Nice Quotes #132: Fyodor Dostoyevsky

in #quotes6 years ago

SOURCE

آری, انسان زندگانی دشواری دارد. من تصور می کنم بهترین تعریفی که می توان ز انسان کرد این است:"انسان عبارتست از موجودی که به همه چیز عادت می کند.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky


RESOURCE


Found below in my comments to this post are more quotes by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

Feel free to vote up the quotes in the comments that you like the most. Vote them all up if you like them equally :)

Sort:  

Fathers and teachers, I ponder, "What is hell?" I maintain that it is the suffering of being unable to love.

I admit that twice two makes four is an excellent thing, but if we are to give everything its due, twice two makes five is sometimes a very charming thing too.

إن الحقيقة الصادقة دائما تكون غير قابلة أن تصدق، فإن شئت أن تجعل الحقيقة قابلة أن تصدق عليك أن تضيف إليها شيئا من الكذب

You will see great sorrow, and in that sorrow you will be happy. This is my last message to you: in sorrow seek happiness. Work, work unceasingly. Remember my words, for although I shall talk with you again, not only my days but my hours are numbered.

If I had had the power to prevent my own birth I should certainly never have consented to accept existence under such ridiculous conditions.

ثم إنك تعوزك البساطة.. إنك تنتقد، تُسرف في التفكير ..رأسك هو وحده الذي يعمل !! وإن كبريائك قوية، ولكنك لا تجرؤ على تحقيق شئ

يُخيَّلُ إليَّ أنَّ الإنسان، حينَ يداهمهُ هلاكٌ لا سبيلَ إلى تحاشيه، كانهيارِ منزلٍ فوقه مثلاً، إنما يشعرُ عندئذٍ برغبةٍ لا تقاومُ في أن يقعدَ مغمضًا عينيه، وليحدث ما يحدث!

But you are a great sinner, that's true," he added almost solemnly, and your worst sin is that you have destroyed and betrayed yourself for nothing.

You think it’s because they’re lying? Nonsense! I like it when people lie! Lying is man’s only privilege over all other organisms. If you lie--you get to the truth! Lying is what makes me a man. Not one truth has ever been reached without first lying fourteen times or so, maybe a hundred and fourteen, and that’s honorable in its way; well, but we can’t even lie with our own minds! Lie to me, but in your own way, and I’ll kiss you for it. Lying in one’s own way is almost better than telling the truth in someone else’s way; in the first case you’re a man, and in the second—no better than a bird! The truth won’t go away, but life can be nailed shut; there are examples. Well, so where are we all now? With regard to science, development, thought, invention, ideals, aspirations, liberalism, reason, experience, and everything, everything, everything, we’re all, without exception, still sitting in the first grade! We like getting by on other people’s reason--we’ve acquired a taste for it! Right? Am I right?

I drink because I wish to multiply my sufferings.

10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83