Don't Suffer In Silence Donation ---> Proof Of Payout To National Alliance on Mental Illness!

in #psychology6 years ago

Donation To NAMI


image
Source


Throughout the course of the last 50 days I was in a @freewrite contest with @mariannewest. If you do not know what that is, I highly encourage you participate in these wonderful daily prompts. Meeting knew people and creating amazing posts come out of these prompts. During one of the prompts we were given "Suffer in Silence," and I created a fundraiser for #DSIS (Don't Suffer In Silence.)

Come to find out this is a very popular term used to express surviving domestic violence, mental illness, racism, and many other issues. During the course of the prompt I created this post entitled Day 42 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest ---> DON'T Suffer In Silence Campaign!

image
Source

Within my blog I mentioned that attempted to contact the creator of #DSIS to submit a donation, but he never go back to me. Instead I found NAMI, that gives to those suffering in silence and a part of the National Alliance on Mental Illness.

image
Source

One of the main reasons fundraising for mental health was a couple of prompts that came up and is on everyone's mind lately. Depression and anxiety. We see a lot of suicide on television or may have been touched by it personally. On the reservation that I work, I found out during my first week that within one month eight people took their own life.

There are many people in this world that are suffering, angry, and feel they are alone. In a post payout for my depression fundraiser that was dedicated to my cousin Kristi I explained that it is very important to me to ensure that people are not alone. Spreading awareness and eduction is something we can all be a part of.

image
Source

I've even written about being sad at times in this poem Day 26 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest ---> Surviving Depression, as depression for some is a normal course of life events. For others it is a day to day survival and sometimes very tough to live with. This post is dedicated to those who struggle with survival on the daily.

Screen shot 2018-07-07 at 12.37.29 AM.png
Screenshot taken by @eaglespirit

Unfortunately, with Steem down quite a bit during payout this did not do so well. It looks as if the total payout was $2.05 USD, plus or minus for curation.

As promised I am sending in a donation for others to assist in the "Don't Suffer In Silence" initiative. Because the originator of #DSIS did not get back to me, I chose NAMI and this is what they say about the donations they receive:

NAMI relies on gifts and contributions to support our important work:

We educate. Offered in thousands of communities across the United States through NAMI State Organizations and NAMI Affiliates, our education programs ensure hundreds of thousands of families, individuals and educators get the support and information they need.

We advocate. NAMI shapes national public policy for people with mental illness and their families and provides volunteer leaders with the tools, resources and skills necessary to save mental health in all states.

We listen. Our toll-free NAMI HelpLine allows us to respond personally to hundreds of thousands of requests each year, providing free referral, information and support—a much-needed lifeline for many.

We lead. Public awareness events and activities, including Mental Illness Awareness Week and NAMIWalks, successfully fight stigma and encourage understanding. NAMI works with reporters on a daily basis to make sure our country understands how important mental health is.

Screen shot 2018-07-07 at 12.48.00 AM.png
Screenshot taken by @eaglespirit

The above snapshot doesn't state the amount I donated, but it was $20 USD, and how I wish it had been more. I'd rather not dwell on the negative of not much payout, but that I tried. If you would like to support this cause, just click on the link for NUMI and give today. Thank you for those that did give a full upvote, your support was greatly appreciated.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

Sort:  

Still a wonderful thing to do. I know it's harder to give to the larger organizations since you're not sure where all the funds go. NAMI does do good work in general and they national hotline has helped thousands. People are learning they aren't alone and to talk about it.

@tryskele hey thank you so very much for confirming! i am so thankful since i was not sure of what my research produced and i love knowing if the organizations are legit. thanks again!

It's a hard thing to figure out anymore which one are legit and which ones aren't. I think almost all off them have some 'big wig getting paid to much money. I have worked with a couple of other groups that have worked with NAMI. If you ask they will give you their Earnings and Spending statement. Those are good to see how much they put to use in paying personnel and how much they use towards helping.
You're very welcome : )

@tryskele yes that is for sure! thank you for the confirm again and happy hump day!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15