Boulder Sunday. 'A Little Precarious.'

in #qurator5 years ago (edited)

'A Little Precarious.'

This is my entry for this week's Boulder Sunday challenge organized by @shasta.

I am also entering the first photo into Qurator's Photo Friday | Photography Competition #87

What does one do when driving past a rusted Holden perching precariously on the side of a hill, supported only by a few randomly placed boulders? They jam on the brakes, grab their camera, cross the road and shoot.

6nixbcqfza.jpg

Of course, I had this Sunday challenge in mind as well, so I was even more motivated to stop and get a closer look.... and a few pics. This very old Holden seemed to be defying gravity and I wondered how long it had been balancing on this hill amid the gum trees.

b2icihtx7w.jpg

At first glance, it would appear that it had been abandoned and left to the mercy of the elements but when you take another look, you will see a rock wall beneath it. A beautiful home was situated to the left of this wreck and the owners have selected a corner of their property to feature this vehicular rust bucket. That's what I call 'style.' Don't you agree? It certainly is unique when used as a focal feature in the garden.

58zgy5w7ow.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks very much @pixresteemer 💐

Oh my goodness what a fantastic boulder garden ❤ @trudeehunter!
Love the old rusty truck perched there among the giant stones like it
was it's last wild drive, ancient 4 wheeling! What a awesome find!
I'd of also done like you upon seeing that! Thank you for sharing
this wonderful scene! I like that piece of long thin chrome still
clinging to the front, no wait, zooming in it looks like a rope that
might be lights, wonder what it looks like at night? :-)

looks like some xmas lites!

Thanks for your comments @shasta it surely is a bit different. I think they have placed a couple of solar powered garden lights in front of the vehicle to lighten it up a bit at night.

Nice shots! That old truck looks like it needs a new bumper.

... and maybe a new everything else, too! Those old rusting vehicles are great photo subjects, at least the ones that are from a bygone era. Nobody wants to see a rusty 2000's vehicle in the yard!

In the nearby state of Wisconsin, I used to see old trucks parked in yards. Sometimes, there would be one with the bed full of dirt and flowers planted in it.

I think you might be right, it needs a new everything as it would come from the early 1950's era I think. Would be interesting to see what it would look like in say the 2050's, if it is still there. lol.

haha! that's really cool and they have it lit up at night too with the rope lights and solar path lights or maybe they're spotlights. Is that an Australian make? I'm surprised it still has tires on it.

Yes I believe it is an Australian made Holden built around the late 1940's or early 1950's. Don't quote me on this. These details have come from John and he is not 100% sure. 😄

oh you don't remember those when you were growing up? You know, so you remember an approximate decade? I remember cars from before my time because we were poor enough that we had to drive old cars! lol.

Well.....to tell you truth I didn't really look at cars much and until I got interested in photography cars were a means of transport with some deserving a second look. Now I see their workmanship, style, colour, state of abandonment etc .......but I'm still not very knowledgeable about them. (lol)

Well I like the classics because of the great variety of styles. Today's cars look very similar to each other, generally speaking. As long as you appreciate their styles and character that's what counts. Not many people know all about them!

Great photos, especially the first one. Good luck on the contest!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @pardinus for your comments and support. Always good to hear from you.

The last photo was a nice surprise, Trudee. At first I thought of it as an abandoned vehicle left to rust in the woods. I love how they used the antique truck as a focal point in the landscape.

It was a surprise to me too although it certainly got my attention.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I agree, it is unique for a garden ornament, but I would love to have it to restore to it's former glory!!

I know what you are saying, but I think it is a little beyond restoring although I must admit, there are some pretty clever people out there that would love the challenge I suppose. Thanks for your comments @rynow. Much appreciated.

great find! and great shots!

Thank you @orionsbeltbuckle for your comments. It is not everyday you find an old vehicle as a feature in someone's garden.lol.

Just when you think you have seen it all, this comes along. Love it! And extremely photo worthy. I would have stopped too. : 0

Thanks @whatisnew for your comments. Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15