More Farmers Market Love {Root Veggie Breakfast Bake for Tasty Tuesday}

in #qurator5 years ago

Hello my friends! I've been a little busy with our family birthday season getting into full swing, so a lot of my meal prepping has been sticking with basic classics that are easy and quick to prepare. The only downside to that is it doesn't give me as much motivation to post since I don't want to bore you with the same food all of the time. However, I got a chance yesterday after getting excited by all of the #fruitsandveggiesmonday entries to get in the kitchen to make something different myself--a delicious veggie-packed breakfast bake!

IMG_20190212_084920732.jpg

My love affair with the farmers market continues, so of course I brought home a solid haul this past weekend. Since I can't seem to edit my purchases (I mean, I am supporting the local farmers...), I am constantly trying to find some great ways to use a ton of veggies in one dish. @dksart and I do a really good job of not wasting anything regardless, but it's still great to try to use everything when it is fresh. Unless we had grown it ourselves, it doesn't get much fresher than this...

IMG_20190209_093111685.jpg

My pal @puravidaville got me hooked on rutabagas. Since she doesn't have access to any in her tropical paradise (yeah, I don't feel that bad for you girl 😉), I figured I might as well eat her share as well as mine. One of my favorite farmers pretty much always has sweet potatoes, so I decided the two root veggies would make a fantastic hash-type casserole. Brussels, onion and chopped greens rounded out the veggie party to create this dish. I've said before I'm always looking for ways to load up on vegetables early in the day, so this fits the bill big time!

IMG_20190211_150659825.jpg

Besides the fact that this came out totally fantastic, the food processor totally did the work for me. With the exception of the greens, everything else got run through to get shredded without much effort on my part. Better to save my energy for my new-found consistent running routine. 😉 I didn't use anything to bind it, so even after baking it doesn't hold together like some traditional casseroles. We definitely didn't mind because the flavor is completely on point. I may make some of my black bean flour muffins to totally knock all my macronutrient needs out of the park tomorrow morning at breakfast.

IMG_20190212_084844776.jpg

Root Veggie Breakfast Bake

Makes approximately 8 servings

  • 1 large sweet potato, cleaned & shredded
  • 1 medium rutabaga, cleaned, peeled & shredded
  • 1 small yellow onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1 pound Brussels sprouts, trimmed & shredded
  • 4 cups roughly chopped leafy greens (I used a mix of chard & tat soi)
  • 1 cup unsweetened cashew milk
  • 2 tablespoons spicy brown mustard
  • 2 heaping tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon roasted garlic powder (or regular garlic powder)
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne (optional)
  • avocado for serving

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly oil a 9 x 12-inch casserole dish.

Prepare all of your vegetables, then incorporate together into a big bowl. Separately, combine the cashew milk and remaining ingredients (up to the avocado). Mix the sauce well then pour into the vegetable mixture and stir together to get everything lightly coated.

Spoon out the vegetable mixture into your prepared dish. Place in the oven then cook for about 40-45 minutes, or until the top starts to brown.

Remove from heat, then let cool slightly before serving. Slice up some avocado for a dose of healthy fat and creamy texture to add to each bite! Great for a big brunch crowd, or like I do for breakfast all week. You could easily use this as a side dish instead of breakfast, too.

IMG_20190212_084633193.jpg

I'll add this one to the #tastytuesday lineup by @qurator since I haven't joined in on that fun challenge in a while! @goldendawne was awesome enough to feature an interview with me about my recent cookbook in the latest Talk of the Town feature, so I am very grateful for the fantastic community support that @qurator gives out!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

This looks like a lovely inspiration meal, Katie! I wouldn't have it for breakfast as I stick with my smoothies every day of the year (yes, everyday :D even when I travel as I'm not happy if I don't have my smoothie in the morning) but I can totally imagine eating it for lunch or dinner..

It is kind of my meal.. comfort food from the oven :) it can't get any better than this :) Those who know me know that I like my healthy 'junk' food. This is what I call this kind of meals :) I simply love baked root veggies :)

Thank you for sharing your recipe and cheers to running! :)

I'll get back on the smoothie train when it warms up here, but I can appreciate the habit as a good one! :) This would absolutely make a great side dish for another meal, too. You really can't go wrong with yummy root veggies in my opinion! Chopping up the onions finely in the food processor really lets all that flavor come out as they all roasted together which amped up the final product even more. I'm trying to save my portion this morning until after I workout, but typing about it is making me hungry, haha!

Looks like a very tasty treat for foodies like me ;-)

Absolutely! Yet still humble enough for the non-foodies. ;)

Looks tasty! I think I never ate rutabaga...

I hadn't eaten it much until this season! Rutabaga has been quite abundant at the farmers market, so it has been fun to work with it more. I've used it in this, as baked French fries, in a chili and a soup! Very versatile. :)

Wow. That looks fantastic. My wife couldn't take the brussel sprouts though--I love them and she refuses to eat them.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Thanks! I was really pleased how it came out. I can understand your wife's position as I know a few people who really don't like them, though with them being shredded up in this they are not as prominent. You could always do broccoli or another veggie instead. ;)

Oh we have a lot of sweet potatoes here but most of the ingredients I am not sure. Specifically the cashew milk. Could there be a substitute for it?

Hey there @watersnake101! You can absolutely substitute the cashew milk for another plant-based milk like soy, almond, hemp or even oat--whatever you have access to. I think the only thing that wouldn't work would be coconut since that is might be a little sweet for this dish. I know nutritional yeast is another one that is not as common for people, so you could easily omit that. It just adds a bit of a cheesy flavor to vegan dishes like this. :)

I’m yum! I love rutabaga bakes. You can make such good hash browns out of them too. The onions tend to caramelize a bit and you get a little sweetness. Not fair… I miss my rutabagas. Blurrbbb (that’s the sound it makes when you stick your tongue out and blow a little). Haha

Dude, can we talk about those black bean muffins? I just made some black bean cupcakes and they were delicious. Who would of thought black beans make for an excellent flour. Love it!

This might be my favorite way I have used them so far, though the fries were pretty darn delicious, too. @dksart didn't enjoy those as much, though, since they don't really crisp up like potatoes. Not that he didn't like the rutabaga fries, he just likes crispy fries in general.

Cupcakes?? That is one that I have not done yet, but I have enjoyed black bean brownies before so that totally makes sense. I usually do the muffins on the savory side, but I may need to experiment with some more sweet options in the future. 🍰 (How is there not a cupcake emoji??)

You should invent the cupcake emoji. I tend to favor rutabaga fries because I can’t have potatoes. I’d be right there with @dksart if i couodneat potatoes. The only reason I made black bean cupcakes is because where we are right now we don’t have a brownie type dish. I was craving chocolate bad so I made do with a cupcake tin and I must say, they turned out great. Granted my taste buds are all wonky since I haven’t had sugar in a few months but Dandays said they weren’t that bad either. I’ll defintely make them again. I heated mine up and topped them with a spoonful of homemade almond butter. It was such a treat for me. Lame huh?!? Rutabagas are a versatile root ice found. Before we left the states I was toying with the idea of making a rutabaga pie… sounded good to me 🤷🏼‍♀️

Perhaps the next round of emoji releases will finally have a cupcake. 😉

You put anything in "fry" form and I'm going to like it. Sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, rutabaga, and oh my gosh have you had chickpea fries before? The local Marlow's Taverns have those, and it's like delicious hummus formed into a fat and delicious fry. Dang, now I'm getting hungry...

Speaking of hungry, I would totally dig a black bean cupcake with almond butter on top!! I think I'm a bit weird in that I could totally get down for that kind of treat, but then I haven't totally changed my taste buds to where I wouldn't devour a piece of decadent chocolate vegan cake. The sugar monster is the hardest to tame for me.

Hhhhmmm, rutabaga pie? Well sweet potato and pumpkin pie are totally a thing, so why not rutabagas?

Sugar is the hardest addiction I’ve ever had to kick. It doesn’t help that it’s in every- flicking- thing. If I had my choice between black bean cupcakes with almond butter and a decadent chocolate anything I’d totally scarf the decadence.

What? Did you say chickpea fries? What in the world is that? They sound like perfection. I must try to make these fries.… can they be baked, do you know? Hmmmm… I’m on it dog garnet. Tell you what, send me a few rutabagas and I’ll make a badass pie from them that’ll convince you it’s a good idea. :)

So they are something similar to this: https://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-recipe/chickpea-fries/
I might have to play around with them, too, because they are really delicious!

So @dksart totally made me a potato pie for Valentine's Day. 🤣 Pizza dough crust with cooked potatoes inside. Be still my carb-loving heart, hahaha! 💓 I should be able to post later on, so maybe I'll share a picture. If he had realized there was still a rutabaga in the produce bin he might have used that, as well.

Oh my gosh, I’m so down with a potato pie. I can almost smell it from over here. Yum, potatoes. Rutabagas mix real well with potatoes, just sayin… Good job @dksart. Gift killer since 2018! Haha

I’ll check them out. I just saw chickpea flour at the auto Mercado grocery store here, too. We take off to another place soon that doesn’t have these North American grocery stores so I’ll have to stock up. Let me know if you make them and they turn out…

Edit: when you first mentioned chickpea fries this was the exact recipe I pulled up from one green planet. Great minds I tell ya!

He definitely rocks the homemade gifts. Last year he did a sweet pie made out of random ingredients we had in the kitchen (I think he forgot where the grocery store was since I do all the shopping, haha). It was a pie with bananas, apples, carrots and pineapple I think? Sounded weird, but it was delicious!

I totally need to re-stock my chickpea flour! I just looked and I'm almost out. I haven't used it in a little while, but it is pretty versatile. And now I'm wondering if you could do the same with black bean flour...Experiments ahead! 😜

Oh my word @plantstoplanks, this really looks so delicious! Hubby's doing Keto at the moment so I don't want to tempt him but will be making this once he reaches his goal weight. Obviously will still go easy on the carbs (he's a type 1 diabetic) but these are healthy carbs, looks so colourful too!

Thank you @lizelle! Did you know rutabaga is actually lower in carbohydrates than potatoes? It would be a great option for your hubs once he transitions if you can find it near you. I have come to really enjoy the flavor of it, as well, especially in something like this! :)

I have not seen it, will keep my eyes open from now on, but will have to omit it from this recipe if I can't find it. You and @birdsinparadise always discover the most interesting fruits and vegetables!

I hope you can find it! But if not even the sweet potato and Brussels are always a good combo in my opinion. I think @birdsinparadise and I are pretty lucky in the areas we live in as far as agriculture goes. She's even further South, but winters here don't get too cold either so there are still lots of things that can be grown this time of year. Then the spring through fall just gets ridiculous with so many wonderful types of produce!

We also have an abundance of fresh produce, maybe I need to keep my eyes peeled for new stuff! I will try that combo if I don't find it! Thank you @plantstoplanks, you are really kind:)

You know it's funny you say that. For years I only frequented the farmers market occasionally, and when I did I generally stuck to what I knew. This past year or so has really opened my eyes to all of the different things we have available here. Going weekly also ensures I don't miss out on some of the things that are fleeting (like the stunning romanesco from last month), and I have tried to expand my horizons to continue to look out for the things I haven't brought home to my kitchen yet. I hope you have a similar experience and find some lovely new things from your neck of the woods my friend! It is such fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11