Super Quotes #88 : Fyodor Dostoyevsky

in #quotables5 years ago (edited)

SOURCE

Those innocent eyes cut my soul like a razor...however, in a depraved man this, too, might be only a sensual attraction.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky


RESOURCE


Found below in my comments to this post are more quotes by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

Feel free to vote up the quotes in the comments that you like the most. Vote them all up if you like them equally :)

123456789
Sort:  

In every man, of course, a demon lies hidden-the demon of rage, the demon of lustful heat at the screams of the tortured victim, the demon of lawlessness let off the chain

Oh, how awful is truth on earth! That exquisite creature, that gentle spirit, that heaven - she was a tyrant, she was the insufferable tyrant and torture of my soul!

I should be unfair to myself if I didn't say so! You imagine I didn't love her? Who can say that I did not love her! Do you see, it was a case of irony, the malignant irony of fate and nature! We were under a curse, the life of men in general is under a curse! (mine in particular).

Of course, I understand now that I made some mistake! Something went wrong. Everything was clear, my plan was clear as daylight: "Austere and proud, asking for no moral comfort, but suffering in silence."

And that was how it was. I was not lying, I was not lying! "She will see for herself, later on, that it was heroic, only that she had not known how to see it, and when, some day, she divines, it she will prize me ten times more and will abase herself in the dust and fold her hands in homage" - that was my plan.

But I forgot something or lost sight of it. There was something I failed to manage. But, enough, enough! And whose forgiveness am I to ask now?

What is done is done. By bolder, man, and have some pride! It is not your fault!

Well, I will tell the truth, I am not afraid to face the truth; it was her fault, her fault!

Well, yes, yes, to be enslaved to you is a pleasure. There is, there is pleasure in the ultimate degree of humiliation and insignificance!" I went on raving.

"Devil knows, maybe there is in the knout, too, when the knout comes down on your back and tears your flesh to pieces...But maybe I want to try other pleasures as well.”

1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81