Even More Ways to Deal With Burnout

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Burnout.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Have you read this post about a tool that boosts your productivity in a matter of seconds? Some of us tested it and can happily say it really does work.

(This is a post by @Vesnapv and she will receive 50% of the total payout automatically after 7 days. I do not agree with everything in this post and especially not with the video, however, there are a lot of gems in this post and I will leave it as it is to let Vesnapv her character shine through. Just because I do not agree with 1-2 things does not mean that I think that she is stupid or that the post is bad, it is overall a very solid post.)

But, there's a flip side to every coin.
If you start chasing massive goals using tricks and hacks for super productivity to the point of complete exhaustion, overwhelm, and burnout - instead of moving step by step forward, you might freefall and crash 10 steps behind.

Worst of all, a crash like this happens fast and when it does it will most likely severely threaten your mental, physical and emotional wellbeing.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

The Litmus Test

Everybody's stressed these days, right? High achievers even consider it to be a good thing, something that fuels them. Drives them to the max.

Well, stress and adrenalin do have a purpose in our lives. In the past, they protected us from lions and tigers and bears. You know how it goes.

When you're in danger of being attacked by a wild animal your body starts functioning in a way that almost all of your energy becomes focused into either defending yourself, running away, or staying hidden. Officially, this is called fight or flight or freeze behaviour.

Even though everyday challenges we face no longer include lion attacks, the body still reacts the same to stressful situations. Problems occur when the levels of stress you are experiencing are extremely high and chronically present.

How can you tell if you're just a little bit stressed out, or completely burned out?
There's a pretty accurate predictor actually. It may seem completely weird at first, but hear me out.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

That Thing That Drives you Crazy

Here's what a man officially known as the most spiritually influential person in the world says…

When someone goes to the doctor and says, "I hear a voice in my head," he or she will most likely be sent to a psychiatrist. The fact is that, in a very similar way,
virtually everyone hears a voice, or several voices, in their head all the time: the involuntary thought processes that you don't realize you have the power to stop.

by Eckhart Tolle in The Power of Now, A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment

He's right. We all hear involuntary and compulsive thought in our minds.
Eckhart even goes as far as to call us all addicted to thinking. If we are being haunted and tortured by thoughts we don't really want to think but can't stop, how is that different than any other addiction?

Why do I mention compulsive thinking that torments us? Because those are a clear sign of extreme and chronic stress. Especially the critical and judgmental thoughts.

 
The moment you catch yourself constantly criticising and judging others and yourself, you can be sure the level of stress you're experiencing is actively and directly endangering your wellbeing.

That's the moment to look for help and solutions. You're health, maybe even your life depends on it.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

There Is a Way Out

Stressors in your life lead to detrimental compulsive thoughts. Those thoughts lead to more stress. It's a vicious circle. But there is a way out.

The practice of observing your thoughts and quieting your mind is called meditation. There are endless ways you can practice this. My personal favorite is transcendental meditation.

However it's not uncommon that those who would benefit the most from meditating say they can't bring themselves to sit still, calm down and meditate.

inner peace cat.jpg

That's because the gap between a mind full of critical compulsive thoughts and a quiet mind with hardly any thoughts at all is simply too big.

If you have the same problem, and you'd rather be stuck in trafic on your way to in-laws with an empty tank and screaming kids on the back seat, then you would meditate - than try this instead.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Bridge the Gap Between Burnout and Zen

Emotional Freedom Technique, also known as Tapping, is a very simple practice to learn and use for dealing with and releasing chronic pain, emotional problems, disorders, addictions, phobias, post traumatic stress disorder, and physical diseases.

But, one of it’s biggest benefits is scientifically proven significant lowering of the so called stress hormone, cortisol.

In a study performed by Dr. Dawson Church, PhD and Dr. David Feinstein, PhD, participants that practiced Tapping for one hour showed a 24% decrease in cortisol. In other words, their stress level was measurably, not just subjectively, lower by 24%!

AS far as I know, EFT is the most efficient way to help you with burnout and owerwhelm.
You don’t even need to wear white, chant at the full Moon or keep your legs stuck in a lotus position on top of a mountain ;)

Let me know how it goes!
signature.png
V9 Separator (No Logo).png

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

My ultimate goal as a Steem Witness is to improve the quality on many Steem based platforms and to maintain the Steem blockchain.

If you value what I do I would be happy if you would vote for me at the bottom of the Witness voting page. Simply scroll down, enter "valorforfreedom" click on vote and that's it. If I am in the top 50 you can also just vote for me there.

You can also vote for me by clicking on the picture below with my account name in it. Afterwards you simply have to log in with Steemconnect and I will receive your vote.


V9 Separator (No Logo).png

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Stats.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Sort:  

When I had burnout, I quit my job; it was not possible at all to work there, and there was a reason of the burnout: I did not like the job. Though, it was a research position (as I am scientific researcher), but the topic was not of my interest. I think, you can be successful at doing something, and with less chances of burnout, if you do the thing you like, or you are interested in.

@mkam It did take me 2 deadly accidents at work just to realize. It is not worth killing your self for a just bit better money and for something that you do not want to do.

Totally agree @soulkast
If the money rather bring you stress and worries, then it's of no use.

@mkam exactly. In this case, I am sure that I am not the only one with does problems.
Around 20years ago, a friend with whom I talked about the stress kept in me. She told me that it is very unhealthy. But as I was young, I did not understand it. And as most adult people I did disregarded signs and words. Until there was another accident at work where the ambulance came for me.
So I did learn. If you want to help others. Start with yourself first. Because if you can not help yourself, how do you want to help others? So I did learn, no I just have to obey my own commitment, rules ;)

That's scary, @soulast... 2 accidents!!!

@vesnapv - the worst part of it is that after a year. When I did find a lighter job. The third accident occurred. I did have neurosis attack.............. and once again I did quit. Life can be short, don't waste it.

Good decision & absolutely agree with what you say.

It takes courage to be honest with yourself and do what's in your best interest, even if it means stepping out of comfort.
I'm glad to hear you left that environment, and it seems you are happy now, @mkam.

P.s. I was in the same position, and remember how liberating it felt! Even thought I had to look for another job, getting out was priceless!

Stick to what you are good at!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85