Superior Quotes #38: Fyodor Dostoyevsky

in #q5 years ago

SOURCE

People talk sometimes of a bestial cruelty, but that's a great injustice and insult to the beasts; a beast can never be so cruel as a man, so artistically cruel. The tiger only tears and gnaws, that's all he can do. He would never think of nailing people by the ears, even if he were able to do it.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky


RESOURCE


Found below in my comments to this post are more quotes by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

Feel free to vote up the quotes in the comments that you like the most. Vote them all up if you like them equally :)

123456789
Sort:  

It is clear to me now that, owing to my unbounded vanity and to the high standard I set for myself, I often looked at myself with furious discontent, which verged on loathing, and so I inwardly attributed the same feeling to everyone.

How good life is when one does something good and just!

I am too young and I've loved you too much.

The most monstrous monster is the monster with noble feelings

If he's alive he has everything in his power! Whose fault is it he doesn't understand that

Men are made for happiness, and he who is completely happy has the right to say to himself, 'I am doing God's will on earth.

It seems, in fact, as though the second half of a man's life is made up of nothing, but the habits he has accumulated during the first half.

He walked on without resting. He had a terrible longing for some distraction, but he did not know what to do, what to attempt. A new overwhelming sensation was gaining more and more mastery over him every moment; this was an immeasurable, almost physical, repulsion for everything surrounding him, an obstinate, malignant feeling of hatred. All who met him were loathsome to him - he loathed their faces, their movements, their gestures. If anyone had addressed him, he felt that he might have spat at him or bitten him...

The formula ‘two and two make five’ is not without its attractions.

you don't need free will to determine that twice two is four. that's not what i call free will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11