Choices, and why we suck in making them

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever heard of going into stress when you have to make major decisions?

That you have difficulties making choices and always also in retrospect you are also reconsidering of the other option might have been a better one?

In Dutch we call it 'keuzestress' literally translated to 'choice-stress'

The first time I heard of this was while reading a book called 'Het dertigers dilemma'


Bol.com

Literally translated this titel is 'Thirties Dilemmas' And that is exactly what I am experiencing at this moment.

It has been a long time ago since I read this book, but I remember the gist from it. One of the things the author is referring to is that back in the days, people would have a midlife crises usually after they have been running a certrain routine for a x-amount of years. They start to question themselves if this is actually the way they should continue their life until they retire.

The new crisis

The new crisis that arises is for the group in my age, and that is because we have to many options.


Pexels

The author refers to it in this way.

If you have a table with 2 snacks, you just choice the one you feel like more today. But if you have a table with 100 different pastries, all of a sudden stress comes in. Because there are so many options, what if you choose the wrong one?

And that is where it begins. Because after some years of studying, you have done your job for a certain amount of years. All jobs have some kind of 'it is the same over and over factor inside of there. That is why there is a 7 year average of when people switch of emloyer, to get new input.

So how does this apply to you, Karin?

That applies 100% on me at this moment because I am switching jobs in a new country. I am working with a buro which got me 3 different interviews last week with 3 different employers in 3 different cities.


Pexels

And then you don't know which route to take

Because this buro did an awesome job in looking for potential working spaces for me. And I am hired in all three of 3 places.

So I can choose.

And this luxury postion (because that is exactly what it is, a luxury position, I realize that all to well!) is exactly what makes it challenging. Because you have to weigh out what you find important. You look at the factors :

general vibe

good for resume

challenge

learning situation

ability to totally be yourself

money

location where you live

And you come to the conclusion that you find all of these important, but I am not sure which one I find the most important for myself. So you fall back in the mindgame again.

"But what if I choose A, will I regret that I did not choose B"

While if you are only applying for one job, you are happy with it, and you take it.

I really understand for a lot of people how complaining this sounds. Because I do realize that so many people in the world do not have the ability to choose from jobs, and that they are just happy to have one at all. I am totally aware that I am in a fortunate position, and that is why making the damn choice is even more difficult ;)


Pexels

I gave myself until tomorrow to make my decision



Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase

Sort:  

God damn, I hate most choices...

Hahahah same here. I am not good in taking them, but in retrospect... I take a damn lot of big ones actually ;)

hey @karinxxl sending you good vibes from Panama, things will be ok!

ej @el-cr miles away man!!

It will be okay, and I seem to have made a decision already also. At least I am leaning in a certain direction, so the biggest stress is already gone! I cant go wrong in this in the end, because all of the places seem super cool!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Lol. Het dertigers dilemma. We're all facing the same thing, be it in different ways ;). But God, congrats on the three job opportunities! That is simply outstanding! And all best of luck with making up your mind about what to choose!

Actually just today I was reflecting on making up my mind about things. I tend to create more dilemma's and uncertainty (fear of missing out) when I'm more tense. We went for an amazing walk at the beach today, after that I was so relaxed, I had such a clear mind about what I wanted to do. So if you were looking for any tips on how to make up your mind about this, that would be my best contribution - do something you completely enjoy and that relaxes you and takes your mind off everything. Then next you'll simply be sure of what to do. Good luck!!

Thanks so much for your input!

I talked a lot to my loved ones around me this weekend on their opinions . To see if I am not forgetting stuff in my choice, that also helps. Maybe that is this in general. FOMO on the other options. :)

But most of all: the fact that I have options is a damn blessing already!

i'm still not regretting knowing you, excellent post,yes don't stress at all. all will come once you let go...

It will be superfine in the end! By now I have balanced more stuff out and I am getting more to standing behind my decions 100%.

And always the 'what is the worst thing that can happen' is applicable to this. It cant be bad :D

The end is the goal! I always see good.

Same here. Everything on this is cool already!

I hate decisions, I'm like what if I did this. I'm so indecisive lol Upvoted :)

I have this a bit as well...I dont adapt too well to changes I will be thinking about them soooooo long!

So much to consider and it is such a blessing to have options because you can take time to review what is important to your core and even then it is a leap of faith. Praying your steps are guided to the best long term option :) God bless and thanks for sharing with us during the show!

Exactly, that is point number one. I am delighted for the fact that 3 companies want to hire me already. Big compliment for somebody who is applying in a totally different language.

The thing in the end is, I can not choose wrong, because they are all three supercool!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I believe things will work itself out. A decision might make a life miserable sometimes.

It will work out for sure! And Im super fortunate to have 3 options !

And since they are all so cool, in the end I can not go wrong :)

I prefer the kne option given than for me to be left to take a decision. I get confused and all that.

Yeah I feel ya!

Sometimes it feels comfortable to lean back and let it happen. But now I really have to actively make a decision. But it will be fine, I know it for sure! Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15