Mindfulness Monday - Monday, Monday

in #psychology6 years ago

Mindfulness Mondays.jpeg monday-1270366_640.jpg

line-png-16818.png

It's MONDAY!!! I just felt the 'collective' groan. After so many years in so many different types of jobs, I think I only had 1 where I was off on weekends. Actually, I have honestly only had 1 job where I have had weekends off. So to me Monday is just a day.

We get worked up over this one day. We whine, some actually cry in general (sorry guys) we act like kids. Our mindset on what we do is one of the most important parts of taking care of ourselves. So why do we put ourselves through the turmoil 'UGH it's Monday!" When you start any day with a negative thought, you are creating a breeding ground for more negative thoughts. 'It was a crappy day. That's what we get for a Monday.' Something goes wrong..."It's a Monday what did you expect?' Why torture ourselves?

Does this fall into mindfulness thinking? Nope not one bit. Is it the now? Is it in the moment? Nope. It is a cycle of negative thoughts that started once you had that thought 'Ugh, it's Monday' Mondays aren't a disease, it's just a day of the week, no different from any other day of the week. So again, why do we do this to ourselves? Does it really matter when it's Tuesday or Thursday? Nope. The only reason it seem to matter on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, is because it's the end of the week and we're free for 2 days. But are we? How many weekends do you spend doing the chores you didn't get to because you have been busy? How many chores did you get to because, you had a hard week and you deserve a break? Since we end up working twice as hard as on a weekend than during the week, why do we dread a Monday?

U5dsqG2oXHF4dMhEUj3NXahaj5euBwV_1680x8400.png

It's all perception. We've been conditioned. School taught us that, you work during the week and get to play on the weekends. We try so hard to hold on to that mentality as we get older, only to realize life doesn't work that way. So we get sad, depressed and beat up on ourselves, because we no longer have 'weekends.' For a long time my days off were split up. I didn't have a 'weekend' There are quite a few people that live this way and perfectly fine with it. Why? Because they realize it's the time off that matters, not the day of the week it falls on. My current schedule, I work graveyards 10pm to 6am. When I get off, I am like everyone else I need some time to wind down. Oddly though with this schedule, your wind down time eats into your sleep time. It's as though time works differently when it comes to graveyards. It really doesn't, but it feels like it.

U5dsqG2oXHF4dMhEUj3NXahaj5euBwV_1680x8400.png

In order for us to live less stressful lives, we need to look for and identify what stresses us. Today one of those is Monday. In order to live a less stressful life that is where mindfulness comes in. We choose how we're going to react. We choose what is going to upset us. When we need to chose to take a breath, say ok it's Monday, big deal and do what you need to do. Dreading Mondays or any day of the week for that matter is not a good way to treat ourselves. Each day is different. Each moment is different and we need to work on seeing that. Accept the negative thought (you thought it, you can't take it back.) Take a deep breath tell yourself it's done and keep moving forward. The more you do this the easier it gets. Starting off with a Monday is an easy task. It's when a situation arises when you get angry or beat up on yourself this becomes harder to do. Once you start to get the hang of this, then start to work it into other areas.

SO ..... Happy Monday and remember, be good to yourself and be mindful.

line-png-16818.png

manna banner.jpg
Want to earn universal basic income (UBI) ?

nrd_banner.png
Newbie Resteem Day

sgg_footers7.png
SGG - Steemit Greeters Guild

Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers

sig.jpg

Sort:  

Oh crap is it really monday. I thought it was Sunday . Now my day is ruined . I am going back to bed then it will be tuesday . Yea !

HAHAHAHAHAH

hahaha!!! :D

@sams-world congratulation on your curie vote👍

thank you! i learned something yesterday: sometimes life's gifts come in unexpected ways :)

if we get out of our own way life will teach us lessons

Sorry to hear that this post ruined your day @wolfhart, lol. I loved your post @tryskele - I had to learn last week to take better care of myself. will take super care this week to find a healthy balance..
have a good start :)
sam

I know that darned @wolfhart who does he think he is LOL

Thank you @sams-world, I actually lost my temper last night at work so yeah I had to step away and regroup. I think that's been the hardest thing to me is to not be so reactionary. I have to remember to take that moment before I react. You'll find your balance. You've got a great start from what I can tell.

Yes, you know sometimes I believe, it's always a bit of a game in life. We are balanced, get lazy again, wake up again... and learn along the way. I'm so glad, for your sharings. I can see myself a lot in it!!

Nice post. It's important to be honest with ourselves and check in with our inners - know them. I've been finding my saturation level is much more vulnerable these days - some days I have to really push myself to slow down and find destressing outlets (recharge time).

Thank you @youhavewings. You're absolutely right. I am guilty of trying to 'bury' myself. It's more of the fact, I try to keep my brain so busy I don't think. Idle time for me knocks me back a few steps, as I get better of seeing what I'm doing, it is getting easier to just that that moment or even a few hours to recharge.

I'm really loving your mindfulness Monday posts! It is so true that our perspective is what creates the negativity surrounding it. The working week hasn't helped so it really is important to change our minds on how we see the day. :-) xx

Thank you :) I'm glad people are starting to look at it and like it. I did forget to put the links in to previous weeks. I think I'll try to get that done when I get up later. A little over tired right now :)

If you have suggestions or anything just say so. A lot of it comes from my writing from my experiences, I sometimes get stumped on what to cover.

It's really good. I've only seen a couple though so I'll keep a look out in future 😊😊💖

Another great mindfulness Monday post. I have experienced working graveyard shift hours but only a couple of nights. It really messed me up! Never been so tired (until motherhood lol!). Thank you for your post x

Having been through both...I'm thinking this is worse. At least when I became a mom I slept when they slept. Now it feels like all I do is sleep LOL.

You are always welcome :)

I agree, we've been conditioned to groan at Mondays. They're just day, hours, moments... all to be seen for what they bring us.

Also, it's really helpful when we release ourselves from that 9 to 5, Monday to Friday workday world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76