Woah! Typhoon Really Surprised Me This Time! Aaaannd the Fridge.

in #qurator4 years ago (edited)

Typhoon.png

Here you can see what the typhoon's trajectory was. It passed a few hours ago. I live near that little circle I made. This is a screenshot takes from this site that is actually pretty cool and show you winds of the world in real-time.


In the last few weeks we have seen a few typhoons. They are not really that big and most of the time we see some bigger waves and quite a bit of rain. In the back of my mind, I always hope for something bigger, scarier, and more exciting. This time around I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the stormy weather, and the FRIDGE!


So as you know a few months ago I moved to a little apartment that has a pretty killer view. The beach is right in front of my house! Well, not the best of beaches, it is small and rocky and sometimes pretty dirty, the ocean is still the ocean and I love it! So below you can see the beach on a pretty normal day. The waves in South Korea are never really much to write home about. It reminds me more of a lake than the ocean.

20190914_1723380.jpg

This is a pretty quiet day and the water is like this most of the time. Barely audible and some small waves.


This week we heard there is another Typhoon coming. This is pretty much old news by now, always the same thing. All the boats disappear and go wherever it is safe. I have to close all my windows or run the risk of having soaked floors. Stay indoors most of the time because the wind will break your umbrella and turn it inside out. Oh, and keep an eye on the waves and all the stuff that washes out. That is pretty much the most interesting part of it all.

So the night has come and the Typhoon is finally here. The wind was stronger than usual and came right out of the ocean. Opening any of my windows resulted in rain pretty much horizontally blowing into my face. Not cool, well kinda cool. I decided to keep things dry and closed it all up. Even with the closed windows, I could hear the waves.

Screenshot_40.png

I couldn't take many night time photos since my windows were being bombarded with rain and it was pretty dark, but later it was a little better. Still quite blurry.


As soon as the rain and the heavy winds calmed down I headed out for some shots!

20191003_072357.jpg

20191003_074741_002.jpg

20191003_074817_002.jpg

I walked out to the edge of the beach where there is a long walkway right next to the ocean. All over you can see the oddly-shaped concrete stones, I know them as Dolos and they work pretty darn well when it comes to slowing waves down and breaking them up. Look to the left and see how dry some of those normal rocks are!


My poor little beach! The aftermath and the FRIDGE!

20191003_071832.jpg

20191003_071909.jpg

Someone's long lost watergun...

20191003_071932.jpg

20191003_072041.jpg

The sand came up to the very last step and almost covered it! Yikes!

Last we have THE FRIDGE!

What!?

I saw it during the night washing in and out and floating about but since it was dark I just thought it was one of those large polystyrene boxes. I could not have been more wrong! As soon as the sun came up I went out to discover it is a Fridge! Old and busted I really wonder how on earth this happened. By far the winner of weird and strange things that washed out here on the little beach.

20191003_072108.jpg

To another Typhoon passing us... Hope this was the last one!


Want to win a Qurator Token? Yeah, you do!

I love me some reaction gifs and would love to see a reaction gif or two about what you saw in this post! Best gif will get a Q token sent to their account by yours truly when this post reaches payout!


Photo taken by me using the Samsung Galaxy A90 5G



Did you hear about the Qurator witness? Qurator is my main project here on Steemit and it has grown to over 1700 members. We are proud to announce the witness is now live! If you like what I do here on Steemit consider voting for Qurator as a witness. =)

Via steemit.com.

Thank you for reading! Steem on Steemians!

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovTTKDqcpFwmNKeMJgbeKaMGeMUXNvqdS9ZXHPH4LTqTNYC98P5WUwteHB4FFDEECCTXzyNHunVvHo1XKiBuAQFbL.png

Sort:  

That sounds exciting! 😁

Imagine the power it must have taken to move that fridge but your poor beach. 😢

Hehehe, funny gif! =P

Yeah, I was also thinking how strong the water must have been to move that thing around. Crazy!

giphy.gif

Glad you came out ok. Hurricanes/Typhoons suck. I wasnt in the are a few years ago, but Harvey hit my hometown and the neighborhood/house I grew up in had at least 2 feet of water.

It is interesting to go and see and document all the damage after hurricanes. Glad to see you came out mostly unaffected.

Woah, 2 feet of water is no joke! Must have been pretty rough! Mother nature can be scary and cruel and sad to see some people lose their home/life. Guess it is some sort of revenge for what we are doing to our planet... Love that gif!

Right, I have a plan for you!
Fix the fridge and then wait for a lounge suite to be washed up.
Then wait for a kitchen table and maybe a chair or two.
In about 10 years you can furnish your whole place with the gifts from the ocean hahaha.
Glad that you guys are safe and sound.
Blessings!

Hahaha! Might be faster to go furniture fishing! =P I would not be surprised though if those things wash up...

Hahaha, keep an aye brow you never know if with your luck a lost mermaid washes out!
Blessings!

When I saw all the trash I was like
Mask_eye_pop_tongue_out.gif

and then I saw the fridge and I was
The-Mask-Eye-Popping.gif

Boom! Double the awesomeness! This one had me laughing out loud for real, well done! Sending your Q token prize!

Hi @scrooger!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.066 which ranks you at #1079 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 109 contributions, your post is ranked at #76.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @scrooger!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Glad you were safe but really? A refrigerator? j93qponh8s.gif



// Supported by witness untersatz! //

Haha! That's you opening the windows @scrooger!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75