Regrets

in #psychology5 years ago (edited)

For as long as I can remember, I've been having lengthy conversations with my father regarding plenty of subjects. It would probably be accurate to describe them as debates, but not in the sense that they ever get heated or intense for that matter, but more because we often challenge each other to take a different perspective.



img src

It was probably in one of those conversations that this particular subject first came up, and as with many others, we've revisited these ideas over and over attempting to reach a polished conclusion. Of course, what I'm about to say is not true for absolutely everyone, but it is quite true for most of us, or at least this has been my experience in life.

We all embrace our biggest flops, and we do so because we must. Maybe the way we break this down can differ, but it seems like all of us learn in one way or another to accept and build off the mistakes we've made.

Most of us have experienced extremely painful situations at some point in time. Some of us have felt the full weight of bad decisions and even fell into the horrendous trap of the "why me?" a time or two. Some of us are there right now even, but if we look back to those situations, while at the same time ponder on who we are today, we can actually find gratitude, as twisted as it may sound.

In other words, a healthy mind, in my opinion, can look back at the worse experience it had to endure, accept it with humility, find forgiveness and sometimes even find wisdom. A strong will can build from the most soul crushing blows and find strength and renewed convictions, even though doing so is never quite that easy.

Here's my point when I talk about regrets, or my advice if you will.....

Have none....

but be humble enough to learn from the mistakes you've made, thats the key to moving forward.

@meno

Sort:  

This is something that I struggle with. I try not to live in the past, it takes away energy that would be best used in the now. However, I guess it's human to have a few regrets about things in the past...

I hope I have grasped that regret should be fuel, motivation to not incur again the cause of regret. Not that we should not feel we have never done wrong, but that we should learn from what we regret to not again do that wrong.

Thanks!

This is how I live as well as life itself is the best teacher and while unforgiving, it will provide the tools necessary to make adjustments accordingly!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent review @meno and I completely agree with you, our experience is a priceless assistant on our life journey!

I can see you having these conversations with many members of your family. I hope one day to do the same. My grandfather passed away a couple of years ago and I wish I spent more time picking his brain about business. Not sure disagreeing with him would have been easy or pleasant. My family is a little harder to "debate" with or without fighting challenge each others thinking. Yet, listening to his perspective would have been good.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.991 which ranks you at #325 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 322).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

It is heartwarming to think of you being able to confer with your father in this way, something I will never be able to do. I am glad you can, my friend. Cherish even the foibles and flaws of your father, for it is those that makes him the man from which you spring. I have just had a visit with one of my sons, who is now 25, and I manage to hold my advice in check with but difficulty, having to realize he can only learn by doing what I have learned in that way myself.

It is enough for me to look back on my life, and recognize what a better man than I he is today than was I back in the day. Particularly in his prudence and financial discipline, as I had none, nor got any until he was almost born. Hell, I have little enough today =p

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27