Tasty Tuesday: Corn Scallop Recipe

in #qurator5 years ago

What better than a food dish featuring the bright sunny corn kernels to brighten a drab winter’s day.

The dinner plate with the corn scallop, mashed potatoes and ham,


image



Comfort food is always a welcome meal on a cold winter day. I was craving something warm and filling and opened the cupboard to see two cans of creamed corn staring back at me.


image



I hadn’t made Corn Scallop for awhile and thought some good old #rusticcooking was a welcome choice.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325F (160C). The corn scallop will need about 1 hr cooking time.

Recipe...

In a mixing bowl:

  • Whisk 2 Eggs

  • Add 1 Cup Milk

  • 1 1/2 Tblp Corn Starch

  • 1 Onion ( diced)

  • 1/3 Cup Butter (melted)

  • 1 Cup Saltine Crackers (crushed)

  • 2 Cans Cream Style Corn

  • Salt, Pepper, Paprika or Taco Spice to taste

Mix together thoroughly and transfer mixture to greased casserole dish.

  • Crush 2 handfuls of crackers over top and dot with butter.


    image

Place casserole in preheated oven. Cover for 1st half hour then leave uncovered the last half hour.

Let stand for 15 minutes before serving. The dish will thicken more as it cools.

During the last half hour I peeled some potatoes to have with the corn scallop. After cooking I mashed them with milk and small amount of butter. Sour cream and cream cheese can be whipped into the potatoes but I didn’t have any on hand so I kept it simple with less calories.

A couple slices of ham adds to the dinner dish. My tester, Hubs, said it all tasted good.

Corn scallop always tastes better the next day. There is plenty left for another meal.

With all the controversy about fast foods being loaded with additives not good for one’s health, this is a simple meal to make in your own home.

Posted for #tastytuesday. Check for info Here



Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: iPad Air

Photos & Text @redheadpei. All Rights Reserved




#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg


image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Oh that sounds really good. I do love scalloped corn. And you called up an old memory for me with it! I had been living away from the area for over 10 years and my children and I had just moved into a new home near to my family and my hometown. I invited my aunt and uncle for dinner and to see our new house. Everything was lovely and I asked everyone to come to the table. I had all the food on the table except for the scalloped corn which had needed just another moment in the oven. I already had the hot pad in place to set it on because it would be so hot and I reached into the oven to get it and turned to bring it into the dining room and hit the door frame with the edge of the dish and the scalloped corn went flying all over the kitchen. The walls were covered, it was all over the floor, everything was covered in corn! It was still a pleasant meal even without the corn, and my aunt and uncle who are approaching 90 years of age still laugh about the scalloped corn catastrophe!

Corn scallop was a meal my mother often made. I think those dishes eaten in childhood always bring good feelings.
Lucky you didn’t burn yourself with the hot dish. What a mess to clean up! Not so funny at the time but in hindsight it made a lasting memory and conversation.

I agree! My mom made it often, too. It was a mess, but even as we all pitched in to clean up the mess, we were already laughing.

Its a funny one. I love corn on the cob (not that I can eat it on keto) but to me corn in anything else is blergh! Doesn't make sense, does it?

Deb, I admire you for being disciplined enough to maintain the Keto Diet or any diet. Corn on the cob is one of my fav . The recipe could be made with cutting corn off the cob and making your own creamed corn to add to the recipe.

Less discipline and more necessity, sigh.

Howdy there redheadpei! oh that corn scallop is a perfect meal for a cold winter's day, good thinking!

Thanks Cowboy. Is corn scallop casserole a dish you make?

howdy again redheadpei! no Ma'am I don't think I've ever tried to make that one but I've had it quite a few times at other people's houses. It looks like a great dish!

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That's the type of food that will keep you warm over winter isn't it? It's salad season over here at the moment.

It is the kind of food that sticks to your ribs and keeps you warm. 😊 I look forward to salad season, Trudee.

Yes.....I have a few of those 'rib sticker' favourites for those colder months too Jo. And thankfully, I love salads.

This looks tasty! I'm a corn lover. Will try to cook it by myself. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us. ;)

Yes try it. It has all good ingredients. Leftover tastes even better. 😊

Okay! I'll try it! Thanks again! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04