Let Your Truth Consume Your Pain

in #psychology6 years ago

A student just sent me this image, and even though the humor is dark, I had to laugh. I am always telling people to write stuff and burn it. This student was no exception. And since I specialize in writing through trauma for release and recovery, the context of this gave me a good chuckle.

We all feel this way sometimes: angry and over it. Ready for the people who’ve hurt us to be gone for good. But putting harm out into the world doesn’t solve the problem. Putting the truth out there does.

So, even if you’re not up for a public confessional of grief, write your story and release those words into the fire. Write to destroy—not those who have harmed you, but any pain you are carrying.

The student who sent me this has done so. I hope you do too.

Xoxo,

Shawna

Sort:  

The various perspectives that students bring is why I love education! The study of people and how/why the do what they do is why I love psychology! Great post!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I burned notebooks full of letters and journaling through trauma. I can't say that I'm happy I burned them, but I've always felt better for writing things out. To this day that's how I deal with trauma, anger and depression. It helps so much.

So is there any psychological or mental health benefit of writing your pain down ad burning. Is doing so going to necessarily quell your pains and hurts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80