Air-Cooled VW Drag racing at Fokker Bush Pub: Pretoria, South-Africa.

in #racing6 years ago

Air-Cooled VW Drag racing at Fokker Bush Pub: Pretoria, South-Africa.

IMG_7203.jpg
Bugs & Bus life a group of Air Cooled VW enthusiasts organised a drag racing event for old VW air-cooled cars, mostly old VW Beetles!! The event was held at Fokker Bush Pub which is a small aircraft themed Pub, which just happens to have a nice runway available on sight!! This runway, although it is gravel, doubled nicely as an drag strip!! The photo above and below shows the inside and outside area of the pub. As you can see it was a glorious winter day in Africa!!
IMG_7205.jpg
The cars started to arrive in drips and drabs, and below you can see some of the would be racers. Most of the cars taking part, were normal roadworthy cars, although here and there there were some cars that came out just for the day.
IMG_7209.jpg
Below you can see a beetle, with a nice old school racing look, incidentally this was also the reigning champion!!
IMG_7210.jpg
Below you can see the drag strip, disappearing into the distance!! What is nice is that it is nice and open, so there is enough room for mistakes, which luckily did not happen on the day.
IMG_7222.jpg
Below is the reigning - soon to be dethroned - champion, taking on a car named Debbie does Dallas, just see how that fat back wheel is looking for some grip, throwing some dust and stones into the air!!
IMG_7219.jpg
Below, is a camouflage Baja Bug kicking up some dust!!
IMG_7224.jpg
Below is a nice looking Beach Buggy, taking on the camouflage Baja Bug, I am sure the driver ate some dust!! Note the Rusted Bug in the background, that bug you will see in the videos again and it turned out to be the champion of the day!!
IMG_7227.jpg
After the event the competitors returned to the pub, which filled up nicely while the racing was going on. If you look on the right hand side of the photo, you will see a guitarist, playing, they had some nice live music entertaining the crowd.
IMG_7229.jpg
After the hard work of racing, I have earned my beer, below is my lovely wife and I enjoying the music and relaxing with a few drinks!!
IMG_7230.jpg
Below I am receiving my certificate and trophy, for finishing 3rd on the day, which I think was great, I really enjoyed the day a lot.
IICS1697.jpg
In the end the sun set over a perfect day. They actually have powered para-gliders flying there, which was nice to watch!!
IMG_7236.jpg
Below is a number of videos on the day's racing!!

Later in the day it became quite dusty, could hardly see the cars racing!! This was the race to determine 3rd and 4th, which I one thus I received 3rd place for the day, I think it is good going for a debut!!

You will notice all the videos, are in YouTube, as I don't know how to have more than one DTube video in a post - I need education on this. I can't even put the YouTube videos in a DTube post. If any body can tell me how to put multiple DTube videos in one post I will really appreciate it.

I hope you liked the racing as much as I did!!

All photos were taken by my wife, friends and I, at Fokker Bush Pub, in Pretoria, South-Africa.

Sort:  

@rynow,
I like this modification of the VW! I see you with the winner prize! Congratz!

Cheers~

Thanks, my prize was for 3rd place.

i love car racing. thanks @rynow

Thanks for all the amazing photos and videos, I like the old colorful unique cars!

Wow excellent car drags . very nice
Thanks @rynow
Have a great day

he my dear friend @rynow congratulation for your 3rd position.you obviouly alots of hard work doing to racing. i hope very early being first position to race..very well done.have a nice day..

I really had a great day.

yeah,enjoy your good day everytime..my dear [email protected] am really to see you like my post.its obviously my goodluck.. i am really appreciate your work.. i hope that,you support my work always.because i think that,if you support my work and goid encouraging my work i am early success my steemit work..thank you for your support..my friend.. @rynow very well done for your great work..take care yourself..

Ohh yeah
@rynow I love this racing game
I am more time playing this game
And I am second number more time
Great posting
My good bless for you

Wonderful competition video and pictures
I love your this post more and more
I am praying for you
My lovely friend brother
@rynow
You are great person
Great posting

Racing is a kind of soul pleasure!

Amazing race. I'm very glad that you are in the prize places. My Congratulations and have a nice day :)

Excellent race and always a pleasure to look at retro cars! Thank you @rynow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97