How does racism effect your life

Im a lucky guy i guess. I am a white man from Norway whit some russian genes.

A-world-without-racism-.jpg

My grandfather from Russia was prisoned in Gulag and was later forced to fight with the Red Army in Finland. He was shot by russian officers and abused by them. He then got the chance to flew to Norway where he met my grandmother.

gulag.jpg

My grandmother had a son from before with a German Nazi soldier. She hade to move to a working-camp after the war because woman with german kids was not popular after the war. They called them German-sluts actuallt.

But luckily she was a strong wonab and never conplainef and denied to me she had any problems because of this. But i guess it was hars for her.

80693196.jpg

I habe never felt racism on my body except when i lived in Denmark people refered to me as the "norwegian mountain monkey"
I dident like it. Abd was a bit hurt sometimes bjt i geuss it is nowhere as hard it is for example african guy to be named nigger in a hatefull way.

I am cery curious about religion, racism and hoe people treat others and themself.

Therefor i wsnt to hear from you guys how racism has effectet your life.

I think almost every people in this planet is a bit racist.

Ny girlfriend is from Chile and her brother is very racist agianst norwegians. I guess some of his problem is a complex that he is not good enough. So he have to make himself better than Norwegians.

I have alot of friends from different countries. Some of them are very funny and make fun of the heritage. But i also have some friends that are really hurt by racism. I have a half norwegian/ half Eritrerian friend and he often feels he dont belong with aficans because he is to pale, and dont belong with norwegians because he is to dark.

noracism.jpg

Please tell me how this effect you, and how people should treat you.

I met a guy in the hospital. Obvious he was African, but i dont feel like the first thing tp ask is where somebody comes from. It think it is a bit rude. He heard he spoke with a swedish accent, and i have lived in Sweden so i asked him where in Sweden he did come from. And he just laughed "nobody has ever asked me that before".
But i think it was nice. I could see he was african and sooner or later he would tell me where he came from, so why make a unplasant sitouation and ask what country he came from. Nobody ask me that. And we became good frienda.

When everybody else asked him where he came from i acutally could feel his pain/emberaasment. He dident wanted to be lookef upon as just some african guy.

Okay. I will not write anymore. Hope to hear from you. I upvote all comments with about 0.12sbd.

Sort:  

People are racists; they look at your religion, skin color, gender, and not at your skills, talents, competence and personality. I think it is a sign of mental immaturity; I do face racism, but never cared about it; I am proud of myself, and don't bother about what people think about me. I think, if you have a sense of accomplishment you are not affected by racism.

Maybe. But i really understanf it can be hurtfull for some people.

Lets say yiu from syria. You have literally walked throug the whole europe. And you want to settle down and cant go home because you stood up agains terrorist in your home country. Yiur family has been killed in front of you.

You then live in nlrway anf want a happy life and somebody calls you a fucking muslim terrorist. I would have been hurt.

The vest thing is to not care. But i understanf it can be difficult.

Thanks for your reply. Have a great day.

Yes, you are right; it hurts.
I am from scientific background, researcher in a university, and people in academics do not express racism, so my experiences are different. I know if you constantly face racism, it will be difficult to ignore and say 'I don't care'.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

habe never felt racism on my body except when i lived in Denmark people refered to me as the "norwegian mountain monkey" .
It should be referred instead of refered.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94