Maybe the spark of outrage is deserved, but maybe not. But why the grayed out comments?

in #question6 years ago (edited)

I was introduced to the @MattMonarch controversy by @shenanigator's recent post.

I do not want to address the validity of what @MattMonarch did (or did not do), but rather his ability to defend himself on his own posts.

Why is a content creator's comments grayed out on his own post?

I am a bit concerned about what I noticed.

@MattMonarch has a high reputation level (60). I fully admit that a reputation score can be manipulated by votes from bidbots, but it can also be grown organically. Normally someone's ability to comment is hindered when he or she has an extremely low reputation level, say 10 or less.

My question is still the same, "Why is a content creator's comments grayed out on his or her own post?"

This hinders the content creator's ability to ...

  • respond to questions
  • defend his or her positions
  • promote his or her services/products

Does anyone have an answer?

I am curious if anyone has a definitive answer. If not, I would like to hear your thoughts about graying out someone's comments on their own posts (not just the post in question but other posts as well).

@SumatraNate

The screenshot included in this post was taken from @MattMonarch's Steem Blog.
https://steemit.com/rawfood/@mattmonarch/sunflower-lecithin-recipes

Sort:  

Some big accounts are calling Matt a scammer, and I think they are reacting to his buying his way to the top of the trending page...as if most people don't do that through circle jerks and bidbots...Gray.jpeg

wallet.jpeg

Check out the flag; it shows a negative vote.

This is how the big guys use their stake for evil or good...there is a new player on the field, and all the good'ole boys are having a pissing contest.

It is a strange event. He does not appear to be using the system and any more than what other people have done. The hard part is that he is not technically breaking any rules, but the "will of the people" (or at least some power users) is coming down hard.

I don't like how his comments are being made less visible on his posts. I can see (maybe???) how this is justifiable so that people do not spam other peoples' post. Is there something in the system that made this happen? If this is not a system issue, did someone intentionally do this? Either way, I am a bit concerned.

sifat dasar manusia memang berbeda-beda antara satu dengan yang lain, kita hanya bisa berbesar hati, dan bersyukur kita tidak seperti mereka :))

mungkin bagi seseorang menghindar adalah jalan terbaik dari pada menjawab secara tegas, menurut saya reputasi tidak mempengaruhi cara berfikir seseorang, karena reputasi bisa didapatkan dengan cara membeli vote.

Friend, Gives you lots of greetings. Because you have bee n steemit for one year. Happy one year anniversary day.
Friend, some of your SP dropped short Please tell me this. Why is this reduced?

I don't understand your question. Can you please ask again?

This may be the answer. I have 1,805.703 STEEM Power. But I have delegated 554.823 STEEM to another account.

thank you for telling. How can I transfer it from account to second account?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10