Gergeti, highland view

in #qurator5 years ago

Hello again!

Gergeti is a small village in Caucasus mountains in Kazbegi region, Georgia. It's Trinity church is a famous landmark and one of symbols of Georgia.

I wrote about it in my Georgian Diary, but I remind you it in a few words.

During the invasion of the Persians in the 18th century, the Holy Nino cross and other shrines of Georgia were hidden in the Trinity Church. In Soviet times church services were banned. But now it all reborn. Georgians cherish the sanctity of this place. There are no food stalls or a snack bar, just a big parking, toilet and a beautiful fountain with water.

In 2018 they reconstructed the road up there, and now every one can reach it by car. Saying reach I mean that it stands on a hill at 2170 м above sea level, and you can still walk by feet but it takes about 2 hours one way.

This is my submition to @qurator's Photo Friday #83. I hope you enjoyed it!

4emkkx2lto.jpg
!steemitworldmap 42.663871 lat 44.620432 long Gergeti Trinity church d3scr

Camera: Pentax K-5
Lens: Pentax DA 55-200

steem line

Thank you so much for coming along!
I very much look forward to hear from you in comments.

Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

Do you use any @eSteem app?

eSteem.app | GitHub | Telegram | Discord

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=zirochka
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=gergeti-highland-view


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Much appreciated!

Posted using Partiko Android

That so beautiful! What a great photo! As you know, my daughter-in-law grew up in those mountains and because of that I feel a personal connection.

Oh yes, I remember, she is from Nalchik. I am glad it brings you nice feeling :)
Thank you for your visit!

Howdy zirochka! wow, what a fantastic scene there with the mountains in the background and the clouds and church and everything, super beautiful!

Hello, Janton! Glad to hear you like it :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05