A Pier Crumbles And A New One Is Built - A PhotoFriday Entry

in #qurator5 years ago (edited)

pasw_08_2016_ph069_s.jpg

And that is the way life goes, as well. Not only with piers and other corroding structures. All that crumbles is of special interest to me as a photographer of the school that cares about things that change. The passing of time. Archiving the present. And so on...

This structure at guess which cape I have already hinted about many months ago in my

Tiulenovo

article.

Shabla Pier 2012 A s.jpg

Here is another view made in 2012. And this one, too...

Shabla Pier 2012 C s.jpg

The only one capturing the length of it from the south side, by the way.

Later, when I returned to the same region year after year, I tried taking various approaches and I photographed the structure from below, too.

Rusty Pier Falling s.jpg

Under Rusted Pier A s.jpg

Under Rusted Pier B s.jpg

Photos from 2013.

Then, next year, meeting the sunrise...

Shabla Pier 2014 A.jpg

Shabla Pier 2014 B.jpg

of a 2014 summer.

Also from the south side but close ups of the most distant point.

Then, after a pause in 2015 when I made no special photographs of the location, I returned in 2016 to find a new construction started from the shore, creeping towards the old one which was significantly reduced. It was then that I realized I would not be able to make attempts again and again to find excellent light conditions and points of view. The most interesting to me pillars were in the past. I could only shoot what is there and the process of it disappearing and being replaced.

pasw_08_2016_ph070_s.jpg

To take those I had to climb where the crane and the other construction machinery was.

Shabla Pier 2016 A s.jpg

Some other photos not that relevant to the topic were made and they will probably appear on my blog at some point.

Getting out of there I went the easy way and not the way I had climbed from the seashore before sunrise. And I appeared to be on a construction site where I shouldn't be. But I'm a photographer and although now I shouldn't be according to some, I hope time will tell... That I have been where my work needed me to be at this point. Capturing the moments that will not be again.

Same place, same year, but another angle at what still remains...

pasw_08_2016_ph035_s.jpg

And during a visit in 2017 I had the pier as a background detail somewhere behind the main view...

Nos_Shabla_30_06_2017_ph01_s.jpg

The new section already built.

So...I guess that was the Old Pier and those were the photos we had together.

This series is also an entry for the PhotoFriday weekly challenge by @qurator.

I hope you enjoyed the views!

Good luck and have fun!

Yours,

Manol

Sort:  

Thank you manoldonchev! You've just received an upvote of 40% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Awesome photos! Very intriguing. Seeing old stuff like that makes me wonder about it's past. I wonder how many people walked out on that pier over the many years.

Thanks. That was my thought the first time I saw it but that was still recently - 2009 or something. Fenced off already. So I never saw people walking on the old pier. Only me on the construction of the new one one morning.

Whatever is crumbling in my life can be rebuilt. Beautiful shots

Posted using Partiko iOS

A nice thought, right?

Such great shots as always! I love all of the different perspectives you shared. It's wonderful how the same place can have so many angles to take advantage of. Sad that you won't be able to chronicle from year to year the old pier, but perhaps many new memories will be made with the new!

Maybe and that's still in construction. So there's time for future there :)

Nice Photo Reportage!!! Love old shit ;)

Yeah, pity it becomes new from time to time ;)

What a great spot to take photos! Love it !

Me too. Did you see the link to my old article? It's 3-4 km from there only. The region is wonderful for many reasons.

Yes I just did, absoluteley love this place. I would love to see it on my own one day. Great pics btw!

I'd love to show you around some day.

And thanks :)

So cool that you have captured the life of this pier with it's many changes - such beautiful photos too!
That second image you showed at water level, gave the impression of a great flood, the way the water seems to streak forward! Were you on your belly to capture that angle?
Thanks for sharing!

Oh my, there are some incredible pictures here, @manoldonchev. In particular, I love the sunrise over the dock. Those are incredible. Also the misty ones, like the last one. There are too many great ones to list them all!

Great going back in time to see the old, sadly the new never quite fits the detail of the old rustic feel, last photograph with lighthouse makes a brilliant setting.

In life we constantly having to build new bridges to cope with change Manol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94