Standard Image Sourcing for the Qurator Project

in #qurator6 years ago (edited)

Qurator Image sourcing.jpg



One of the biggest problems our team comes across when new users apply to @qurator, and even with some existing members, is Image Sourcing. We understand that some might not be doing this with bad intentions, it's just that not everyone knows how to do it properly, or even realise the need to do so.

With that in mind, we decided to do a quick tutorial on how to source images correctly, so you get approved a lot easier, and to keep already approved members safe from future penalties that we will be applying soon on those who don't follow our community rules.

We are doing this because we are seeing more and more posts with images not being sourced.

EVERY image must be sourced if it's not the property of the author. Sourcing is one thing, crediting is another. Wouldn't everyone agree that sourcing as a standard would rule out any plagiarism and foul play?

We are going to bring the hammer down on all those who do not source correctly, and we know this will be a very unpopular move for sure.

We are now letting members know they have to source correctly or use original images.

Think of it this way though, if Qurator had some whale support/delegation and we had for example 1 million Steem Power. Would you do proper sourcing then? For sure! Although we all love the rewards, we are not all about the money. We want quality content and support for those who create it.

So, with no further ado, here is how to correctly source images in 4 easy steps:

Step One:

Step Two:

  • Choose the image you need:

Example.png

source

Step Three:

  • Paste the image on your blog/article.

Step Four:

  • Source and link your image correctly.

See that linked "source" word under the printscreen above?
That's what we ask you to do, and this is how to do it:

1- Copy the image address/URL from the website you chose to use:
Note: Do not just copy the landing page of the free image site.

Example2 URL.png

2- Paste it under your image using the exact following code:

[source](paste your image URL here)

Example:

[source](https://pixabay.com/es/fox-naturaleza-animales-roux-fauna-715588/)

You will end up with an image looking like this:


source

Et voila! You have a properly sourced image that no one will be able to pick on!


WHY IS THIS SO IMPORTANT?

I'll try to put this in a very simple way:

First of all, there's something called image royalties and intellectual property. Meaning that someone actually took or created that image and decided to sell it or make it available for free. How would you feel if you created amazing art, took stunning photos or designed amazing graphics just so others can take it and profit from it? Not cool right?

In cases when an artist decides to sell one of his images to a website for example, that sale will come in the form of a usage license, normally limited to a specific domain, which means that just because a popular website or blog is using a particular image, doesn't give me or anyone else the right to go there, take it and use it for ourselves.

People can actually get in serious trouble by doing this, in case the artist/creator decides to take legal action.

If it's not yours, source it, stay safe!



The Qurator project is brought to you by:

@scrooger | @boontjie | @goldendawne | @ewkaw | @ackhoo | @brumest | @stresskiller | @blacklux

For more information about the Qurator Project and how to join click HERE

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Sort:  

Thank you Thank you thank you!

I have had me mind on this Topic of Image Sourcing. I was copy and pasting the Link address underneath the picture but I was not aware of how to format it. Very helpful indeed!

You're very welcome! Glad we could help :)

Image sourcing is so important and so many people don't do it the right way, and I'm glad you enforce it as part of the approval process. I try to get around the problem entirely and take it as an opportunity to enrich my blog posts by showing my own photos. Even if they're not totally related to whatever I'm posting I try to find something that has at least a similar mood or theme. But that's just a personal preference and I know it doesn't work for every genre.

Great, @malloryblythe. That, and sourcing support materials correctly, are the right and responsible approach any serious content creator should have.

excellent as always!

Something I've been wondering. If we are reviewing a game, for example, how should we go about posting images of it, like screenshots from the game or the cover art? ... Or we simply shouldn't?

You should use images from the official website and link them accordingly.
We will not pick on game print screens either. As long we don't find the image when we perform a reverse search you will be safe.

Ah, okay. Thank you for the clarification!

You're welcome.

I normally put the source for my image at the end of the post. Is this acceptable? Or must it be right underneath the image?

You can add it in the end, as long it is visible and organized (in case of more than one image) that will be fine.

Thank you very much for the confirmation.

No problem.

Thanks for the instructions! They were understandable. I obviously know I have to mark the sources but I have been struggling on how to make those "source" links or whatever they are called instead of pasting the link to the page etc, which looks horrible. So I and will definitely have use for this information.

We know that most people just don't do it because they don't know how, that's why we came up with this simple tutorial. Glad you find it useful, @meandyou.

This is an easy-peasy tutorial for all Steemians to take in count as there are many people creating these awesome images we use, so this is the right way to recognize their effort and creativity.

Thank you for this post @qurator.

I couldn't agree more.

I thoroughly source and attribute all of the images I use on my posts, but its simply not feasible for me to get images exclusively from those free sources. My channel is about video games and there's nothing on those sites I can use, wether its screenshots, artwork, product photos etc.

Will this crackdown effect people like me who use images outside of those approved sites, but source them extensively so the owner of the image is properly attributed?

If you're sourcing it directly to the original author you're doing it correctly. Nothing against that.

Very nice article. There are also many other free websites apart from the ones mentioned in Step One. We can use it from those websites as well. There are also few very good photographers available in Instagram, they give their photos under CC0 licence. We can also use them. The below post was from @steemstem community. It also has some valuable information. Just an addition to this wonderful article.

https://steemit.com/@steemstem/guidelines-on-copyright-standards-in-steemstem

Hi @bala41288, the websites mentioned on step one are mere examples and perhaps the most well known ones. Obviously, if someone is truly interested in doing things right will not have any issues finding others.
And thank you very much for reinforcing the need of sourcing things correctly!

Yes, that is so true @brumest. But unfortunately, even good writers are quite ignorant about selecting the right image. They add sourcing to their images but they sometimes select a random copyrighted image using google search and add it as the source.

What happens when you use a picture from a royalty free and zero-attribution website like pixabay and then modify it to suit your needs?

Do we need to attribute the final image, because it's now a brand new image and has had creative input.

Another example would be using public domain clip art to develop the final artwork.

I always link back if I've just slapped someone else's picture up there but are more casual when I've created images from others freely available and without needing attribution.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Lets put it in a very simple way, if the image is not yours (modified or not) you always need to source it. Otherwise how can we, or any other project, verify that it is indeed a free to use image?

I use canva, and they say you can use the free images in their files without attribution when you use them on social media posters or for any other reason.

@fitinfun Attribution is different than sourcing. If an image is free to use you indeed don't need to attribute any type of credit to the original author, BUT you do need to link it back (source it) to the page where you got it from, otherwise we will not be able to verify is it is a free image or not.

If we make a reverse search and find the image online and not sourced we will handle it as stolen content.

I will have to take my chances and see what happens on that one. I'm definitely not linking all my posts back to canva.

Here are a couple of examples from recent posters.
colorchallenge wednesdayyellowdragosroua challenge fitinfun 30.jpg

fitinfun How to make money as a new minnow on steemit 2.jpg

I am a photographer and normally only use my own photos. But I will use canva for something like the depressed looking guy since I have no photo like that. I also use that fish on all my minnow tips posters. If it becomes a problem, I will stop using canva images and use my own or none.

canva also has graphics:
Work music get things done fitinfun steemit.jpg

I do not source or attribute these either and I use them more frequently.

We obviously can not obligate anyone to source, even if it is the correct thing to do. In the end of the day the only thing we can control is what type of content will be supported and upvoted.

I have been posting canva posters for years and this is the first I have heard of this requirement on any platform. I guess I will have to wait to see what happens with your searching. I know canva buys all rights from their contributors.

As I said above, if we perform an image reverse search on one of your unsourced images (or anyone else's) and find a similar one online we will treat it as stolen content.
It's the authors responsibility and duty to back up his/hers materials, not ours to hunt and guess where each image comes from.

It's like you driving your car, getting pulled over by a police officer who asks you for your driving license and you reply to him: "I have it but I will not show you because I just don't feel like it".
You might be indeed entitled to drive, but you still have to prove that every time you're asked for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85