Robots in 80% of homes in 20 years

in #psychology5 years ago (edited)

5xba41352n.jpg
Source

It is predicted in 20 years 80% of homes will have at least one robot in their home. According to Brenda Lauel vitual reality's first theorist and one of its inventors.

Hassan says the robot will probably be the price of a refrigerator. Scott Hassan is co-author of the code for Google’s search engine.

I think robots will be a help for me with housework and carrying heavy items. Maybe working on my car. Other than that I really am happier chatting on the computer. I mean with people. lol

As far as a robot as a companion forget that. People are better. I watched only part of the movie "Her" the other day. Remember the movie starring Joaquin Phoenix and directed by Spike Jonze?

It seemed like he was on the phone we have come so far with technology.

926c5ak3pe.jpg

The movie is about a man after a divorce who forms a relationship with Samantha, an intelligent computer operating system, personalized by a female voice.

At the time it came out in in 2015 I liked it. Now it seems like him and a phone conversation. I guess we do need to get to 3 D world with a robot. Besides when I hear Samantha's voice I recognize it being Scarlett Johansson.

The one thing I do enjoy and it frees me on a daily basis is the GPS on my phone. I say home and off I go. I set it to have a British accent, only now it doesn't say the street names. Not sure why, it only says directions, like north or take a right.

If enough people keep getting medicated in the world we'll be the robots. The stresses are driving a lot to needing the drugs.

That is why I came up with the saying:
qgio7r28hi.png

Hey, maybe I can get a robot to give me my meds. They had those in the hospital years ago. Only I trust people more we can sue them.

In the end I pick humans.


Sources:
Smithsonian
The film "Her"
cpaunhwb3o.png

Thanks for visiting,
@rebeccabe 🙏
Upvote, comment, and resteem

This post created using #esteem by @good-karma


Be sure and check out in discord:

#steemitbloggers
#steemusa
#teamgood


jyi1yr7rjv.png
created by @jaynie


z5gziwnazb.gif

created by @malos10

Sort:  

I find the navigation easier without the street names, but I guess everyone has their own preferences...

My kids are completely comfortable with Alexa, and they will often just "chat" with her and wish her a good night and sweet dreams... which is a little strange, but I guess that means that they are attaching some sort of familiarity with it?

On the "dumb" robot side, we have a robot vacuum cleaner which my wife initially thought was the dumbest idea ever... now she loves it!

... however, in the end, for a companion... I think I would still choose human, despite all the unpredictability!

Hey, I am with you. The chatting is not so bad as the ease dropping done by my phone. Sometimes it is uncanny. It is true your children will be conditioned that it is not strange to talk to a computer, as we all are.

@rebeccabe yeah!! nothing can replace the human touch, especially a warm hug 😊😊

With love by a fellow #steemitbloggers

@joyelim thanks for the wonderful true comment.
Hugs are touch make life happier.

Wow in 20 years! I wouldn’t trust them. Every since I watched that movie “irobot” I’ve been freaked out about the idea lol. I know it was just a movie but still :D

I have never seen the movie “Her”. I want to check it out now.

I love the GPS on my phone too!

Hey, Crosheille I agree I saw "I Robot" with Will Smith and really like that movie. The other movie, "Her", well it was not as good. I think because when I first saw it seemed incredible to look at an evolving artificial intelligence. Now I know the story and plus and am used to the idea.

Let's coordinate our GPS and meet up. LOL :) @crosheille

That makes sense. I still think I will check it out though.

LOL! Yes that’s a great idea! Let’s do it! 😄

Hi @rebeccabe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.280 which ranks you at #2621 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 2612).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

I don't know about 20 years - but I will say the true threat to humanity is AI. Robots will never totally replace humans but it will take over several repetitive jobs / tasks. Once it becomes self aware - it's a wrap jack!

Have a nice weekend!

Same to you@mikeycolon ... Have a fun weekend. :)
Self aware ..OMG
I like the saying "it's a wrap jack" .. photography saying

Robots are akready replacing humans. In China they havd robotic waiters and ordering kiosks already

agreed.. we have kiosks here with a choice when ordering at Panera's Bread. It is quicker.
People are always in a hurry. The waiters are still human where I live in Nebraska.
Robots do not have feelings for people and their programs are set. I would much better deal with a human. :) thanks for taking time to comment :)

Did you ever watch the black mirror episode "Be right Back" . Its about a grieving widow who clones her dead husband and he arrives in the post. Great episode. Very chilling actually. I highly recommend it.

@blanchy I saw it and yes it is chilling... :) That is a good one to bring up with this post. Wished I would have thought of it before.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

That place we stayed at in NY this last time had Alexa (Amazon's smart speaker). Although I'm not ready to own one yet but have to say, the convenience and intelligence of it was impressive. It was so much more advanced than Apple's Siri. There was virtually zero time lag between your question/request and its response. I see humanity integrating much more of this kind of thing into our daily lives. It's going to be like an entire synthetic servant class. P.S. I really enjoyed "Her". We're not far away from that reality...the tech is growing exponentially.

@ericvancewalton
I really enjoyed "Her" the first time. That is why I got it to watch again. I guess I know too much about the movie now. I don't have an Alexa but could see the convenience. I do google lots of questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88