haven't drummed in 10 years and finally gave my drums away last fall and now with new reasons, I'm getting back into it.

I think you are one of the top three photographers on Steemit.

it's hard to quit especially when you do hard for it. It's even waste to give up if you almost have it, that's why patience is a virtue. Never think of quitting when you gave your all, just slowly accept the happening's even if it displeased you. It's just part of a challenge in life.

Very interesting!
When something is not working out, then quitting can sometimes be the only available ‘best option’. But only if you can shift perspective to the ‘bigger picture’, as it can feel like a failure to someone not taking into account all the points you made.
Great post! Awesome food for thought!
Have a good one!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some good thoughts here. It can definitely be a challenge to walk away when you have put your all into something, but I would absolutely agree that quitting is often not a failure. I think it can definitely take more guts to walk away than to keep banging your head against the same wall over and over for fear of change. Though I would say personally, I'm usually more fearful of starting something because I don't like to be bad at anything, so it's tough to quit if you don't even get started. I'm working on that, though. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17